We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Admirals Row #203” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   40 Folly Field Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Tn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Admirals Row #203”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We recently stayed in this condo and did so because it was oceanfront.That is the only good thing we have to say about this unit.No dishwasher ladies and no oven either unless you call a toaster oven one.Both ceiling fans didn't work.Tub/shower combo popped and snapped anytime you moved while showering.Sliding screen door off the hinges on balcony.Dirty carpet in the bedroom and neither closet in there had doors on them.Indoor/outdoor carpet on balcony in bad shape but went very well with the cheap plastic table.Two huge dead water bugs on the kitchen floor.It had two small bunks in the hallway and on the top one I found a washcloth with 5 raw eggs rolled up in it.Good thing no one in our lot was sleeping there.So disappointed and will never return.Need I say more?

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    98
    44
    32
    32
See reviews for
131
58
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed from 8/15-8/17/14. The Admiral's Cove beachfront room (we paid extra for) had a great view. The bedroom was EXTREMELY small. To get around the bed you had to shuffle sideways. The place smelled old and musty. The furniture was old. Refrigerator was old. Stove was old. Huge cockroach and other bugs. When I complained to the desk staff they were nonchalant about it and said they would spray-again! Very noisy-the window in the (tiny) master bedroom faced the main hallway for the building so every time someone walked by talking or just walking on the noisy steps or hallway you get woken up. If someone sat on the balcony adjacent talking (mostly loudly) you got woken up. Horrid bed-all plastic cover and miserable to sleep on. My husband hung his polo shirt over the balcony dust to air out for a short while and we got a note on our door (and several phone calls but we didn't answer) complaining about this. The maid knocked on the door at 9:45a even though check out wasn't until 10a. Don't know why they need so much time to clean if they don't get rid of the roaches. Towels are rough and cheap. Poorly maintained property-peeling paint. Floor (linoleum!) in bathroom was gouged, tub was cheap plastic and discolored. Small, cheap TV that you could barely see from the couch. Tacky. YUCK. NOT WORTH THE MONEY-even if you get a discount. $55 cleaning fee but they leave the roaches. $25 reservation fee-the first reservation was cancelled 4 days ago yet they charged my account and still have not credited it even thought they said they did-now I have to call again. $500 for 2 nites!! I should have spent it at a luxury hotel that was worth it. DON'T STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: Pick a different place to stay! ANYWHERE else is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my favorite condo resort in Hilton Head. When you need more than a hotel room, this is the best! Great resort amenities with condo living arrangements. We stayed at www.vrbo.com/506116, cute, bright unit!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family in the stayed at this quaint location for years. The buildings have some age on them, but are priced for any budget. We have stayed in resort view as well as ocean front, any and all rooms are just a short walk to a beautiful strand of beach. You will see lots of sea life in the waters surrounding the resort, from Dolphins in the surf to Sea Turtles hatching on the beach. The resort has some local restaurants on property that will meet your needs... Nothing fancy... but plenty to eat right on the property. Their Pool is large and well maintained right next to a neat little bar and burgers joint.

Room Tip: All of the condos can be viewed on line.. make sure to check yours out before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Took my family of 5 to this place in aug for our beach vacation. We booked through vrbo and basically we have no complaints. We stayed on admirals row, building B, room 341. When you compare the photos online to what we actually found during the trip, our expectations were met.

In all honesty, I spent the better part of a month researching condos with beach accommodations and a pool and nothing on the entire island of hilton head compared to the price for what we got. You can search all you want and prove me wrong.

Very simply, this place offers a beach view, 200 yard walk to the beach, pool access within 30 yards, and nice accommodations (tile flooring, stainless appliances, and balcony). For what we want in a beach vacation, it was great.

This was our first time in hilton head so I will offer a few pointers for newbies:
1) where we stayed, the beaches were awesome. To go further north I would caution. The beaches appeared to be a bit more natural and have very little room between ocean and grassy rough area, especially at high tide. Most people use this area as a bike, hike, fishing area.
2) avoid Coligny area for beach access. It is extremely busy as most of the reviews on trip advisor will tell you. Parking is also a little hectic. If you have to drive for beach access, consider one of the public beach access points in the folly field plantation area.
3) do lunch out instead of dinner. The crowds are huge especially at peak season and we found that lunch crowds are a bit easier to deal with.
4) as with most beach places thunderstorms and rain in general can happen without much notice, so be sure to have plan "B" activities ready to execute.

Overall, we would consider this place in the future.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with 3 families at the beginning of August 2014. We all had a great time and here are my thoughts.

3 star resort all the way. The condos are all owned by individuals and that makes each one unique. Some are updated and some are not. The 3 we had on the top floor of the A building, water front were all very small. They are basically one bedroom inefficiencies with one bathroom. Some can sleep up to 6 but with one, small bathroom, that would be really tough and tight. I would say they were maybe 600 square feet in total. We had one, A-323, that had single bunk bed in the room with the queen bed. So, no privacy. The other 2 units, had double bunks in the hallway and so the small master was private. They were A 324 and A 327. The best part about these units was the full ocean view. I am not sure we would pay the premium for that next time, as the partial ocean view is really just as nice and much more affordable. One of the best parts about this resort is that you don't have to book Saturday to Saturday as well.
The one thing that really bothered us was all the noise from the hallways. The windows in our unit were not double pained and hence we could everyone in the hallways and on the boardwalks.

They have 4 restaurants onsite and Coconuts has a great Happy Hour once a week, Karaoke once a week and other entertainment. The food was hit or miss for our group. Chicken fingers were cheap, nachos varied from one place to the next. Calamari was excellent, as were the jalapeno poppers. Drinks were all great!

The pool is nice and large, but lacks any ambiance. Would be nice to have music at the pool and some greenery or something to make it stand out.

You can rent bikes on site for $12 a day or cheaper for longer rentals. That was a great perk!

The beach is wonderful! Nice, soft flat sand. When the tide is out you have tons of beach to run and play on. It was never too crowded either. We did run into some jelly fish, so be careful.

So, in summary, nice 3 star resort with lots of 3 star amenities. Pack lite and I suggest only 4 to a room at most. Bring beach towels and a wagon to tote your items to the beach down the long boardwalks. Maybe a cooler with large wheels to save your back as well! We may be back to this resort if only for the shorter length of stay allowed.

Room Tip: Look at photos for updated suites! Higher floors have better ocean views. Book middle units to reduc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This resort reminded me of a timeshare.

The unit we stayed in was more akin to a one-bedroom apartment then a hotel room. It was recently renovated and decked out in new-ish Ikea decor.

Pros- all the amenities of a apartment; we did laundry! it's the perfect size for two adults. It's right on the beach.

Cons- no daily maid service, and very thin walls.

For $100 a night, it's a deal to be right on Folly Beach.

I would stay there again.



Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort

Address: 40 Folly Field Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Head Island Beach And Tennis Resort
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Hotel Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.