We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a family on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   40 Folly Field Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great for a family on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

This is our third year staying at HHBT. We love it. The secret is to rent through VRBO-not the resort itself. You will get a better price and you can pick the exact villa you want. The first year we stayed at HHBT we rented through the resort and the villa was so ugly and outdated with dusty old wicker furniture-however the location and price were good so we endured the room. Since that first visit we have stayed in a privately owned villa #221 Admiral’s row. The furnishings are nice, the kitchen and bath have recently been remodeled, and it is very comfortable and clean. We enjoy the flat screen and WiFi as well. Our children enjoy the pools and we love walking right out to the beach. The “resort” is old and it shows on the weathered exterior but the landscaping is lovely. I found the on site sports bar to be a little creepy but other than that we have enjoyed all of our stays at HHBT. It is not a 5 star resort but it is a great spot for a young family on a budget-just make sure to pick a “nice” villa because there are bad ones and great ones.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    94
    38
    31
    28
See reviews for
122
55
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Madison Heights, Virginia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

This resort is a real find, and I'm so glad I wasn't scared away by reviewers saying it was isolated, "creepy," "not family friendly," etc. It is located just off a major street, so it certainly isn't isolated. We stayed in Admirals Row, which is the section nearest the beach. I saw nothing "creepy" about it, and it was certainly family-friendly, at least to my family. Children were running everywhere, so other people must have felt the same way. Check-in was easy and completed with a smile. The resort is beautifully landscaped and well maintained, as was the pool conveniently located near Admirals Row. It is a very large complex, and we never even visited the other larger pool. The condo itself was older but nicely furnished and clean. I don't ask that everything be brand new, as I prefer "character" and a bit of weather beaten saltiness in a beach house. If you are looking for something ritzy, go elsewhere. If you just want a nice place to enjoy the beach,pools, and tennis, the Hilton Head Beach and Tennis Resort is a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at beach and tennis before in the past, and so have all our family,, we have never once seen or found anything wrong with this resort,, and i do mean resort, Ive been reading the reviews on this place and a lot of people are calling it a hotel,, it is far from being a hotel. Its a wonderful, relaxing and enjoyable resort, we are going back in may of this year for our anniversary just the two of us and I couldnt think of a more happier relaxing place than Hilton Head beach & tennis RESORT!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cango1
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

We stayed in a 2 bedroom in an area called Admirals Row. The building is remote and walking down the hallways was a little spooky. I have two daughters 12 & 14 and was too concerned to let them roam freely. There is a small private pool located there where mainentance guys and other workers were always walking or driving by leering at the girls. I would not return, place is very low rent.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

If vintage is your thing then this is the hotel for you. I am used to modern accomodations, this place is far from modern. Wicker furniture, vcr's, old fashion flooring and hard beds. The service was OK but the place needs to be renovated.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

We just got back from spending a week in a condo at this resort. It is off season and we got a fantastic rate - just $350 for the whole week! We found the condo here: http://www.vrbo.com/5451 There was highspeed internet which made planning our day out so much easier (weather, local events, mapquest...). There was a plasma screen TV and good cable but we didn't watch much TV - too much to see and do! Our view was the ocean and dunes (not a parking lot or other condos) and the condo was decorated beach style and incrediably clean (I think the owner runs a cleaning company which would explain why it was so clean) and quiet (it is an end unit). To walk to the beach we just went down a flight of stairs and walked down the boardwalk. Unfortunately it was freezing the week we were there so we really only walked along the beach and didn't use the pool or other amneties so I can't speak to those. But the location was good - near tons of restaurants. We especially recommend Signes for breakfast (seriously, it was our best meal all week) and the Sea Shack. Both were on Racheal Ray's $40 a day and were so tasty. I also went to Faces Day Spa and got the golf widower's revenge package - the facial was to die for. If had to pick just one treatment that would surely be it. The rest of the time we either drove down to Savannah (about 45 minutes) or up to Charleston (closer to 2 hours) to explore all of the historical houses, museums, and plantations. We had a blast. If you go to Savannah be sure to go on a horse drawn carriage tour and eat at the Pink House (you can skip The Lady and Sons). Also be sure to check out the local events - we went to some of the Gullah festival events (gospel concert and film festival), the Telfair museum in Savannah has a gospel brunch each month, and SOBA had a winter art walk that was SO fun! The Hilton Head Chamber of Commerce listed many of these: http://www.hiltonhead.com/calendar_index.cfm?subcategoryID=31
Have fun!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, MS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

Our group of four avid golfers booked a 4 day golf package through Mark Ridgeway who addressed all our needs and couldn't have been more professional and helpful.
Everything was absolutely top shelf. The room was very nice, with an ocean view. All of our golfing rounds went off without a hitch and we were even upgraded to a better course due to some maintenance being performed on one of the courses we had chosen. We could not have a had a better experience and we will definately be back next year!! Well worth the money!!
Thanks again, Mark!

  • Liked — Very comfortable and nice
  • Disliked — Everything was great
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort

Address: 40 Folly Field Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Head Island Beach And Tennis Resort
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Hotel Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.