We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island to your Saves list
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free 4 '15 Offer
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    232
    51
    16
    7
See reviews for
324
466
26
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for a long weekend and really felt the resort was reasonable price wise for the offerings. Spa is wonderful...ask for Jill if in need of a facial and she also recommended some nice products that didn't break the bank. Onsite restaurant/room service was good. I especially like the location of the resort right on the beach and within Shipyard...overall a nice spot.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Looking at the title, it is obvious that we had no microwave. Unless you get an oversized suite of some sort, you have no microwave. For a high class resort, this is pitiful. The Hampton Inns, Holiday Inns, etc. can do better than that. Come on.

Other than that, it was good. Both pools are heated, and they have a dive-in movie at 7:30 each night (don't worry, kid-friendly movies). We ate at the Heyward's Restaurant twice for breakfast and it was delicious! The menu prices were reasonable but the buffet seemed pricy. The boardwalk to the beach is very convenient. One night there was a wedding or party of some sort, and the music was very loud so we had trouble sleeping. The elevators were EXTREMELY slow, and the wifi was really bad.

This resort is good for the most part, and it is possible I would stay here again, but I probably would look somewhere else first.

Green Features: There were recycling bins in every room that had a blue outline thing in the trash can so you knew it was recycling.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I returned to this hotel after a couple of years and found the renovations have made this hotel into a gem! Unfortunately, I did not have an ocean view during this stay. However, it was still nice to have the extra space on the balcony. My corner King room was very spacious (5030??) with a sofa pull out bed.

The pool area is highly rated and my kids enjoyed it including the fitness area. The beach is only a short walk behind the pool area.

I will definitely return. Kudos to assistant manager who tried to resolve my minor issues at checkin.

Room Tip: Ocean view is always great - if not the corner King Room on the 5th floor was spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Visited Sonesta during Easter break this year on a last minute trip. Fantastic resort - great beaches, rooms very spacious and clean, nice pool area and all of the staff were helpful and professional. Everything was new, comfortable beds, reasonably priced and a great value. Will come back and visit again. 1st time visit to the island - great restaurants and golf courses everywhere!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The accommodations and staff at this Sonesta location were all excellent, but if you enjoy relaxing by a pool this is not the place to be. Loud music throughout the pool area made quiet conversation or listening to a personal choice of music on earphones impossible. Also, internet service often disconnected and was generally slow.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was my first experience at a resort. We (our family) had a great time. We got up to walk to the beach and watch the amazing sunrise each morning. The fitness room was nice and we used it too. Each day there were things to do around the resort. We were within bike riding and walking distance or if you prefer, you could drive. We did not rent bikes but on the next visit, we will definitely be renting them. We went to see the alligators that lived around the water holes, they were so fun to see and take pictures of. There were movies each night by the pool. They were called the "dive in". Everything was clean and neat and all the staff spoke to you like they knew you. I love customer service when I feel as if I am the most important person or as if they have known me all their life. Thanks for an amazing stay. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: "Third floor was a nice place to stay"
See more room tips
Green Features: They have recycle bins in the room as well as outside. They only wash the towels on the floor as the room occupants use them. The thermostats work and keep the rooms balanced in order to conserve energy. And I did see some CFL bulbs in lights.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the Verizon Heritage Golf Tournament. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head hotels to island shopping, restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Fridays and Saturdays, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Beach Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.