We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free 4 '14 Offer
Ranked #1 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Hilton Head
1 review
“Wonderful find!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a jewel among the resorts on the island. Our family was very happy with the accommodations. The staff was superb and so helpful. The location of the hotel was minutes from all of our activities. This resort is definitely a keeper!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    88
    21
    4
    0
See reviews for
139
207
11
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clarion, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I visited the hotel on a business trip, attending a conference. I had a lot of expectations since this was my first visit to Hilton Head Island and a Sonesta Resort. I was AMAZED by the service, friendliness of the staff, etc. I wish I could remember all the staff members who deserve recognition for their service, but I can honestly say they all were great! The food at the restaurant was delicious!!! Awesome people working at Sonesta ! I am hoping to visit it again in the near future! it is definitely a place to visit while in Hilton Head Island!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a wonderful time. Front desk service was great! Room was so nice and it was very quiet. I would go back. Special thanks to Molly at the front desk who arranged transportation and whatever we needed!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

For twenty years our family stayed at the Crowne Plaza on Hilton Head. We learned 18 months ago that the Sonesta group had purchased the property and planned a major renovation. The hotel re-opened in the spring of 2013 and the transformation was just amazing. The hotel is simply beautiful. The color schemes are warm, inviting and very contemporary. The restaurants and bars both inside and out are fun and well staffed. Many of the Crowne Plaza staff remain as part of the Sonesta group which further adds to the quality of the hotel. The rooms were totally remodeled making them great places to rest and relax. Furnishings are of high quality insuring a great night's sleep or comfortable tv watching. The hotel offers a great spa, fun pools and a variety of recreational activities. Whether you are there with the family or on business, Sonesta is a go to, cannot miss experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is just wonderful. It is right in the beach, very clean, and very friendly staff. The resort itself isn't huge, so you don't have to worry about a million people everywhere you go. The only drawback I would say (and the reason I gave it four stars) is the price. While the hotel is nice, it isn't exquisite. The price tag states otherwise. Two night stay=$650.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the resort for 3 wonderful nights. The front desk staff was very efficient with checking us in. Our room was very spacious and very clean. Susan from Human Resources showed us around to highlight the changes from renovations. Anca was amazing at providing us any information we needed and helping us book a cab and even made dinner reservations for us Saturday night at a busy restaurant! The staff is amazing. The amenities are amazing. They are obviously doing something right at the Sonesta Resort in Hilton Head.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland, Fla.
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Sonesta Hotel is located in the Shipyard Plantation. It has recently been remodeled and the new decor is pleasant and contemporary. At the entry guard gate you will be given a temporary car pass, and then receive a hotel car pass upon check in. Self parking is free, but Valet is available if needed.
The hotel is on a huge piece of beach front property, and is beautifully landscaped- oak, palm, and pine trees,flowers, ponds, etc.... Check in was fast and efficient. The front desk clerks wear colorful orange shirts adorned with name tags . Every employee we encountered on our 3 day visit was polite and smiled at us.
Our room had two queen beds and a view of oak trees. Quick description-large bathroom with magnification mirror/ ample closet space with in-room safe (use credit card to open & close) / coffee maker/ mini-fridge/ flat screen TV/ two chairs/ chairs on balcony. When you get up at night, automatic lights on a sensor come on. They are located at floor level. The beds are super comfy, the sheets are soft, and it was very quiet near our room. The air conditioner did not cycle on & off during the night, and put out a lot of cold air-we slept very well.
The food and cocktails at the lobby bar and restaurants were excellent. The grilled snapper tacos were delicious. We ate lunch at Seacrest 3 days in a row! The pool bar did not have the same cocktail selection, and the food was hamburgers and more "Pub food". The pool has a very shallow ledge area which is great for babies to play in. The pool area was very crowded, and most of the guests there had children. It is very family friendly, and maybe not so much so for a honeymoon couple. They do not have an "adult's only" pool unfortunately.
Close to the beach they have a HUGE pavilion that is a PERFECT PLACE for a party or wedding reception. It is very tropical looking, and the ocean breeze is comforting. In the area between the hotel and the beach, they have hammocks, covered lounging couch areas, and bicycle rentals. (highly recommend seeing the plantation via bike-gorgeous surroundings)
If you are arriving by car, bring your own beach chairs, umbrellas, and coolers, so you don't have to rent them from an independent company.If you are arriving by air and renting a car, it would be cheaper to stop by Wal Mart or drug store on your way onto the island and purchase some lawn chairs, than to rent them on a daily basis..
Hilton Head Island is an example of a planned community done the right way-nature being the #1 priority. Visit as many plantations as you have time for, and enjoy wonderful restaurants, golf courses, tennis courts, boating, bicycling, etc.. This is one of our favorite destination spots on the east coast. (We live in Florida)
The Sonesta Hotel is awesome, and we will be staying there on our next visit.We have stayed in over 6 hotels on H.H.Island in the past 35 years, and the Sonesta is one of the best!

Room Tip: This hotel is in a "U shape". If you book a non ocean/ pool view room, ask for a room on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza
Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the Verizon Heritage Golf Tournament. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head hotels to island shopping, restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Fridays and Saturdays, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Beach Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.