We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island to your Saves list
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free 4 '15 Offer
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Allendale, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Not only was the island amazing, but so was the hotel. The ocean was very warm, about 80 degrees every day. The sand where the water goes up to high tide was hard, but where it didn't go, it was almost like powder. Usually, the pool was very crowded but the water was very warm too. We played golf twice at the Shipyard Plantation golf club, and the Clipper course was really nice. Some other things you can do besides golfing and swimming is biking (I highly recommend it), going for a run on the paths, ocean fishing, and looking for alligators. If you see any signs for alligators, they are actually telling the truth. In the ponds in the plantation there are real alligators. This resort is no doubt the #1 place to stay in Hilton Head.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are glad to hear the weather was nice during your stay. It certainly does make a difference when you are vacationing on an island where outdoor activities are very popular! Yes, we are in the south and you may encounter a few alligators around the lagoon and yes, they are real. It is true then you see the sign “Do not feed the alligators” so please follow the sign! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    245
    53
    18
    7
See reviews for
336
476
27
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This is one beautiful resort. Everything you need or want in a beach getaway is here for you. Large beach, gorgeous pool, hammocks, water fountains, bikes, ping-pong, cabanas, outdoor showers, and beautiful manicured landscaping.
Room is spacious and highly upgraded.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This resort is both classy and modern. It is very clean and well maintained. The pool area is nicely laid out and the beach is only a short walk from behind the hotel. We had two double beds, and the room size was average. The enitre staff of the hotel were all very helpful and friendly. The concierge was very helpful in picking out the best restaurants and for finding activites for our family. Loved it! We will definitely be back to stay at the Sonesta!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Sonesta was a fabulous place to celebrate our 40th birthday girls weekend celebration. First I must comment on the customer service. Front desk, doormen/bell service, bar/restaurant, pool area and all staff were lovely, professional and so friendly.

Our room had some AC issues... it keep shutting off. Twice in the middle of the night and once during the day. It was "fixed" twice. And third time we moved rooms. This was offered immediately 1st time, but when it was fixed the first time we thought it would be fine so stayed. What I must say, is that the staff and managers went above and beyond to ensure that any and all the inconveniences were clearly noted by them but forgotten by us. Lisa and David were two managers that clearly know how to take of their customers. It was not just the complimentary elements that we received, but also how they delivered it. We left knowing that we will return...together or with families.
A spa day was also part of our getaway, and it was amazing. The pedicures by Renee were fabulous. I was so relaxed and pampered. Best ever! (AND this was not part of any comp'd services from our AC issues...this was already planned. Just a luxurious experience).
Food was great for lunch and dinner. We stayed in on one rainy night. Hotel was lovely, spacious, new and clean. Easy walk to beach with our coolers and beach "gear" for the day. In room Keurig is awesome touch for both coffee and tea drinkers. I do wish the mini fridges had the freezer section too, that is always a necessity at the beach, but that is my only suggestion. Just couldn't freeze a few things/ice packs etc and needed much ice to keep some wine chilled in our room. But not a complaint. Actual ocean view is minimal, but the grounds are gorgeous and true Hilton Head style.
We usually stay at the Marriott's Barony, but the Sonesta HH is an excellent resort that I will return to again! Thanks!

Room Tip: Garden view or Ocean Horizon is best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was very pleased with everything about the newly renovated Sonesta Resort. It was right on the beach; had a large pool with plenty of seating and umbrellas; staff in all areas of the resort were professional and extremely nice; and the breakfast and dinner buffets were extremely delicious and well worth the money. Having the option to valet or self-park was also nice. The rooms were spacious and the functional balconies were a nice touch. I would definitely stay at this resort in the future

Room Tip: Pay the upgraded fee for a garden view. It is well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This resort is fantastic, from you pull up to the front you realize that this is not just your run of the mill hotel... The entrance is open and very well decorated. Everything flows into each other and you can tell that everything is new... The rooms are average size and the bathrooms are average also, but they are clean and modern...The access to the Beach is perfect and the grounds are amazing... No complaints here, the restaurant and the resort fees can add up but it was expected after reading some of the reviews prior to booking... The location is on the Shipyard, which is home to several other properties but the Sonesta has the prime access to the Beach.... Loved it and will return soon...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Sonesta, wow, first off, despite the weather on our stay, we had a great time at your resort. My husband and I drove all day with our two kids til we finally arrived at this resort, and BOY was it ever a warm welcome! When we were greeted at the front doors we instantly felt at home. Even the doorman sang songs with our 3 year old which really made her happy after a 6 hour car ride :) upon entering the hotel we quickly checked in and took in the sights of the lobby, bar, pool, gift shop and more. After finding our room, which was so classy and tastefully decorated, we got the kids set up in their places and I'm happy to say there was MORE than enough room with king bed and pullout sofa. We only were able to stay one night, but boy, you can bet my husband and I will be back time and time again to enjoy all this resort has to offer!!! The only complaint I have is the room noise from our neighbors above us, but even that was hardly an issue. So fortunate for the hospitality and accommodations of Sonesta. Beautiful renovations! WELL WORTH THE MONEY :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the Verizon Heritage Golf Tournament. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head hotels to island shopping, restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Fridays and Saturdays, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Beach Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.