We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful waterside dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Skull Creek Boathouse

The Skull Creek Boathouse
397 Squire Pope Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29926
843-681-3663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 322 restaurants in Hilton Head
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Hilton Head Island’s landmark, waterfront dining destination is The Skull Creek Boathouse. Located waterfront on Skull Creek, you’ll enjoy beautiful views whether you choose to dine indoors on the porch or fireside Dive Bar or outdoors on the waterfront deck. The outside Buoy Bar serves up colorful sunset views daily along with the freshest original drinks.So bring your family, bring your friends, bring yourself to Skull Creek Boathouse – One bite & you’re hooked!
Brick NJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful waterside dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband, my friend and I went for Sunday brunch and were lucky enough to get a high-top table near the outside bar within minutes. The service was good and the food was fresh and tasty. The $3 Bloody Mary is recommended. We enjoyed watching the boats being transferred in and out of the boathouse.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,240 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    1,415
    545
    156
    72
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just a great place with good food and a great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

In the summer the outside is the place to be. The inside was recently upgraded and it is well done. The wait staff, service and food are excellent. The outside bar is perfect for a happy hour with a frozen drink.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food, prices a little steep but still reasonable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Went here twice while in Hilton Head since it was the favorite. Had the "extravaganza" throwdown (like a cajun boil) and it was very good and would recommend this. The bacon wrapped shrimp that my wife ordered were quite good as well. When we went back for lunch I had clams, not strips but whole fried clams and they were also very good. The fries were a great side. Beer menu is nothing to write home about, but it seems that is standard on Hilton Head, just not many good micros. My wife's mixed drinks were tasty. Nice patio if the weather is permitting. Would recommend Skull Creek Boathouse to a friend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's the fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

The fish is very fresh an well prepared. I had blackened tile fish for the first time. Delicious. My wife had wolf fish. Delicious. Plates passing by us all looked great too. Go early because its a very popular restaurant. Was recommended to us by a number if people.

It is casual. Out door seating is preferred if weather permits.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lively outside bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great place for a casual meal on the water. Better to eat outside in the warmer weather and watch the sun set. Very lively bar outside.
Restaurant offers theme nights usually on the weekends.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Skull Creek Boathouse also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Skull Creek Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Skull Creek Boathouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.