We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HHI Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island to your Saves list
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free 4 '15 Offer
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“HHI Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We rarely stay in a hotel when in HHI because we have a vacation home there. The house is under renovation so we had to choose a place elsewhere to stay. We hit the jackpot with the Sonesta. The newly renovated rooms are elegant, no detail has been overlooked. The staff is friendly and helpful. We esp enjoyed the night bellman, Charlie, who has lived in the area for 50 years and has some stories to tell.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay. We are excited to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you acknowledging our friendly and helpful staff. We are very fortunate to have Charlie, our veteran Bellman who genuinely cares about each and every guest who walks through the front door. It is associates like Charlie who creates an excellent guest experience and we very much appreciate your recognition. We look forward to your return during your next visit to Hilton Head!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    245
    53
    18
    7
See reviews for
336
476
27
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This resort has recently been renovated; it is beautiful. The surroundings are quiet, serene with beach access. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed. the beds and bedding are fantastic. We only stayed one night but could easily spend a much longer visit here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay at the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island! Our resort is located in the south end of Hilton Head in a gated community called Shipyard Planation. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the quiet and serene setting of our resort, which allows exclusive access to our Shipyard Plantation beach. Despite the short stay, we are happy to know you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. We look forward to your return in the near future for to enjoy our full amenities including our Arum Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Through the years we have vacationed at Hilton Head. The Sonesta was by far the best resort we have experienced. Definitely would love to go back, and soon! The food was exceptional, breakfast, lunch and dinner; and, the staff was wonderful.

Room Tip: The Sonesta is a beautiful property. We upgraded to an ocean view, but the garden view was just as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for such a fantastic review regarding your stay at the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are so excited to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments regarding our excellent food service! Sonesta focuses on Food is Art which our promise is to deliver not only exceptional service but to provide creative offerings using the finest ingredients of the local area. We appreciate you sharing your positive comments with us and look forward to your return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Vermont
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

My wife were heading south on a golf vacation and hit on a deal on Living Social for this resort. We booked 3 nights. The weather didn't cooperate the first day, but warmed up on days two and three. The hotel was recently renovated and is beautiful. The employees are all polite and helpful. There is a nice golf course on the property, walking paths, heated pools and sports equipment. If you don't have a good time here, you can't blame the hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review about our resort! We are glad you found us via Living Social and despite the weather, you were able to enjoy your stay. Thank you for acknowledging our polite staff and our newly upgraded facilities. We are certainly proud to have such a wonderful team working together to compliment the beautifully renovated facility. Our Concierge can arrange preferred rates through Heritage Golf Collection so please feel free to reach out to us directly for future tee time bookings. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This place was wonderful. Nice staff, and beautiful grounds. The bed was super comfortable and the rooms were clean. I wish they would have had a restaurant open with sensible prices, as only the fancy ones were available. A bagel and coffee would have been nice in the mornings. Other then that is was great! We will be back (when the weather is nice).

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosby, Tennessee
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We selected this property based on TA's first place rating. It is off season so I selected the Oceanfront King Corner room for $170.00. Very nice room with a balcony looking out toward the ocean. As other reviewers have indicated you are not actually next to the ocean, but can see it through a border of trees that are on the property. Many nice touches abound including a spacious bath, excellent bed, work area and small seating area. An unusual experience for us were motion sensitive floor lights that activated when you got out of the bed to see your way to the bath. I am impressed with quirky technology.

Our lunch at the property was excellent as was the breakfast Salmon Plate the next morning.

Check in was efficient even though our room was not available due to our early arrival. Reception took my cell phone number and called us when the room had been prepared.

Now the tacky point that not only bothers me about this property, but other upscale resorts we have visited. The dreaded "Resort Fee" that covers a myriad of features that we never use. Access to the spa, bicycles, shuttle service to the golf course, towels by the pool are just a few things I paid for that I did not use. Some items were just not logical. The resort is in a gated community so the resort fee covers access pass the guard tower. I have never had to pay for the privilege of access to a hotel. Some items we tried to use namely the WiFi which did not even work in the lobby, much less in our room and a daily newspaper that you have to order which I did, but which never showed up.

Management needs to get rid of the "resort fee" and just provide the services you would normally get at an upscale property in the basic room rate.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean front if the price is in the budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island for your recent stay. Our property lies on 12 acres of land including a beautifully landscaped garden and lagoon. The ocean is a short distance from the lobby as you walk past the lagoon which provides hammocks and benches around the resort grounds for additional relaxation. We are happy to know you share the same excitement about our added touches such as our motion sensor night light. We appreciate your feedback regarding the Resort Facilities Fee of $18 per night, which is set lowest within the competitive full service resorts. We sincerely apologize for your difficulties in connecting to the internet in the lobby, as well as the newspaper not being delivered as requested. We have tested our internet connection in the lobby and confirmed connectivity, as well as followed up to re-address our newspaper delivery procedure. Thank you for acknowledging the efficient check in procedure and we are glad you enjoyed our menu selection in the restaurant. We Thank you again for your feedback and look forward to your next visit with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Island, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I recently moved to Charleston, SC and were looking for an inexpensive get away in between Christmas and New Year. We used to go to Napa/Sonoma when we lived in CA....so some place quiet but nicely done.

I read the reviews on the Sonesta and found a deal on another site (the one where you don't know which one you are booking for $72 a night (no names mentioned) and I was reasonably sure it was for the Sonesta so I booked it.

It as beautifully decorated not by your run of the mill designer - but by someone that is very talented. The beach front location is great! I marveled at the choice of color and furnishings. The pool area looked good although we didn't use it. We will definitely go back in the future! The staff was friendly and the only complaint I would have is that my husband got a terrible hamburger in the hotel restaurant but it was taken off our bill (he said it was the worst one he's ever had - stale bun).

Room Tip: A pool view would be best....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our updated design and furnishings throughout the resort. Our zero entry heated pool is ideal for relaxing in the water even during the cooler days so please enjoy the facility during your next visit! We appreciate you recognizing our friendly staff and thank you for taking the time to personally discuss your concerns regarding the hamburger with our General Manager. We take pride in the quality of product and service we provide our guests and your feedback will allow us to improve on future opportunities. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the Verizon Heritage Golf Tournament. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head hotels to island shopping, restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Fridays and Saturdays, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Beach Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.