We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island to your Saves list
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
GreenLeadersGold level
High Point, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Sonesta is a nice renovated hotel. It doesn't have the bells and whistles as the Westin at HH but for the price, you won't be disappointed. Rooms are clean and modern and staff is friendly. The bar prices are STEEP. My 4 year old enjoyed the pool. The second pool isn't heated and in the shade so it's extremely cold even in July. This hotel is really close to a lot of food places which is a plus. I would go back.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are excited to know you enjoyed the clean and modern room and appreciate the recognition for our friendly staff. We are just as happy about our $30million renovation which took place last year and happy to know our guests share the same excitement as we do! Thank you for trying our new zero entry pool as well as our shade pool during your stay. Our goal is to maintain the temperature between 82 degrees and 84 degrees. We hope to welcome you back at Bayley’s Bar and Terrance for our happy specials hour during the week on your next stay. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    202
    39
    15
    7
See reviews for
292
400
20
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I booked this room on the day of 4th of July for an impromptu vacation. The price for that weekend was way too high BUT I sucked it up because it was one of the only rooms available in the entire area for that day. In spite of the price, I was definitely pleased with the hotel. Nice, clean room, great pool, and literally about 50 yards from the beach! WIN WIN!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you so much for this five star review! We are very pleased that you decided to choose the Sonesta Resort on Hilton Head to celebrate such a special holiday. We are thrilled that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for recognizing the amenities available to you as well as the cleanliness of your room upon check in. We cannot wait to welcome you back to our resort in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Hilton Head is a nice destination regardless of where you stay. I was pleased with the Sonesta in just about every way. The room was spacious, the beach was very close by, and the pool area was nice. The business area was impressive, as was the hotel staff. My only complaints were the limited parking spaces, and the lengthy drive through the private resort area. That may be appealing to some, but not me.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed the spacious room and the proximity to the beach. Our Tech lounge features two computers with internet access and additional seating area for relaxation or simply to browse online with your own device. We very much appreciate your recognition towards our staff as we strive to provide professional and friendly service with each and every guest encounter. Hilton Head Island is divided up into what is called “Plantations” which are secured gated communities. Our resort is located in the south end of Hilton Head in a plantation called Shipyard. The resort is 1.5miles from the Shipyard Plantation gate and the drive is accompanied by bike paths which allows you to ride along our beautifully landscaped golf course under the hanging Spanish Moss. We certainly hope you will have a chance to enjoy some time to enjoy the scenery. If you have any difficulties finding a parking are, please do not hesitate to reach out to our valet parking attendant who will be more than happy to assist you in finding an ideal parking location. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Georgia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Sonesta Resort is a great place to take the family. The staff is professional, courteous, and very helpful. The pool is large and the pool-side bar has good food and drinks. There are plenty of activities for kids including movies on a big screen near the pool at night. Live music every day either at the pool or inside the hotel. The hotel was recently renovated and the rooms are nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
This is such a fantastic review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are more than thrilled to read our staff was able to properly accommodate you professionally and in a friendly manner. Thank you for recognizing our Pool Bar; Sweet Cane’s and the delicious food and beverages they have to offer. Our Just Us Kid’s Department is always available to assist with bike rentals, kid’s activities and our nightly dive in movies at the pool! Thank you again for this review and we cannot wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Township, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We only stayed here one night as we were looking for a place for one day prior to checking into our time share and we're so pleased with this hotel. They recently were renovated so the lobby was beautiful as were the rooms. Lovely pool area and plenty of food and drink options and a short walk up the pathway to the beach. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for this excellent five star review! We are so happy you chose the Sonesta Resort before checking into your timeshare on the island. Our property has undergone a recent renovation and we are thrilled to read you were able to experience our resort and the amenities we have available for our guests. Thank you so much for this review and for future recommendations; we hope to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My family were on a road trip, flying from Scotland into Washington DC. We stayed at Annapolis, Williamsburg, Wilmington, a detour to Pinehurst for the US Open before arriving at Hilton Head. By that time we were in need of good accommodation, food, service and relaxation. We were not disappointed. Sonesta Resort is wonderful. From the moment we arrived at reception until the morning we left, everything was perfect. So much so, we changed our plans and stayed an extra night. The bedroom was big, clean and very comfortable. All staff were very friendly and helpful, in particular the restaurant staff who found out it was our wedding anniversary and presented us with a glass of champagne and dessert. A short walk through beautiful gardens takes you to the beach which is just perfect. Hilton Head is the most perfect holiday destination and this hotel is first class.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view or ocean view room. Our view was to the side and above the kitchen area so not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We cannot thank you enough for this amazing five star review! It is a goal of ours to ensure that every guest feels relaxed, accommodated, and well taken care of. We are very pleased to read we succeeded with you and your family upon check in all the way through check out. Thank you for recognizing the friendliness of our staff; especially our team in our Heyward’s restaurant. They were more than willing to recognize such a special occasion. Thank you for not only choosing us but for also extending your stay one more night! We cannot wait to welcome you back to our resort in the near future, thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The drive to the hotel is nice. It's in a gated community with a lot of "security". The whole scene is very dated. This would have probably been the 'happening' spot 20 years ago. When you pull up to the hotel you can tell that it is old. Yes it has been recently redone but very drab looking. All tan stucco. Looks like a 1980's hospital. Parking, unless you valet is an experience. Very long walk with 2 kids in dark parking lot. Check in went well but was very hectic. The lobby was so loud when we checked in from the lounge singer at the bar that we could not hear the desk clerk. When we got to the room it had a horrible view!! Just a chain link fence and some unkept shrubbery. I went to the desk to see if anything else was available and he just kept up charging me. At first it was $40. Then it was $30 a night up charge. So if you find yourself in that situation just stick with it and the price goes down. It's like a shady used car dealership. So we stayed in our room got the kids settled in and headed to the pool. Back through the super loud lobby and outside. The pool area was very nice. The beach access is very nice through winding boardwalks. The "indoor" pool area is under an overhang off to the side that is not very "beachy" at all. Very dated. Looks like an old hwy motel pool. (Not any pics of that pool on the website). All in all the facilities are very clean the staff are friendly and professional. But for upwards of $300 a night more is expected. This is not a "resort". If you are well traveled and expect a "resort" atmosphere this is not it. Just stay a nice hotel with pool for half the price and you will be much happier.

Room Tip: If you book through a hotel booking site. Expedia. Travelocity. Ect. Be warned that you will get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We have been trying to reach you in regards to this review in order to properly rectify the situation. A voicemail was left on the day of your departure in order to address these issues immediately. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to regain your confidence in our resort. Being a Four Diamond, Award Winning resort, we take these comments seriously and want to ensure complete guest satisfaction. Please contact our Director of Guest Services, Lisa Leong at 843-341-1898. Thank you again and we hope to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the Verizon Heritage Golf Tournament. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head hotels to island shopping, restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Fridays and Saturdays, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Beach Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.