We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pay Now and Save
Ranked #1 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Unicoi, TN
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“You'll love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you love the beach, this is the place to stay. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is great. The bed and the sheets are wonderful. They treat you as a valued customer, and I don't mind paying for the service. I will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    505
    131
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
211
272
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at the Sonesta during the third week of October. The facilites and service at the Sonesta were as great as the weather. The recent renovations are very impressive; our room was spacious and nice; comfortable bed and nice view. The service was "outstanding" from "all" of the staff. The outdoor pool is heated and there is plenty of pool seating, The grounds are well kept and there are several hammocks away from the pool area. It is a great place to vacation for families, couples, etc. We will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I can't say enough good about this resort. Beautiful resort. Clean. Couldn't ask for a nicer staff, very friendly & helpful...always a smile. Rms are a nice size..I had a 1 bdrm w/2 queens. Not cramped at all. Nicely decorated just like the picture shows. Bathrm is nice but a little small. Only cked out the main pool.....heated.....very nice. What food I ate there was good. This is definitely a great place to stay. Looks just like the pictures!

Room Tip: I would not want a view of the parking lot. I viewed the gardens. Nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We chose the Sonesta Resort for our 21st anniversary vacation. It was simply awe inspiring and amazing! Upon arrival, the most polite and helpful man greeted us with a "Welcome! We are so glad you are here, we've been looking forward to your visit!" This made us feel important and set the tone for the vacation. At the front desk, we met Denise, who was delightful, friendly, and knowledgeable, and gave us a wealth of information about the resort and what amenities were available. She gave us so much info, that we joked with her about maybe having to come back later and ask her again, because we didn't have anything with us to write all the info down. We immediately went to our room, which was a standard room with a view of the parking lot. Since we purchased our stay through Hotwire, this did not surprise us, and because the room was simply breathtaking, and so warm and cozy, we didn't mind. The room is decorated so beautifully, it was very, very clean, and the bathroom was gorgeous. We even joked with each other about how we were going to sneak the bed home with us, as it was the most comfortable bed I believe I have ever slept in. I am an extreme germaphobe and hotel beds usually send me over the edge, but not at the Sonesta....it was so clean and smelled so good. The pillows were exquisite, and we even brought a brochure home on how we can order some of their linens!

The property and grounds were GORGEOUS. They were well maintained and made us feel as if we were royalty. There was a heated pool that was wonderful, and the hammocks and rest areas around the gardens were something that I can only describe as deliciously delightful. There were outside "beds" for two, that were so comfortable, I could've spent my whole vacation right there. To access the beach, we walked through the most pristine and gorgeous gardens, so incredible. This resort has paid close attention to detail, and has not skimped out on a thing.

There were a few dining options, so we chose Heyward's, which was a sit down restaurant, where once again, we were treated like royalty. We had the breakfast buffet which was so delicious! It came complete with fruits and bagels, grits, scrambled eggs, waffles, bacon, hashbrowns, sausage links, oatmeal, and biscuits and gravy! Everything was so wonderfully prepared, and was kept warm and fresh for all of the guests. They also have an extensive menu, but mark my words, the buffet was worth it!!

We were sad to go, but even as we were packing our car, that same nice gentleman who greeted us told us, "We're so happy you came to visit us. We hope your stay was everything you dreamed of." He even helped us pack our vehicle, and waved so warmly as we drove away. I can only pray, that we get the chance to visit this amazing, elegant, comfortable, tranquil, and incredible resort again in the future.

Room Tip: Even though some rooms are listed as "oceanview" they may be more "gardenview" t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikesville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We visit Hilton Head every year on our way to Florida, always staying in a wonderful timeshare and decided to add to our stay with a few nights at the Sonesta- I think we are now addicted- not only a beautiful setting, great interior design and and elegant,spacious accommodations ; but also from the valet to the housekeeping staff- happy, welcoming employees were Everywhere ! The obvious harmony helps us relax and look forward to future visits- what a pleasure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa (Mesa County), Colorado
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Perfect stay at this super clean, friendly resort in a picture-perfect setting. Our immaculate room had comfy beds with nice linens and was very quiet. The free WiFi worked well.

The recently renovated resort has lovely grounds with a pool, pond and water features. A boardwalk offers an attractive view and short walk to the uncrowded beach (October). There is a calendar of hotel activities with a variety of things for kids if they tire of the pool and beach. Valet or free self-park available.

Staff is efficient and friendly -- from the bellman to bartender, reception staff, and housekeeping. Had dinner in the Heyward Dining Room due to lack of availability at our selected nearby restaurants. Food was pricey and average, but our waiter (originally from Syria) was terrific. Thanks also to Kevin Jones who retrieved a forgotten shirt and mailed it immediately to our home--all with a very cheerful, "nothing is too much trouble" attitude.

Wish we could have stayed longer. Would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A great property. Staff did a wonderful job, except breakfast staff (apparently kitchen) seemed slow. Very accommodating. Would recommend you provide your own bottled water if you want it as $4.00/bottle in the room is a bit much. Can bring your own beach chairs for enjoying the nice surf or rent on the beach. Liked that. Golf very nice. Enjoyed the shuttle to the Shipyard. Overall, it was a great visit, one we will do again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the Verizon Heritage Golf Tournament. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head hotels to island shopping, restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Fridays and Saturdays, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Beach Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.