We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pay Now and Save
Ranked #1 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Taylors
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Once you are arrive I see no reason to leave again until time to go home. Everything is taken care of by great staff. Great pool area with bar and grill. Room service is very good. Beach is right outside the door.


  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    554
    152
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
244
301
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
tallon69
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was a last minute run to the beach for a little R&R before back to school for my rising junior. I was actually shooting for the Omni via Priceline but won this Sonesta Resort instead. I must say overall we were very pleased the property is beautiful. Even the lobby w/ its high end finishes and bright but classy decor. The front desk was accommodating; the room was spacious and formatted nicely. Sitting area, small balcony, writing desk, large flat screen, comfy mattresses and a tub. Very minor finishing issues in the bathroom if I wasn't looking I wouldn't have noticed. Room services/ in room dining was a weak spot... first they did heat up some leftovers (no in room microwaves?? #fail) so that was appreciated. The menu was somewhat limited and the prices were severely escalated. Basically we paid for another night’s stay in food over the course of 2 days, including the daily resort fee. So pack snacks. One of the women that delivered food wasn't very friendly either. The pool was bath warm, very spacious w/ a good quantity of seating. The beach was a short sandy walk through the pool area and well maintained. A very restful weekend to say the least, completely worth it at a discount.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel itself was very nice. Beautifully decorated. Comfortable beds. Clean rooms. Clean grounds. Friendly staff. Delicious restaurant. Walking distance to the beach.

The only downfall to this resort is that it's very kid friendly which is great for families with kids. However when you don't have kids or didn't travel with kids it would be nice to have an adult area and a separate kids area which this hotel does not offer. We were laying on chairs in the deep end, reading a book and kids were jumping in and getting my book wet. I'm not going to complain because the kids are having a great time and it's just a book! I'm only mentioning this incase it would bother someone else and what to expect. Also, we visited this hotel during the summer which everyone is on summer break. Maybe if you were to visit once school is back in then you would have a different experience.

Also, the cab rides are extremely expensive. It rained every night that we were there so we couldn't walk or ride bikes so we were forced to take a cab and it was $17.00 to go 2.1 miles. That's a $40.00 cab ride to and from dinner. This is no fault to the hotel but just informing future guest.

If in Hilton Head again I would stay here again. I would bring my own car and try not to visit in the summer!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had a great time during our stay at Sonesta Hilton Head. The Valet staff greeted my husband and was helpful as soon as we arrived. The hotel was clean and staff was friendly. Loved the decor and the pool area was beautiful. Lots of lounge chairs and had lour lunch poolside. You can rent bikes and ride them on the beach. The best feature of this hotel was that it was pet friendly and close to the beach. Would definately go back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucker
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

it's expensive but worth it. the rooms are nice and clean. the bed comfy. smart tv. safe hotel. friendly fast service. the pancakes were not good. the pool restaurant/bar has good food.
great location. nice beach, soft sand, warm water. free parking. there is a safe and fridge in the room. awesome turn down service.

Room Tip: we had the garden view. which was perfect - overlooking the pool and got a little bit of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I wanted to take my husband to a nice relaxing resort for his birthday so I looked up the Sonesta Resort.. Through the pictures I was sold...I read some good reviews so i decided to book the hotel. This hotel is very costly but I was okay with it because i knew it was going to be an amazing stay. Boy was i wrong! Yes the staff is very nice. Walking into the building the hotel looked great! Went to check out my room and was not overly thrilled. Walked into the bathroom and trash was still on the floor from the previous guest. The shower curtain was so dirty and disgusting. And we stepped out to look out at what we thought would be a nice view from our balcony, only to see the air condition units and satellite dishes etc..nothing pleasing to the eye. I was surprise to see that the bathrooms still had a average looking shower,tub. This all would be okay i guess if i was staying at a Red Roof but not a resort that is the price of a months car payment for only one nights stay. Again the staff was great but very very disappointed in the hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Beautiful Pool area with nearby poolside bar & grill. Room was nice, however was slightly deflated by smoky smell upon entering the room. Staff sent up housekeeping to spray Febreeze in the room which really didn't help. We dealt with the smell and purchase some Lysol to use for our stay. I must say it is a non-smoking hotel and perhaps it came in from someone smoking on the balconies. Our doorway was slightly narrower than normal doorways as we had to turn the stroller side-ways to enter (we've never had this problem previously and this is our traveling stroller). I would consider returning if our travels take us to Hilton Head again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the Verizon Heritage Golf Tournament. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head hotels to island shopping, restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Fridays and Saturdays, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Beach Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.