We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just not impressed at all !!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   40 Folly Field Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Decatur, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just not impressed at all !!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My family and I traveled recently to Hilton Head Island and stayed in this resort. The appartment that was given to us was on the Admiral's row which is the one with 2 bedrooms. I have the understanding that resort has individual owners that rent these appartments. Therefore, every single appartment looks different from the other. When we oppened the door, it smelled clean. It has old carpet which I didnt like at all. The furniture in the appartment was dated and old, from the bed to the living room to the kitchen. The bathroom was not clean at all, there were some hairs on the bathtub, and it had an area patched and dirty. All the facets were very old and made a noise when you turned them on. The balcony was nice, we were on the 3rd floor, but it was dirty and the table there had some mold. There is only one elevator and it is very slow. I was kinda confused because when we got there it smelled cleaned but then we found dirty bathrooms and dust on the living room center table. So I was very disappointed on this property. The Pool was nice, however the main pool was dirty and it was packed most of the time. The beach is nice, nothing like caribbean beaches. It was cold and wavy, but we decided to tan and walk around the beach instead. Checkout it is at 10am, so you need to get up really early to make it at that time. The keys of the appartment are old and the oldfashing way of opening a door in a resort. I loved the island and I think my family did as well. They rent bikes on the resort, we considered they were rusty and not taken care of and for the price of one day it was expensive. The restaurant at the resort was in a buffet like style and we didnt go there. There are restaurants nearby such as Carrabba's you can even go walking there. We will not be returning to this resort. However, we will be returning to Hilton head!! I thought the cost per day was high for the conditions the appartment was. Totally disappointment on this propertly, specially after coming from Parc Soleil Hilton in Orlando, Fl.

Room Tip: Would pick up a room on the 1st floor and closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCHHI, Manager at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. You are correct when you said that each villa is individually owned. That is why each villa is decorated differently. Some owners update their villa more frequently than others. Some owners choose to rent their properties themselves. When booking your reservation through our resort directly you are able to view all villas on our website. Everybody has different tastes and needs. You can also call our reservation desk between 7:00 AM to 11:00 PM and they are ready to help you find the right villa for you and your family. Our goal is always that you our guest enjoy your stay here at Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort. We do hope you will give our beautiful resort another chance.

Monica Morgan
Owner Relations Manager
843-842-0015

________________________________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    107
    46
    32
    30
See reviews for
138
61
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Beautiful rooms, excellent amenities, professional and helpful and friendly staff! This place was the tops! Had excellent restaurants on-site, shops that were convenient. The grounds were immaculate as were the rooms.

Room Tip: I would choose beachside every time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCHHI, Manager at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your great review with the Trip Advisor community. Our experienced and friendly staff, try very hard to give all our guests outstanding service. I am glad you had a chance to experience some of our amenities here at the resort.

I agree we have excellent restaurants on property as well as bike rentals, tennis courts, two pools and of course the beautiful beaches. I will forward your kind comments on the beautiful grounds to our landscaping department. They work seven days a week for all our enjoyment.

Monica Morgan
Owner Relations Manager
843-842-0015
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a wonderful ocean Front view room on the 4th floor of building A. The beach was amazing and not crowded.
The icing on the cake was dinner at Coconutz, the sports bar! I had the prime rib and crab legs and it amazing!
Thanks for a great stay! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCHHI, Manager at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Happy Belated Birthday Patti! It warms my heart to know that we were able to contribute in a small way to you enjoying your birthday here at Hilton Head Island Beach and Tennis Resort. We appreciate all your kind words regarding your villa, beach, and our restaurants. We hope to see you soon again.

Monica Morgan
Owner Relations Manager
843-842-0015
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We rented 3 rooms here from 2 to 4 May. We based our selection on the positive reviews of the resort and its location. We were not disappointed! We were assigned rooms in the A building which is located quite close to the walkway that takes you to the beach. There is so much to say about our stay. First, our three rooms were super clean and well appointed with all we needed, we were actually able to sleep 14 people comfortably (ranging in ages from 5 to 59). Each room had different types of pots pans etc. one even had a blender which came in handy for good old Margaritas!
Second was the resort staff. Absolutely great, professional and friendly from the folks at reception to security to grounds maintenance, on our first night we had a pizza evening at the on site restaurant called Gators. I will do a spate review on it, but the pizza and wings we had were excellent and our waitress Michele was a true angel, having to get our crazy order right as well as taking care of our 4 very young grandchildren.
Jamaica Joe's beachfront bar. Just go. Laugh, drink a Patron Margarita. Laugh some more.
The grounds, very well kept, a nice tropical feel.
I could only come up with two negatives: checkout time is way too early, 11 AM would be much better than the current 10AM time, The grill area was convenient with plenty of seating and available grills, unfortunately many guests that came before us did not leave it in the condition they should have, we cleaned seats, benches and tables as well as a grill and had a great time with the kids. We left the picnic area in the perfect condition for the next guests and by far in better shape than we found it.
Bottom line? Excellent value for the price, super beach and great staff, we have paid much more for way less.

Room Tip: The A building is quite close to beach access, but I don't think any rooms would be negative if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My 5 year old granddaughter and I spent two nights here and had a very nice time. We booked through booking.com on Wednesday before our Friday arrival and got a ocean front room for $ 138 a night. We were first assigned a room on the 1st floor where the ocean view was obstructed by sand dunes. We asked for a higher room and a very friendly front desk staff gladly gave us a 3rd floor room. We were in C 327 on the end with a marsh, pool, and ocean view. It had a nice kitchenette with full size stove and fridge plus smaller dishwasher and micro. Room had a queen size bed and fold out sofa bed in a separate living area, 2 tvs. Hotel has nice covered balconies with buildings that are perpendicular to the ocean. All rooms appear to have a ocean "view" if they are on floors 2-3. Pool was quite large, right at the beach. A bar/grill was next to the pool where I got a pretty good fish taco. Beach chair/umbrella available for rent, $ 35 from 10 AM to 5 PM.

The complex is very large with 4 bulldings, bikes to rent [don't know price], and tennis courts. Bikes of all sizes seemed to be available, don't know about helmets, but a lot of folks seemed to be having a good time biking on a variety of trails. There is a sports bar in the club house but no breakfast. Laundry facilities are in each building.

Although not new, the complex is in pretty good shape, at least the condo we were in. I believe these units are privately owned but I'm not sure. There is a ramp to the pool and beach for easier access. Life guard at beach

The complex is less than 1/4 mile from a put put course and arcade that we enjoyed. Walmart, Publix, and fast food places are within 10 minutes. HH is full of fine restaurants. We ate at the Skull Creek Boathouse and had sushi outdoors on the coastal waterway. Very nice!

Biggest complaint is the location of the elevators. There is one elevator per building and each is located toward the end of the building that is closest to the front entrance. If you are in a ocean front room or anywhere near the ocean you must either climb the stairs or tote your stuff a LONG way. We passed 18 rooms to get to our room from the elevator. If you intend to use the elevator bring a buggy or plan to make several trips either on the elevator or up the stairs. The beach is maybe a 100 yards from the close end of the buildings so a buggy is not a bad idea anyway. The elevator is maybe 200 yards? I'm not a good estimator of distance but those are my guesses.

We had a good time and will go again.

Room Tip: Building C is set back further from the ocean than buildings A, B, and Admirals Row. Choose either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCHHI, Manager at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review on trip advisor. Have you ever thought of getting into the travel business? If I was reading your review, I would pack my bags and come here for my vacation. We are very proud to be able to offer our amenities including bike rentals, restaurants, tennis, pro-shop, and of course the beautiful beach. Please come back and visit us again.


Monica Morgan

Owner Relations Manager

843-842-0015
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a few days before having to travel to Charleston for a wedding. We loved our room so much along with the location of the resort and didn't want to leave. We had booked the resort through AAA so we were not sure really what to expect. Turns out that the units (I assume all of them) are individually owned. We had a beautiful unit with a comfortable bed, updated bathroom, great kitchen and living room and deck. Yes, there is a little walk to the beach/pool but nothing bad. The pool is huge and there is even a small pool for the kids and a restaurant and area that sells ice cream close to the pool area. The beaches in the area are beautiful and well kept. You can't beat the location of the resort as well. It is close to a lot of restaurants, shopping and grocery stores. We didn't get a chance to use the tennis courts but plan to on our next trip. We will be booking next time through their website so that we can select the same unit that we were in this past week.

Room Tip: Pictures of each unit are provided on the resort's website. The oceanfront villas (C) are actual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Staying in room E11 the condo was nice and clean with plenty of room, but no extras at all. Make sure you bring everything paper towels, TP, garbage bags, dish soap, dish washer soap etc. The room is a little far from the pool but the pool was nice and big. The beach is huge and not crowded this time of year. 2 restaurants and bars on site the food and drinks were great. Close to everything. We will stay here again in the future maybe a closer room to the beach and pool.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the pool and or beach its a long walk to lug every thing with you. Also no eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCHHI, Manager at Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Next time book your vacation with our on-site management company with over 160 properties to choose from. We are sure to get you as close to the beach as possible. All our units include paper towels, TP, garbage bags, dish soap, and dish washer soap. We believe we excel in location, value and customer service.
Sincerely,

Monica Morgan
Owner Relations Manager
843-842-0015
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort

Address: 40 Folly Field Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Head Island Beach And Tennis Resort
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Hotel Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.