We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bird Lovers Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinckney Island National Wildlife Refuge

Pinckney Island National Wildlife Refuge
Pinckney Wildlife Refuge Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29926
912-652-4415
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 27 Attractions in Hilton Head
Type: Outdoors
Activities: Birdwatching, Hiking, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Encompassing four islands and 4,000 acres, the refuge aims to preserve and protect endangered natural habitats and species. At 1,200 acres, Pinckney is the largest of the refuge's islands and the only one open to the public.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Bird Lovers Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Pinckney Island is an ideal location for those interested in bird watching and photography. Huge rookeries of egrets and herons. Be careful of the alligators when walking around the ponds.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    99
    22
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great fro wildlife observation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Pinckney Island NWR is a great place for birding. Wading, ground and tree dwellers throughout the year (with different birds based on season/migration.) There are rookeries for many of the egret/heron/stork species, and it's known for painted bunting sightings. Can be buggy at certain times, so bring the deet just in case.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Birds and butterflies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We go here almost every time we go to Hilton Head. The spring is great for bird watchers because a lot of birds either nest here or use it as a stop on their migrations. The fall is great for lots of different kinds of butterflies in the butterfly garden. It was full of monarchs this year and we saw at least 3 bald eagles.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We had a fun time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed the wildlife refuge. It was a peaceful place to walk. The scenery is beautiful and saw a lot of birds. I was able to take some nice pictures as well. We wished we would have brought bikes. I would highly recommend that. There are no bathrooms so keep that in mind. Also bring water with you.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for exercise, but brink water.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I like to walk daily and read about this place on tripadvisor. The scenery is great although not alot of wildlife to look at. The butterfly area was niceand the fact you have a choice of roadway or wooded paths to walk on is nice. Make sure to get a map at the entrance so you don't get lost. There is NO WATER OR RESTROOMS so be prepared.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinckney Island National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Pinckney Island National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinckney Island National Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.