We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place close to the beach and nice pools” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   40 Folly Field Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Hagerstown, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place close to the beach and nice pools”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This was a very nice place to stay. It is a gated facility. There were security people around on their golf carts all the time. We were in building "G" which does not have an elevator. Not a problem for us but some may find it not to their liking. They had other units that had an elevator though. There were two pools. One very large and close to the beach and bar and one kind of small but hidden so it was not used by many. Worth finding if you like a little privacy. They also have a pizza place and nicer restaurants on site. There would be no need to leave for anything once you are there. The beach was very nice white sand and the water was shallow and great if you have kids. If you like big waves there are very few here but they are nice. Surf fishing is available in the early morning and late evening when the beach empties out of people. Life guards are on duty for your safety also. All in all a very nice place. There are also tons of tennis courts if you like to play. There was also a small pond with a small alligator to watch. It is a place I would surely come back to again. Rooms were nice with two separate bed rooms. One with its own bath. The kitchen and living area were very nice also. Full size stove and refrigerator along with a dish washer and garbage disposal.

Room Tip: Find the small pool to get away from the crowd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    108
    47
    32
    30
See reviews for
140
62
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apalachicola, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This 'resort' is something out of a truck stop Motel 6 nightmare. Its is similar to the Captain Obvious motel room with the severed finger on the floor....but I will get back to that. The water in our building sprung a leak and we were informed via posted notices that we would have NO water for the day. I complained to the general manager, Chris, explaining what an inconvenience that would be for my family with 3 small children. He said 'then leave'. I explained that I did not want to pack up the whole family and leave, but could he compensate us in some way or put us in another room. He said 'no compensation for anything, why don't you just leave or I will just throw your stuff out while your gone'. I was shocked speechless, a rare event. Now lets get back to the room. You may think you are getting a good deal by staying here...on a family budget I thought the same. Let me warn you...you are better off staying at the Holiday Inn or Hampton more inland. The smell in the room is of moth balls and bug spray. The layer of dust on the beds and 'kitchen' area is enough to write your name in. The place is riddled with cob webs and plastic flowers. There is miscellaneous items; shells, plates, baskets hanging on the walls to halfway cover the holes in the walls. The counter was held up with a 2x4 piece of wood. The plastic flooring was from 1950 and peeling up on every edge. The plastic covered roll out couch was not suitable for a dog to get a good nights sleep and the TV was a 19 inch, 1980's style box with the numbers rubbed off the remote. Thia hotel was truley out of a nightmare, as was the staff. Please beware. We could not get out of here fast enough. They can keep the money for the nights we didn't stay...its not worth being disrespected by the manager or this horrible hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort for the first time, and were pleasantly surprised. We booked our unit on TripAdvisor directly through the owner. Although it was small, it was perfect for the two of us and was clean and nicely appointed with all appliances and amenities. By dealing directly with the owner, we were able to see pictures of the condo before we committed, and if there were any problems (which there weren't), we would deal directly with them.
Other then being a little dated, most of the resort seems to be fine. We ate at CocoNutz Sportz Bar, which is right in the resort, on our first night and the food and service was good. We had a two minute walk to the beach, which was clean but crowded. We didn't get a chance to utilize the pool, but it too looked clean.
The resort is located close to restaurants and stores on the island, and we got around very easily. Overall, although it might not be the fanciest resort on the island, it more than met our needs and expectations and we would not hesitate to book a return trip here.

Room Tip: Book directly through the owner of the unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Within 48 hours we were booking a family vacation to HHI in order to have all 5 children with us for our summer vacation (one is doing an internship on the east coast). My husband chose this property based on the photos on line, the price and the availability. We couldn't believe we had a place to stay! This was our first time to HHI so we were very excited.

Unfortunately, the photos shown on "Expedia" were NOT what we received upon arrival. It looked like it was straight out of the 80s with no updating to anything at all... slats to the sliding doors were missing or falling off; kitchen was incomplete; not clean; carpet stained and looked dirty; toilet in 2nd bathroom in an awkward placement... Needless to say the next morning, I chatted with the front desk about changing units. She was very nice and helpful and explained that most of the units have been updated and are referred to as GOLD standard. The few that go into Expedia are not updated and are considered SILVER. There ya go! There were no other units to transfer to for the weekend so we had to change our mindset and just enjoy.

TIP: Be sure to ask for GOLD level.

The GOOD NEWS is that we were a short walking distance (literally a short walk down the parking lot and onto the beautiful beach) from the beach. Our area was not crowded despite it being the week before July 4th. The sand and water are clean. The pool area is small and a bit crowded. However there is another pool on the property that not many people seem to know about.

The staff was very friendly, too. We had purchased chairs and boogie boards for our stay and decided to "donate" them to this unit for future vacationers.

The resort is a short driving distance to restaurants, putt putt golf, shopping and more.

All in all, we would return and ask for the GOLD level the next time.

Room Tip: Ask for Gold Level and Admirals Row.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Room was not ready when we got there, so the staff said they would call us as soon as it was ready. They never called. After 2 and 1/2 hrs, I had to call them and they said it was ready. Room was not updated, had old wood chipped off toilet seat, very old TV and remote didn't work just the tip of what was outdated. Some sheets and blankets were waded up in closet. Not too clean. Asked for some more towels and was told was not able to send more for the one more day we had left there, just to take the ones we had and wash in laundry room. It's ashame because we had a room close to pool and beach. Liked the resort. We were there for our wedding anniversary. Will not stay again unless we see the room first.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Really tried to keep an open mind, I had read the prior reviews and was leery. We have stayed in nice and not so nice places...I can deal with old and out dated, but I expect clean and comfortable. Since I booked via a hotel finding website, I didn't know what our room location would be ahead of time. I believe you can book directly through the resort or with an individual owner and get better results. Pro's: location was nice, space was decent for 4, crowded in the kitchen, but better than typical square hotel room, AC worked, Fridge worked (after first day). I did not test the oven/stove (60's-70's model), Gator's on site pizza was quite good...Cons: I was skeeved out from the get go...it appears there are no air filters, the AC blows dust bunnies all over. The top of the fridge (where the place-mats for the table were sitting) was covered in a quarter inch of dust, along with the paintings and light fixtures. The walls are dingy and dirty. There is not 1 comfy piece of furniture to sit or sleep on. I felt guilty having my 12 year old sleep on the pull out couch, it was so gross. Everything about the couch was gross. The bed (which was advertised as a queen felt smaller), and it also felt like just a box springs with a cushion on it. The pillows and linens were nasty, we laundered them ourselves. We also had mosquitoes, a lot of them inside our unit, didn't notice any outside, but believe there is a small infestation in that unit. Noise...ug...since I wasn't sleeping anyway, you could hear everything in the hallway. Feet pattering, conversations...I understand some units are nice our unit (240 building B) was not. I didn't read the fine print, but housekeeping is not included in the room rate we were quoted from the internet site, I think the fee is nominal, and in retrospect, should have paid it, and had the service. We spent a decent amount of time laundering our own bath towels, at the grocery picking up trash bags, toilet paper, coffee, and paper towels. Basic things that you sort of expect when you stay at a hotel. Hopefully the next visitor at that unit will enjoy, because we did leave some coffee and paper products! On a funny note, we received at least 2 "keep our resort beautiful" nasty grams about towels hanging up or shoes left in front of our door (so not to track sand into the unit)...but there was garbage in the hallway that they didn't bother to pick up and I watched a light fixture fall from it's place in the ceiling in one of the common walkways. There was nothing about the resort that was beautiful. With or without my hubbies Nike's sitting outside our unit "debris" they referred to it as. Even funnier is that there are little areas that appear to be fenced (not locked just blocked off in the front of each unit), and people left their beach chairs etc in those...visible to everyone...Just an interesting place. I could not stand to be in the room, when it rained we rented bikes and trolled the Island because there was no comfortable place to sit in our unit. Loved the Island, and the location, but if we go back will spend the additional money and stay somewhere that is nice.

Room Tip: Don't book through a internet ad site. Deal directly with resort or property owner so you know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Listing Owner,

Thank you for taking the time to write a management response on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, we cannot publish your response because it does not meet the following guideline(s):

*Non-commercial No promotional material of any kind, including URLs that are irrelevant to the review in question. We reserve the right to reject any URL.

Please consider resubmitting a response which meets our posting criteria using the management response form on our site. Please let us know if you have further concerns.

Best regards,
TripAdvisor Support Team
[302]
---original management response-----
Subject: Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
Location: Hilton Head
Title: Owner response
ID#: 215726792

Dear Holly,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We work very hard at maintaining and cleaning all the villas. Your experience was not the happy family vacation we strive to accomplish for all our guests. We have positioned our prices at what we believe is a fair value, especially for the Hilton Head market. Most beachfront properties charge $100s more than our rates and the hotels that are less, don't have separate bedrooms and kitchens, so overall we offer a lot for your money. You did have a great tip for travelers in suggesting they book directly with resort rather than third party site. Our inhouse reservationists know the property and individual villas very well. Additionally pictures of villa interiors are available online to help you pick the villa of your choice. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you'll be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

best place to stay on the island!!! Away from all the traffic but a short drive to all the restaurants and attractions! The staff is super helpful ! The condo was great as usual. Been coming here for many years...might be time to get my own unit! The grounds,pool beach are fantastic!!! Very secure and safe area. Great family atmosphere,great couples atmosphere!!!

Room Tip: if you have 2 kids get the unit with the bunk beds the kids will love it!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort

Address: 40 Folly Field Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Head Island Beach And Tennis Resort
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Hotel Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.