We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tennis and Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   40 Folly Field Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tennis and Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights for a Marine Graduation at Parris Island. For the price of a hotel with no amenities, we stayed at Hilton Head. It was a nice enough condo. Strange layout, but had more than everything we needed. We had a ocean view which was visible. We had bicycles and the beach was very close and you could ride bikes down the beach. Very Cool! Low tide was amazing. Receded 100 yards from my morning beach jog.

We played tennis that evening. Great courts and very nice tennis staff. We had a blast and would stay again. We are fairly easy to please and were there on a budget for a unrelated purpose. We made the best of it and could not have picked a better place for our needs.

Room Tip: We wanted to stay another night, but our room was booked and they wouldn't let us stay for one a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    99
    44
    34
    32
See reviews for
133
58
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was our first time in Hilton Head. We chose this hotel because we needed a 2 bedroom/2 baths room room. We stayed in B14 at the Tennis Villas. Our room was great! The bathrooms were renovated and the kitchen had everything you needed. It was quite and I would definitely would go again. The Villas are actually a 'apartment complex'. Did not bother us. I do have to say that if was their off-season, They are a little bit further away from the beach, but no big deal for us.- about a 3 min walk.Check-in and check out was without a problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights on spring break. The condo was very clean, slightly outdated, but fine...typical beach decor. The property is right on the ocean, but it's a big complex, so we did not have an ocean view. The walk to the beach was about 3 minutes, not bad at all. Check-in and check-out was painless, no issues. Rates were very reasonable. We would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Definitely a relaxing place- not noisy at all. Great pool and poolside bar, quick walk to the beach and nice views no matter which unit you take. The location is really what you pay for, as the rooms are updated and comfortable but certainly not the highlight of this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed over Easter weekend for 5 nights. We booked through Expedia. It is well kept and has basic cooking and eating supplies including all dishes, utensils, pots and pans, roasting pans, and a colander. However I did not like the fact that there were virtually no cleaning supplies other than a one time packet of dishwasher powder. We bought dish detergent but the dining table was glass and you need a bottle of glass cleaner. The balcony is roomy and we got the ocean view room. The higher the floor, the better the view, but even on the second floor the ocean and mostly dunes view was very nice. We had a clogged toilet on Easter morning and they came to fix it in 10 minutes. Be forewarned if you come at Spring break and you want to play tennis that the courts are mostly taken up with college teams so you have less court time. The pool and pool restaurant are nice and the beach is beautiful. Bike rental were reasonable and there are nearby stores, restaurants, everything you need. I even bought a laptop at Walmart when mine broke while we were there.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor and pay a little extra for an oceanview unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I will have to say that I way not 100% sold on renting this due to some reviews. But after arriving I am glad I did. The staff here are great and very helpful. And while this is a older resort it has been well kept and worth the rates they charge. You have a nice pool, restaurants onsite, bike rental ( which provides great customer service ), a nice beach, and a secure location.

I will look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, ID
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed for three nights in July 2012 at the end of an extended vacation to the south east United States. The cost was around $150/night. We booked a two bedroom condo in the Admiral's row portion of the resort. This put us within 5 minutes of the beach via a short boardwalk from the parking lot. The nice thing about a condo in Hilton Head is that they have all the stores you would expect. We stocked up our kitchen at Walmart on the way into town and save quite a bit of money. Check in was a bit slow, but not terrible. We had to wait a few minutes to find someone before we were on our way.

The room itself was adequate for our family of four. It included several beach and water toys that the owners had left behind. There was some mold in the bathroom and peeling paint in the condo itself. The carpets were worn and the furniture was dated. However, everything was in working order. There was more than enough room in each bedroom and living spaces. The outdoor balcony had a very nice view of the beach and ocean.

The grounds of the property were well maintained. We spent some time at the playground which was perfect for our two kids. The beach near by is very clean and was not over crowded. We did not use the pool areas at all because we had too much fun at the beach. The location of the resort is not really close to a lot of the major attractions so a rental car is a must. However, Hilton Head Island is easily covered by car and there is plenty of parking around the island.

Overall, we would stay at this property again since the price you pay is worth the value of having a larger room and close access to the beach.

Room Tip: Choose the admiral's row rooms as they are bigger and closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort

Address: 40 Folly Field Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Island Beach And Tennis Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.