We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Return Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island to your Saves list
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free 4 '15 Offer
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
GreenLeadersGold level
Lexington, South Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Will Return Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My wife and I just returned from our stay at the Sonesta Hilton Head. We hope to return back soon. The place was all we'd hoped for and expected. Front Desk personnel were friendly and accommodating. Room was modern, clean and very comfortable. As others have noted in their reviews, if your bringing the kids expect them to have a ball at the pool and at the walk-able beach access. If you are looking for a break from the kids, choose your calendar dates accordingly. Not that the place was overrun with children, there was just a large amount of them ~ and all of them were very well-behaved. I am just noting that relaxing quietly poolside might be a bit easier AFTER the kids are back in school. Had delicious steaks at their main restaurant and in-suite dining was perfectly done as well.

Room Tip: Fourth or Fifth Floor facing pool or ocean horizon is a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Marty R,

Thank you for such a glowing review. As you suggested, the children certainly love our resort during the summer season, but those looking for a quieter experience would find us to be the perfect destination now as our younger fans go back to school. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island!

Kind regards,
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    211
    44
    15
    7
See reviews for
299
423
22
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We usually stay at the Westin, but it was sold out when we wanted to visit HH this year. The hotel itself is very clean with a modern, recently updated decor. Room was beautiful and modern. Staff were all pleasant and welcoming. I wonder if the hotel sponsors foreign employees, as most seemed to be from the Caribbean and Australia. We had breakfast daily at the hotel's restaurant, and it was delicious and very decently priced, with healthy options (The breakfast at the Westin was more expensive and not as good). There is also a breakfast buffet available, although the menu items were filling enough so we never bought it. There is plenty of free parking that is relatively close to the hotel, so we skipped the valet. Note that the hotel allows dogs up to 35lb for a one-time $150 fee. Grounds were very well-kept. Beach is awesome because the hotel is flanked not by other hotels, but by private homes, so it isn't crowded. Pairs of wooden beach chairs with umbrellas are available for rent for ~$30 for an entire day or $18 after 1pm. They did not seem to sell out, either.
Only minor complaint was that the door on our safe was broken and unusable, and Wifi was shotty at times.

Overall, we felt that Sonesta was just as nice as the Westin, but less expensive and with better food. We will be staying here in the future when we visit HH.

Pro tip: Before you go, make sure to join the free Trvale Pass rewards program on their website, which gives you free Wifi and discounts around the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear domer621,

Thank you for taking the time to share you review with us and our future guests. As you may imagine, the team was pleased to read your comments, and they look forward to welcoming you back to the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are also delighted that you signed up for our Travel Pass rewards program. While this will earn you free stays in the future, you will also be informed of great offers for Hilton head as well as all of our sister properties. We are excited that your future trips to Hilton Head will bring you back to the Sonesta Resort.

Sincerely,
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had no hot water and had to call 4 times to get any update. Apparently it was only our side of the hotel but they didn't offer to move us. In addition, no offer on free night stay or spa visit to compensate. Internet is little better than dial up.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear GamecockChic,

Thank you for taking the time to speak with our Executive Assistant, and as suggested, we should have been more proactive in making up for our shortcomings. We are so grateful that you will be proving us another opportunity to regain your confidence in Sonesta Resort, and we will be waiting for your return.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,
Lisa Leong
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I was there this past week for a conference with my job and it was great. The staff was very friendly and made sure our needs were met. The room was spacious and clean. The only problem I had was connecting my phone to the Internet. Other than that it was a great stay and I will definitely return again!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Latarsha L,

It was a pleasure to have you and your colleagues stay with us, and thank you for the great feedback regarding the event. Our complimentary internet has 24 hour support, so in the event a guest has challenges, we are happy to assist. We also provide additional bandwidth for our Travel Pass rewards members, so be sure to sign up!

Sincerely,
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The hotel is well situated to make excellent beach access. The building and rooms were obviously recently renovated; gorgeous interior design, super clean carpet everywhere. Guest room was great, plenty of room, top notch bathroom facilities, great bed and linens. Loved the automatic night light sensor as you moved to the bathroom. I was there solo, end of summertime, but a bit too early as the place was packed with families with lots of children. Pool quickly filled, music playing loudly, lots of screaming fun going on. NOT a place to rest. Beach was packed. Ocean warm, not clear waters, and regular threats of jellyfish; I luckily escaped.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Terry S.,

Thank you for sharing your stay with us. As you mentioned, we are a great family destination, as is Hilton Head, while the children are enjoying their summer break. Once the children go back to school in mid-August, our resort transforms, and the clientele shifts to couples and friends. With miles of beautiful beaches, wonderful golf courses, tennis and our Arum Spa, there is something for everyone. I would like to encourage you to stay with us again this fall; It truly is the locals favorite time of the year, and why so many choose to call Hilton Head Island home. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here got 5 nights. The room was very clean and a good size. It had a seating area and a small balcony. We chose this resort because it was reasonably priced for being right on the beach... and the beach was spectacular! It wasn't too crowded if you walked just s little way past the path to the resort. The restaurants and bars on site were fine but waaaaayyyy over priced. Spend the days on the beach and sleep in your room but do everything else elsewhere.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear anitsirk3,

Thank you for sharing your experience with our Trip Advisor fans. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the resort and our beautiful beaches. I will be sure to share your comments regarding pricing with our food and beverage director to ensure that we are still pricing competitively with our local restaurants. As you may of heard when checking in, our Travel Pass rewards members do enjoy a 10% discount on food and bike rentals as well as a 15% discount in the Arum Spa. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort!

Sincerely,
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Enjoyed a two night stay at the Sonesta resort with my family. We had a corner room with a king bed. The room was quite large with a pullout sofa, nice size bathroom and a little fridge and coffee maker. Since our two boys don't like to sleep together, we did travel with a blowup bed. The room was large enough to accommodate the extra queen bed and still give us plenty of room to move around. We had a small balcony that looks out at palm trees and a small lake. The pool was small but never crowded when we were there. The beach is a short walk from the pool. There was always fruit infused water available in the lobby. My kids loved this! We did not eat on the property and traveled with our own wine so I cannot comment on food or beverage. The king bed was super comfortable. The staff was very nice and professional. My only complaint would be that one night we did hear a crying baby in the room next to us. We drowned it out with the tv until we were ready to sleep and all was quiet at that time.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the corner rooms, they are worth it for the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Zinwinegirl,

Thank you for providing our fans with your recommendations. We recently added a new suite type after converting 3 hospitality suites to a King Studio Suite. All three have spectacular ocean views, two 46" smart TV's, a full sized pullout couch and dining room seating for six, so please look into this room type for your next visit! Please be sure to try happy hour at Bayley's Bar and Terrace for great appetizers and a glass of Zinfandel when you return. Until then, we will be waiting for you!

Kind regards,
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the Verizon Heritage Golf Tournament. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head hotels to island shopping, restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Fridays and Saturdays, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Beach Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.