We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island to your Saves list
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free 4 Fall Offer
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
GreenLeadersGold level
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent 4 nights in this wonderful hotel in October when it was hot, sunny and very relaxing. The hotel sits in beautiful grounds and is a minutes walk from a long and sandy beach. Bikes can be hired on site and this was all the transport we needed to take us to local bars, shops and restaurants. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating, and a meal taken sitting on the terrace of the restaurant was one of the best we experienced.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Pompeysue50,

Thank you very much for your great feedback following your recent Hilton Head Getaway at the Sonesta Resort! We are so glad that you were able to take full advantage of the perfect fall climate and enjoy many of the island amenities – and all by bike! It is also a pleasure to read about your wonderful dining experience on site! We look forward to your next visit and many more in the future!

Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    196
    39
    15
    6
See reviews for
290
391
20
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manasquan, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here just this past weekend. The hotel has beautiful grounds, and the rooms are well appointed and the staff was friendly. We very much enjoyed my stay. The only negative was that our room was close to the elevator and main, open atrium which has a bar and live music on weekends. Occasionally we did hear the music and singer while trying to sleep. I would just advise getting a room further from the open atrium.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Patrick K,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you found our staff hospitable. Our entertainment in the lobby is to provide guests with an enjoyable atmosphere and hope you were able to join us in the lobby during your stay. There are several room options to choose from and we will be happy to make special arrangements for future reservations. We look forward welcoming you back soon!

Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Great location right on the ocean! Gorgeous grounds, lovely pool area, live entertainment in the bar area at night, lots of activities to keep you occupied! The only reason for the 4* rating instead of 5* is because of a mysterious $20 resort fee which is added to your bill for each night of your stay. I was unaware of this charge before I booked so was a little annoyed by it. We also only got allocated a double room instead of the king size room we had booked because they said they were at full capacity and we checked in late, not a huge deal though. The rooms were lovely inside! Coffee machine, safe and fridge all included with each room.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear UKtoDC,

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that we were unable to satisfy your request for a king room and very much appreciate your understanding during our full occupancy. Our $18 resort fee covers our amenities high speed internet access, shuttle to the Shipyard Golf course, pool and fitness center use. Our reservationists are fully aware of the Resort Fee and trained to disclose the rate during the booking process. We apologize if it was not made clear. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy some of these amenities during your stay such as the entertainment, and pool. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband surprised me with a trip to Hilton Head for my birthday last weekend. We stayed in a huge suite! I was surprised with champagne and chocolate strawberries upon arriving at the suite. The hotel is absolutely beautifully decorated, down to the smallest details. Our room was modern, classic and every thing I love. The valet, especially the gentleman from Jamaica, were polite and super helpful, as were the ladies at the front desk. The maids would even check on us as we would randomly pass them in the hallways. I loved the room service, and we had a great meal at each of the restaurants. There is an overall theme of exceptional service at this resort that I greatly appreciated. This was the best birthday I ever had, and my husband owes it all to the Sonesta!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 6 days ago
We are delighted to hear that your husband chose to surprise you with a weekend stay at the Sonesta Resort! It is a pleasure to read your wonderful comments for the valet and housekeeping staff – they will be delighted to hear your kind words! It certainly does sound like the perfect birthday celebration and we hope this may become a tradition and you will spend many more with us! Thank you for this great feedback!

Lisa Leong
Director of Guests Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I went on a weekend gateway. Beautiful hotel, warm and friendly staff. Our room was clean and the beds are very comfortable. We really like the property as well, although it was cold outside we took a stroll on the beach and the surrounding area, it was so relaxing and beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head. Our location in Shipyard Plantation allows for a tranquil and serene environment. We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.
Lisa Leong
Director of Guests Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband took me here for our anniversary. Awesome hotel, very clean, great atmosphere. The atrmosphere feels like the bahamas, hotel staff excellent and hotel is only a few steps from the beach!!!!

Room Tip: I would request the inside rooms, were you are able to view the pool. Feels like your inside a cruis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for selecting the Sonesta Resort to celebrate your anniversary! We are so glad that you had such a memorable visit and left with some special memories. It is also a pleasure to read your wonderful comments about the staff and the unique tropical atmosphere! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Lisa Leong
Director of Guests Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just love the Sonesta Resort. Friendly staff and very helpful. The property is beautiful and very relaxing. They have bikes to rent on the property and activities for younger children. The have a very large pool and they also have a smaller pool that is heated. Lot of eating places and places to go shopping.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are excited to know you LOVE the Sonesta and that our friendly staff were able to accommodate your needs. Bike rental is a popular activity on Hilton Head and we are happy to be able to offer them right onsite to make it a more convenient access for our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the Verizon Heritage Golf Tournament. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head hotels to island shopping, restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Fridays and Saturdays, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Beach Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.