We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pay Now and Save
Ranked #1 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Guyton, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My husband's company used this resort for the company Christmas party. The rooms were just lovely and I couldn't have asked for more luxurious bedding. I loved the motion lights under the nightstands. The breakfast buffet at Heyward's restaurant was delicious and more than expected. The service we experienced at this resort was first class. No other way to describe it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We cannot thank you enough for this excellent review about your recent stay with us. We were more than happy to host such a special event. We are also happy to read you were able to enjoy breakfast at Heyward’s as well as our other amenities throughout the resort. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    488
    126
    27
    8
    0
See reviews for
197
268
12
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I came for the weekend and we had a great time! The buffet breakfast was delicious every morning. I also went to the spa and it was beautiful and relaxing. We loved waking up every morning and being able to walk right on the beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write this wonderful review about your recent stay! We are so happy to read you enjoyed our delicious breakfast buffet at Heyward’s as well as our lovely amenities at Arum Spa. Being only one hundred yards from the sand, we want our guests to enjoy everything they possibly can at our resort. Thank you again for this review and we cannot wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island hosted an annual Christmas party for my company and I had an absolute blast! Beautiful location, friendly service, top notch rooms, and the food was amazing! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us! But more importantly, thank you for recognizing our amenities as well as our excellent staff. At Sonesta, we truly appreciate you choosing us to celebrate special and significant events. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Very simply. The entire staff was most accommodating .

Even arranged private transport to a car show as I was without a car that morning.

I ended up not needing it, but the fact that they were so willing to be helpful.

Everyone was just very helpful and friendly.

Would recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We want to ensure genuine and supreme customer service for all of our guests choosing to stay with us here on Hilton Head Island. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

we decided to stay at the sonesta because of the reviews from trip advisor...and they were right on. we had a fabulous time. the accommodations were so lovely and steps away from the most beautiful beach we have ever seen. each staff member could not have been nicer and because it was midweek before the holidays, we basically had the place to ourselves. and as an additional note, they are working very hard to be green including have liquid soap, shampoo and conditioner in refillable containers in the shower. kudos to them.

Room Tip: we were on the first floor and could access the outside without going thru the lobby. it worked rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
We truly appreciate this review regarding your recent stay with us! We take such pride in our newly renovated property, as well as our level of service towards our guests. We also want to thank you for your acknowledgment regarding our amenities in each room. At Sonesta Hilton Head, we fully support the Go Green initiative and hope to continue that effort successfully. Thank you again for this review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This facility recently completed a 34 million overhaul and did a magnificant job. It is a beautiful
accommodation which is complimented by a well trained and friendly staff. If you have the opportunity it will be worth your time to try it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our newly renovated property as well as our professional staff here at Sonesta Hilton Head. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I was visiting Hilton Head for business and decided that I needed to stay somewhere close to the beach for relaxing between working. Staying at the Sonesta was the best decision I could ever make.

There's so much I loved, I'm actually not sure where to start... pulling onto the property prepares you for the relaxation to come as you pull into the resort. The rooms are cheery and bright. They are also very contemporary, so it doesn't feel like a dreary hotel room. The staff was very welcoming, and the bellman actually suggested a restaurant that was by far the best seafood mean I've had since visiting New Orleans years ago! Definitely ask the staff about their restaurant suggestions...they won't steer you wrong!

The beach is a boardwalk away. This was my first visit to Hilton Head, so I wasn't aware that you can't go on the beach at night because of the sea turtles. I was pretty sad when I checked in+since it was dark, I couldn't go on the beach at all. But, first thing in the morning, I took the less than 2 minute walk again, and it was absolutely perfect. Since I was by myself than other guests of the hotel didn't hesitate to stir up conversation in the elevators or while I was sitting on the beach watching the sunset. Everyone seemed to be so happy+relaxed!

I plan on visiting Hilton Head again with friends when it gets warmer. This is definitely where we will be staying.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this incredible review about your stay with us! We truly appreciate your acknowledgments not only regarding our staff, but our lovely recent renovation and white sand beaches just one hundred yards from our property. We enjoyed reading that you found yourself able to relax; here at Sonesta, we want our guests to feel welcome and at ease. Thank you for choosing us as your destination and we cannot wait to welcome you back in the warmer months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the Verizon Heritage Golf Tournament. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head hotels to island shopping, restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Fridays and Saturdays, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Beach Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.