We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a wonderful location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island to your Saves list
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free 4 '15 Offer
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Ga
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a wonderful location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was a great experience from the start. The front desk staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean and large, the beds were very comfy, the grounds were beautiful, and the beach was very close. The only complaint I had was with the noise in the halls early in the morning and late in the evening (occasional loud conversations and stomping started at about 7am and didn't stop until around 11pm). I also wish I had brought my tennis racquets - this hotel was right next to Van Der Meer!

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far away from the elevators as possible if you go to bed early or get up late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    211
    43
    15
    7
See reviews for
299
422
22
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I traveled to Hilton Head on business, from Charleston, SC. This property is absolutely stunning and the customer service was stellar. While I was there, I had the opportunity to experience the Spa- Arum Spa. I was welcomed in by the Spa Director, who was extremely warm and inviting. They use Pevonia Skin Care, which is well known and very results oriented. There were several treatnents to choose from- a Lumafirm facial- that was a brightening and lifting treatment. A Myoxy Caviar treatment for nourishing a dry skin. They also offered a Micro Retinol peel treatment, for resurfacing the skin, as well as a Stem Cell treatment!! it was really hard to decide, but I had recently read something about the new technology of stem cells, and how repairing they are so I decided on that. The esthetician was extremely professional and knowledgeable about the brand, and the treatment was amazing!! My skin was radiant and I felt so renewed and relaxed. I will definitely spread the word and can not wait to go back for more! Thank you Arum Spa!- You made my stay!!

Room Tip: I stayed on the second floor- it was extremely quiet , with a nice balcony over looking the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear kjohanna10,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sonesta Resort for your relaxing getaway on Hilton Head. We are delighted to hear of your experience at our resort including the Arum Spa. We appreciate the detailed review and giving your feedback regarding the services you received. Thank you for recognizing Hope, our Spa Director for her warm and inviting welcome. We cannot wait for your return and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great weekend from start to finish. Our room overlooked the beautiful pool and garden area from our balcony. Nice large comfortable beds and motion sensor night lights were nice additions. Breakfast buffet was very nice and a good value.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear ARS32082,
Thank you for the gracious comments regarding your recent stay. Sonesta Resort has many unique features that we added during our renovation including our motion sensor night lights, which we are glad you appreciated. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cary,nc
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the time you drive up the hotel sets the tone of a great impression. The check-in was prompt & friendly. The rooms are large & well appointed. Very comfortable beds also. Our room overlooked the pool & garden area that had a balcony. Great location on Hilton Head.

Room Tip: There is a premium for ocean view so we decided to save the $60.00 and have a pool/garden view. No i...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle cans for trash. Linens to be change as requested.
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Lois D,
We are so happy to hear that we have made a lasting impression with you. We offer our bedding through a special website so you may enjoy the Sonesta comfort from home. Please log onto sonestaforhome.com for a detailed listing of our products. Our Front Desk prides itself on providing excellent service and we are glad you recognized this at check in. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed just one night having found this hotel last year, staff were very friendly, breakfast buffet was a delightful feast, I would definitely stay here again and already recommended it to a friend who changed her plans from the less impressive marriott. Great beach location is the icing on the cake

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Jan G,
We are delighted that you chose to stay with us again and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. Our recent renovation has transformed our resort and we’re thrilled you found it impressive and have recommended your friends. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent a week at the Sonesta for a conference. I had a spectacular time. The resort is well maintained and is obviously cared for by staff. Had no issues with check-in/check-out. The bar staff, especially Rich!, take good care of the patrons. Wasn't terribly impressed with food/menu options, but there were plenty of local restaurants to visit. The bell hop seems to only have one luggage cart. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear barbaramV4047UV,
We are so happy to hear that you and your group had a wonderful stay during your conference. Thank you for recognizing Rich; one of our top bartenders, we’re glad that he was able to make your experience more enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were booked into this resort hotel by Hotwire, after we found we had an extra night to fill while in Georgia. I have used Hotwire for late hotel reservations and have never been disappointed. This was also the case on this visit. The hotel and accommodation was beautiful, the grounds lovely and had immediate access to Hilton Head Island beach. Whilst the weather was a little too chilly to make use of the outside pool or to relax on the beach, it was a pleasure to stay in such upmarket surroundings. We enjoyed visiting different parts of the island and the charming staff gave us much useful information about places to visit and where to eat. The room rate did not include breakfast, but we decided to spoil ourselves and eat in their restaurant. We were very pleasantly surprised at the cost- a lot cheaper than we imagined it would be. There is a resort fee of $20 per room per night which is a bit steep if the weather prevents you from using the facilities. However, the restaurant, the on site spa and the rooms were worth it. The hotel was very quiet, as it was winter.I don't know how it would be with full occupancy.We were very sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Probably will have to pay extra to get a pool view room. Ours was on the side, a little dark, had a...
See more room tips
Green Features: Hot on recyclingEnergy-efficient lightbulbs Efficient ventilation system Towel reuse programme Non-toxic pest control Energy saving guest room controls Temperature set to save energy
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear SomersetStargazer,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent last minute stay! Hilton Head Island has so much to offer and we are pleased you were able to experience all the thrills of the island. Heyward’s; our full service restaurant has excellent food and beverage options and we’re happy that you decided to spoil yourselves there. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the Verizon Heritage Golf Tournament. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head hotels to island shopping, restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Fridays and Saturdays, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Beach Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.