We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island to your Saves list
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free 4 '15 Offer
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Awesome ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

What a great find this resort was. The friendliness of the staff is unmatched. Our room was impeccably cleanable the view from the patio was heavenly. We will definitely be back to this resort. Kudos to the company in hiring topnotch team members.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    218
    45
    15
    7
See reviews for
305
435
22
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I recently had a long weekend away at Sonesta Resort in Hilton Head based on good reviews and photos. Overall, the design was updated with a sleek and contemporary atmosphere. The rooms were well done too - especially the lighting and countertop in the bathroom. The staff were friendly and professional, and access to the beach was a short walk. They had two pools and one hot tub - they were all mostly full all the time, and there were children everywhere (family-friendly). I wouldn't say this is a place for singles or couples wanting a romantic or quiet weekend. I mean, there were kids running and splashing everywhere and we even saw some kids in diapers getting into the hot tub - disgusting! They also have two restaurants that basically have the same limited and uncreative menu and is too expensive for the average food. We dined out instead after eating our first 2 meals at the resort. Overall, our experience there was okay. It's surprisingly labeled a AAA 4-Diamond resort, but that's probably based on the rooms and overpriced dining. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very nice family friendly resort located right on the beach. The room was very clean and the staff was extremely friendly. The pool area is very well maintained and the bartenders at the pool bar were great and know a lot about the local area. Overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here for our 25th Anniversary and were treated like royalty: upgraded rooms, champagne and strawberries waiting for us. The staff was incredibly friendly and attentive. This may be in part because the hotel was only at 9% capacity on one night of our stay. It was like having personal staff.
We had a great view of the pool, gardens and ocean in the distance. The weather warmed enough so that we could sit by the pool and catch some sunshine-much appreciated coming from upstate New York. The Sonesta does not have an indoor pool, but there is a pool and hot tub tucked under an awning that keeps them warm enough to swim in even in February.
We ate at the hotel restaurant one night-duck with Gouda grits and a steak. Both dishes were phenomenal and the service spot on. The wine list needs a few more choices in the $30 range-of course I am spoiled living near the Finger Lakes wineries.
Having the place too ourselves and not wanting to sit in our beautiful room, we convinced the maintenance staff that lighting the outside fire places would be the perfect addition to our already great stay. Surprisingly when the fireplaces were lit, other guest ventured outside too. It was great fun.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What makes a good trade convention?
Good planning, speakers, location, the facility (food and accommodations), helpful and courteous staff. All these things made for a memorable five days at the Sonesta Resort on Hilton Head Island, SC, where the Professional Tennis Registry held its annual Symposium again this year.
I can't even begin to list all the amenities at this elegant establishment, but I guess my favorite would be the personal attention I received from each and every member of the staff as if they were saying "we are glad you're here."
At next year's PTR Symposium, I'll be glad to make them glad, again.

Room Tip: Garden/Pool view ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head for your recent convention. We pride ourselves in our Sales and Catering department as well as the entire resort in exceeding expectations with any event that takes place. We enjoy having you and the PTR Symposium stay with us and we very much look forward to you returning again!
Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Such a gorgeous hotel with friendly staff! Room was so comfortable and good quality. Booked our room on hotel tonight app as a last minute stay.. but we will definitely be returning for a longer visit next time!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your excellent rating on our resort. We are happy to know you felt our staff was friendly and the hotel was gorgeous with easy to book hotel apps allowing you for a quick search for a perfect getaway. We look forward to your next stay!

Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was once a Mariott and I remember it from many years back. It amazed me how the Sonesta company has kept this hotel looking new , clean and welcoming. Our room was overlooking a tree lined parking area but still pretty with the big trees and plantings. We ate food at happy hour and the hamburger is a bargain. Otherwise we ate elsewhere. Enjoyed the visit. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are excited to know you returned to our location after so many years! The beautiful landscape and the serenity of being located in Shipyard Plantation has not changed, however our recent renovation has given the resort a much positive uplift. Thank you for recognizing our friendly staff and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the Verizon Heritage Golf Tournament. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head hotels to island shopping, restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Fridays and Saturdays, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Beach Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.