We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Resort on up-scale Hilton Head Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island to your Saves list
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free 4 '15 Offer
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Lovely Resort on up-scale Hilton Head Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We used a travel site deal for four nights, with the resort fee ($18/day) and buffet breakfast ($45/day) rolled into a $200/night Sun to Weds rate. It is nicely landscaped smaller resort, with access to a broad public beach by a 200 yard path. The room was large and comfortable. Food and drink were pricey, and restaurant quality was just average. We ate three dinners offsite, and there are many restaurants within five miles.

We are Palace Resort members in Mexico, and preferred places like Playacar Palace and the Moon Palace to this facility. However, we live a 4+ hour drive away in NC, so no plane flight was a plus for a Sonesta visit.

Room Tip: Monday nights at Reilly's Restaurant has $12 full Maine lobsters. A must if you're on the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Doug Viages,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We were pleased to see that you enjoyed the resort and our beaches. We appreciate your comments regarding our breakfast pricing, and would like to assure you that we are very competitive with the area resorts. We hope you will take advantage of joining our Travel Pass program as this will provide a discount to all of your food and non-alcoholic beverages. In addition, you will be earning points toward future stays. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,

Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    245
    53
    18
    7
See reviews for
336
476
27
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
gagirl0104
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The hotel was very nice. Nicely decorated, very modern decor. Staff was friendly. When I went there were a ton of families with kids there which does not bother me but may annoy some other folks looking for a more adult/romantic experience. The food at the restaurants was good but pricey. The drinks at the bar were also good but very expensive in my opinion. The beach was very nice, great location. The pool area was very crowded, probably due to the extreme heat. Overall I had a great stay at this hotel and would go back. The only thing I could complain about was parking. There were not enough spots and it was not fun circling around trying to find a spot. Despite this I still give this hotel 2 thumbs up.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review about the Sonesta Resort. We much appreciate your feedback regarding the restaurant and bar and are glad that you enjoyed the experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Just a great place to relax and unwind, ehgaging service levels from the valet team to the bell staff. Enjoyed time with Kathy Prince and Jay the GM, The property is in great shape and has a great location with the ocean steps away from the resort. Live music in the lobby Friday night made for a great place to hangout with kids and friends, awesome stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Kbrockway,

Thank you for the great feedback! You made Kathy and Jay's day. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is now our go-to-hotel for a weekend get away at Hilton Head. It was a hot weekend and we really enjoyed the shade pool in the middle of the day. Nice little walk to pretty beach. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear plovify,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the shade pool, and happier to tell you that the island is already starting to return to our perfect fall weather! We hope you will be back soon to take advantage of it!

Sincerely,

Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This is our second stay at this Sonesta. It was part of a Coral Resorts package for current Coral owners (we own at Island Links). Review is not a whitewash; this is one of the finest places we've stayed while traveling internationally. I was, unfortunately, recovering from surgery and unable to take advantage of many amenities, nor the beautiful beach, during this stay. I look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
We are so delighted you returned to the Sonesta Resort Thank you very much for your review. We hope the recovery is going well. Looking forward to your return when you will be able to use all the amenities we have available including the beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I just returned from a weekend trip to the HHI Sonesta with my wife and two young children. This was our second visit to this property (we visited right after the renovation) and I have to say that the hotel is still in fantastic shape. Our room was extremely clean and well laid out with a nice balcony and small refrigerator. The grounds are beautiful. The zero entry pool was a hit with our kids. I have stayed at several resorts at HH and at this point I think the Sonesta is at the top as far as quality and value.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again! We enjoyed having your family here to experience our Resort. All of our rooms feature a balcony and refrigerator to make you feel at home. Thank you for your comment about our beautiful grounds. We really enjoyed reading this positive review and look forward to your return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

My wife were here last Sept. on a travelzoo offer. We returned on another travelzoo deal. The deal make this fine resort affordable. Hilton Head Island is just awonderful place to visit, relax, and dine. There many fine resturants to fit all your needs, Oh did I mention the best beach on NC, SC and GA.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Pat B.

Thank you for the glowing comments. We are so glad to have you back and pleased you took advantage of the wonderful special. Be sure to sign up for Travel Pass as we provide some great specials with the program as well, and you earn points toward future stays. Please have a look and perhaps your 3rd visit will be even better than the two before!

Sincerely,

Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the Verizon Heritage Golf Tournament. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head hotels to island shopping, restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Fridays and Saturdays, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Beach Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.