We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Property & Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island to your Saves list
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
GreenLeadersGold level
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Property & Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had a wonderful visit at the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island over the weekend. Lisa was at the Front Desk and greeted us with a smile and a very friendly demeanor. The newly renovated rooms were spotless along with entire property. We decided to rent bikes and ride the beach which was well worth the minimal rental fee. The gentleman at the Bike rental area was very friendly & thorough and offered us a basket, lock, etc. With the great location of the resort, you can ride bikes to many fun places such as Coligny Beach & Coco's. The 2 male bartenders at the Hotel bar were very accomdating even with a full bar of folks watching the Kentucky derby. Thanks again for a great stay and we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your 5 star rating regarding yours stay at the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are happy to hear you room and the property was clean and the staff you encountered were friendly and helpful! Our goal is to create as many memorable moments as possible and we are glad to know we succeeded. We look forward to your return, next time to try our signature Blood Orange Mojito at our poolside Sweet Cane bar and grille!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    204
    41
    15
    7
See reviews for
294
405
20
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Recently spent the weekend at Sonesta for a 4 day trip. The accommodations were beyond my expectations! All the service staff were extremely at tentative. I was very impressed with the level of quality in services at pool side and throughout the resort! Our entire group was very pleased and offering a high rating!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience. We are thrilled to know we were able to exceed your expectations. Our goal is to provide excellent service throughout the resort and we are happy to know your group was able to experience the service level we strive to deliver each day. We truly appreciate your feedback regarding your stay and hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Traveled to HHI to see family and was very impressed with the service and conditions of this facility. The staff from curb to house keeping was incredible they took great care of my family. The pool and bike services staff were super. In house resteraunt food was very good Shrimp and grits and my grand son loved the pancakes. We stayed the week prior to the PGA and it waas really nice to see familys young and older having a good time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful comment regarding your experience at the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. Everyday our entire team works hard to provide excellent customer service and we are excited to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay. We are very proud of our food quality served in our restaurant as well as the variety of selections we offer based on the outlet you choose. We appreciate your comments regarding the resort being an enjoyable place to stay for all age groups and certainly look forward to welcoming your family back! Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed here based on the Trip Advisor rating and reviews. This is a very nice hotel that has upgraded the facilities and service. We had selected an Executive king, with a larger room and a breakfast included package. We stayed during a slow period, but were put in a corner room overlooking the parking lot and not the beach or pool. When I asked to be moved they said they would but with an up charge of $50 more per night. We stayed in the room provided as I thought that at $269 plus fees and taxes = $300 per night was enough. I will say the hotel was very nice and the breakfast was wonderful each day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are happy to know you enjoyed the facilities and service we offer here at the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We offer an excellent breakfast selection whether it is from the buffet or a la carte. We also serve a wonderful Sunday Champagne Bruch if you are staying with us over the weekend. We are sorry to hear your room did not meet your expectations. There are several room selections to choose from and in the future please feel free to contact our Guest Services Representatives who may assist you in determining the best choice of room arrangements. We look forward to welcoming you back again, next time to ensure your room is in the desired location!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Live Oak, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed at the Sonesta while attending a conference. It was well kept, very clean and artfully decorated. We did not have any of the noise problems others have written about, out room 3039 was peaceful and quiet although the view left some to be desired. The on site restaurants were good and reasonable. The pool area was clean, my granddaughter enjoyed it immensely. The beach is right there and relaxing whether sunning, swimming or looking for sand dollars.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for this 5 star review! We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay. Our entire team strives to make a great impression during every interaction and it is very meaningful to know you took the time to share with us your experience. The room you selected was one of our executive rooms and we are glad to know your stay was peaceful and quiet. We are happy to know your granddaughter enjoyed her experience in the zero entry pool and your dining experience was positive. Thank you again for taking the time to share with us your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Rhode Island
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My family vacationed in Florida for a week and to break up our long drive home we decided to stop for the first time in Hilton Head. Read all the reviews and wanted to stay one night to break up our long journey home, but also to see if this was a place to take a longer vacation at a later time. Resort is awesome and lots to do. We great weather and was very relaxing. We had to get to bed early and get up at 5am to hit the road for our 13 hr trip home. A band was playing and a loud crowd was at the bar. The noise was so loud we could not get to sleep. I called the front desk at 10pm. She stated the band would stop playing any minute. The band continued for another 30 minutes. I called again and was not happy to say the least. The band finally stopped, but the noise from the bar was very loud. Did not get much sleep and upon checkout at 6am told the man at the desk how ridiculous the noise was. He stated the band stopped at 10pm. I almost lost it. My quickly interrupted and demanded a discount. We were credited about $75. As I am writing this review a woman called from Sonesta to apologize regarding the noise problems and stated they are aware of the issue and that they are going to stop the band at an earlier time. My suggestions to anyone going there make sure you get a quiet room away the bar area. If you value your sleep!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the disturbance during your stay. Since the incident, we have worked with our musician to lower the volume of our live entertainment in the lobby. We realize this does not change the fact you were disturbed during your stay however would like to ensure every guest concern is taken seriously in order to make improvements for the future. We appreciate you taking the call from our Executive Office to personally apologize about your experience and look forward to your return visit. As mentioned in your review, if there are any preferences in your room type or location, please feel free to reach out to us directly so our Guest Services Representative may assist in providing you with the best possible room selection for your stay. Thank you again for choosing the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed 4 nights and really enjoyed it. Staff was very friendly and the room (4020) was very nicely furnished, the bed was phantastic and very comfortable. We went to to the beach every day and rented beach furniture. We only eat once at the pool bar and that was fine. Only disadvantage is the noise from large groups sitting outside all night in front of the restaurant. And check your bill upon checkout - we knew about the resort fee but when ad received an advance copy there were several items on the bill which didn't belong to us. However, staff corrected the invoice on the spot. All in all we will be back for sure.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We are very excited to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. Our entire staff we appreciates you posting such positive comments regarding the staff and our newly renovated rooms. We are glad to know we were able to correct your final bill promptly. We have several rooms located near our lobby atrium area which are very accessible to the elevators, however if you prefer to be away from this area, please do not hesitate to let us know so we may assist you in locating the best room that suits your needs. Thank you again for you review and we truly look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the Verizon Heritage Golf Tournament. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head hotels to island shopping, restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Fridays and Saturdays, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Beach Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.