We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home ( with a beach attached of course)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   40 Folly Field Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Home away from home ( with a beach attached of course)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My family in the stayed at this quaint location for years. The buildings have some age on them, but are priced for any budget. We have stayed in resort view as well as ocean front, any and all rooms are just a short walk to a beautiful strand of beach. You will see lots of sea life in the waters surrounding the resort, from Dolphins in the surf to Sea Turtles hatching on the beach. The resort has some local restaurants on property that will meet your needs... Nothing fancy... but plenty to eat right on the property. Their Pool is large and well maintained right next to a neat little bar and burgers joint.

Room Tip: All of the condos can be viewed on line.. make sure to check yours out before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    108
    47
    32
    30
See reviews for
140
62
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Took my family of 5 to this place in aug for our beach vacation. We booked through vrbo and basically we have no complaints. We stayed on admirals row, building B, room 341. When you compare the photos online to what we actually found during the trip, our expectations were met.

In all honesty, I spent the better part of a month researching condos with beach accommodations and a pool and nothing on the entire island of hilton head compared to the price for what we got. You can search all you want and prove me wrong.

Very simply, this place offers a beach view, 200 yard walk to the beach, pool access within 30 yards, and nice accommodations (tile flooring, stainless appliances, and balcony). For what we want in a beach vacation, it was great.

This was our first time in hilton head so I will offer a few pointers for newbies:
1) where we stayed, the beaches were awesome. To go further north I would caution. The beaches appeared to be a bit more natural and have very little room between ocean and grassy rough area, especially at high tide. Most people use this area as a bike, hike, fishing area.
2) avoid Coligny area for beach access. It is extremely busy as most of the reviews on trip advisor will tell you. Parking is also a little hectic. If you have to drive for beach access, consider one of the public beach access points in the folly field plantation area.
3) do lunch out instead of dinner. The crowds are huge especially at peak season and we found that lunch crowds are a bit easier to deal with.
4) as with most beach places thunderstorms and rain in general can happen without much notice, so be sure to have plan "B" activities ready to execute.

Overall, we would consider this place in the future.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed here with 3 families at the beginning of August 2014. We all had a great time and here are my thoughts.

3 star resort all the way. The condos are all owned by individuals and that makes each one unique. Some are updated and some are not. The 3 we had on the top floor of the A building, water front were all very small. They are basically one bedroom inefficiencies with one bathroom. Some can sleep up to 6 but with one, small bathroom, that would be really tough and tight. I would say they were maybe 600 square feet in total. We had one, A-323, that had single bunk bed in the room with the queen bed. So, no privacy. The other 2 units, had double bunks in the hallway and so the small master was private. They were A 324 and A 327. The best part about these units was the full ocean view. I am not sure we would pay the premium for that next time, as the partial ocean view is really just as nice and much more affordable. One of the best parts about this resort is that you don't have to book Saturday to Saturday as well.
The one thing that really bothered us was all the noise from the hallways. The windows in our unit were not double pained and hence we could everyone in the hallways and on the boardwalks.

They have 4 restaurants onsite and Coconuts has a great Happy Hour once a week, Karaoke once a week and other entertainment. The food was hit or miss for our group. Chicken fingers were cheap, nachos varied from one place to the next. Calamari was excellent, as were the jalapeno poppers. Drinks were all great!

The pool is nice and large, but lacks any ambiance. Would be nice to have music at the pool and some greenery or something to make it stand out.

You can rent bikes on site for $12 a day or cheaper for longer rentals. That was a great perk!

The beach is wonderful! Nice, soft flat sand. When the tide is out you have tons of beach to run and play on. It was never too crowded either. We did run into some jelly fish, so be careful.

So, in summary, nice 3 star resort with lots of 3 star amenities. Pack lite and I suggest only 4 to a room at most. Bring beach towels and a wagon to tote your items to the beach down the long boardwalks. Maybe a cooler with large wheels to save your back as well! We may be back to this resort if only for the shorter length of stay allowed.

Room Tip: Look at photos for updated suites! Higher floors have better ocean views. Book middle units to reduc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This resort reminded me of a timeshare.

The unit we stayed in was more akin to a one-bedroom apartment then a hotel room. It was recently renovated and decked out in new-ish Ikea decor.

Pros- all the amenities of a apartment; we did laundry! it's the perfect size for two adults. It's right on the beach.

Cons- no daily maid service, and very thin walls.

For $100 a night, it's a deal to be right on Folly Beach.

I would stay there again.



Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had a reservation here for a long weekend and were pleasantly surprised at the value we got for the money paid. The condo was very nice and had 2 flat screen TV's - one in the bedroom and one in the living room. the condo had a nice balcony on it as well. The resort had a security detail and the premises were very well lit. there are four places to eat on the property so you don't have to leave if you don't want to.

Room Tip: C338 was our room and we did see a couple of other ones and if you can request a room, request this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here in July 2014 in a 2-bedroom villa/condo in the Admiral's Row building. The condos are all privately-owned. If you reserve them directly through their website you can see pictures and descriptions of each room. Our room was clean and well furnished, with a starter set of sheets, toiletries, trash bags, etc. Maid service is not available. Free wifi is available in all room, which was good because it was hard to get a cell signal unless you were outside or on the beach. The resort and beach is clean and very family friendly. You have to take a short walk through the parking lot and across the boardwalks & dunes to get to the beach. To get to the main pool, you had to either walk through the parking lots and buildings, or walk along the beach and across the boardwalk. If you are carrying a lot of things, this is a bit of a walk. There is also a smaller pool next to the Admiral's Row building. There is plenty of parking - we never had a problem finding a parking spot. There are several restaurants/bars on site, all reasonably-priced, and Carrabba's Italian Restaurant is only a short walk from the property. There are many restaurants, supermarkets, and attractions just a short drive from the resort. Overall, it was a very nice, well-maintained resort, and a great place for families to stay while in Hilton Head.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms are truly "ocean front." Most of the Ocean View rooms look across the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Beautiful well maintained property. Can't get closer to the beach. We've been coming here for most of the last 20 years. Incredible value. Family friendly grounds and beach. We especially noticed a young man named Trevor working very hard to create a beautiful garden. Took him a few days, but his hard work paid off in the end.

We stay in Admirals' Row. Be careful which unit you choose. Many are dated, whether you go thru the resort or a private owner. Many claim to be "updated". That word can be used loosely. Regardless, there are very few condos on HHI anywhere near this close to the beach.

Gated community; very secure. Increasingly there seem to be camps which bring unsupervised teenagers. We have encountered these many times, and generally they are well behaved. But the island is getting increasingly crowded and bands of roaming teenagers add to the crowd.

Room Tip: Look at pictures and descriptions VERY carefully. Ask questions. Beware of phrases like "ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort

Address: 40 Folly Field Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Head Island Beach And Tennis Resort
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Hotel Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.