We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HEY! HERE'S ONE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island to your Saves list
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
GreenLeadersGold level
PrettyPls
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“HEY! HERE'S ONE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

As a meeting & events planner I was with my friend to help her make a final decision on what hotel she would use to host her annual Ladies Time Out Reteat. She had narrowed her long list down to two. Sonesta being one and the other was a large ocean front hotel.
This was my first visit so let me start by - WOW - the entire staff remembered and greeted her by name even though it had been several months since she had last visited - GREAT first impression!
What you need to know is this resort does not sit directly on the beach, unlike the other hotel she was considering. Nevertheless, you can walk from the pool to the beach in less then 5 minutes and several of the rooms offer a beautiful, slightly obstructive, palm tree lined view of the ocean horizon, which quite frankly adds to the overall beauty and ambience of the resort. So please believe me when I say, while ocean front can be nice, at times it can be a little over-rated when you come across treasures like the Sonesta. I sincerely felt like I had been transported to Jamaica and was staying at a boutique hotel.
The resort has been recently renovated and you can tell they spared no expense. It's open and light with a contemporary vibe. The beautiful lobby sitting area has a wonderful inviting livingroom feel that organically sparks conversation among guests. It boast a spectacular full service bar in the lobby made of drift wood unlike anything you have seen before. This bar screams "come have a drink and leave your worries behind". Which by the way if you do have a drink you MUST try their signature blood orange mojito! In a word - SCRUMPTIOUS!!! There are windows that line the back wall of the lobby giving you full view of the pools, the pool side bar named Sweet Canes, and an outside restaurant, the Seacrest all surrounded by its' immaculate grounds.
The grounds have a private club house and several covered pavilions for that perfect wedding, event, or party, all surrounded by small lakes which are home to a ton of adorable turtles. There are hammocks & cabanas for lazy days, as well as bicycles for the more active. If you like to walk, the grounds are perfect for that too, as paths are lined with tropical foilage. Adding to the overall charm are cute walk way bridges taking you over the small man made lakes, or leading you to the beach.
Check in was smooth. We stayed one full day & one night, and our room was just as we expected - perfect. It was extremely clean. The decor was fresh & contemporary. The bed was super comfortable. The bathroom was just as nice. Not too small and not real large. Two average size adults can fit nicely. The room came with a very nice size flat screen SMART TV! There was also the usual chair and desk. As for outlets they were everywhere, so no running out after plugging in one cell phone and a laptop!
The Sonesta is family friendly, but it has more of an adult only feel. Perhaps because the few children that were present, their parents kept them under control. There was none of that running around and screaming that you would normally experience at a family friendly hotel. This was very nice!
We ate lunch, dinner, and breakfast at both the Seacrest and the Hayward, which are two of the 3 resort restaurants. The food was delicious and the service was top notched, warm, friendly, attentive, but not too overbearing. The hostess Diane was just as warm and inviting. On our first day we tried to grab an early evening snack at the Sweet Canes, but were unable to because they were closing. However, they did offer to make us a drink which we passed on because we really needed to eat first.
My only complaint about the restaurants: Sweet Canes closes at 630 p.m. which is entirely too early to be pool side and room service doesn't exist after 1100 p.m.
As for meeting space, after meeting with the General Manager, Jay Windel and spending an afternoon with Meeting Sales Manager, Tracy Fritzgerald, it became quite clear that Sonesta had so much to offer. Each meeting space is perfectly appointed for your corporate board meeting to your platinum wedding, to a relaxing retreat event, the Sonesta can handle it all. Not to leave out their salon & spa which is the perfect spot for some perfect "me" time.
After my personal experience from our stay and the tour my mind was made up. The Sonesta was the perfect venue for The Ladied Time Out Retreat! With that being said, my girlfriend agreed and she sealed the deal!





  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Sonesta Resort! Our employees strive to please all of our guests, and we are glad that we have impressed you. We are also glad to hear that you have enjoyed our recent renovations. Thank you as well for mentioning our relaxing outdoor area. Come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    202
    39
    15
    7
See reviews for
292
400
20
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Let me leave you with this: There is no better hotel to stay on this island than the newly renovated Sonesta. My husband and our two grade-school aged boys came down with initial reservations at the Omni, lured by the upgrades, which despite promising a "rejuvenation" had run down rooms and hallways. Such is the sad case with a lot of hotels on the island. With people coming so often, most hotels haven't bothered putting money into renewing their facilities.
We immediately checked out and, desperate, I saw the reviews on the Sonesta. This place saved our vacation. We walked into the GORGEOUS modern lobby and it was like a breath of fresh air. Thank goodness they accommodated us for our 8 night stay.

1. The rooms- modern but cozy decor, clean and crisp, have mini fridge, smelled good, soothing colors. Soft duvet and plush beds. We had a great view of the pool and manicured grounds.

2. The restaurants: Bountiful breakfast buffet every AM at Haywards. Good food at each the pool bar, lobby lounge, and restaurant. Amazing Sunday Brunch!

3. The service: The staff here surpassed staff at all other hotels we've stayed at HH: Thank you front desk staff Eric, Anca, Chloe, James, and our housekeeper Desseth who were over-accommodating and friendly. And our friendly lobby and waitstaff as well as front door guys...they were all wonderful.

4. The grounds: Wonderful clean indoor and outdoor pool and pool bar, stylish cabanas and sitting areas reminiscent of South Beach Miami, overlooking the pretty lake in the middle. Nicely manicured grounds. Pretty walkways and greens going in and around the facility and throughout the development of Shipyard.

5. The beach- lovely beach with rentals just steps from the hotel.

6. The Extras and Location: The spa is beautiful (though I can;t rate this bc I didnt receive any services). They have a kids club and activities too. Turtle feeding was fun! Van Der Meer Tennis is right next door and is world remowned, Shipyard golf down the street, bike rentals, decent exercise room. Location is central to everything on the island.

6.Overall feel: Imagine Miami-modern and classiness combined with the lowcountry feel and friendliness of South Carolina. That is the Sonesta.
There is no better hotel on this island (trust me, we've been coming long enough to know!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Sonesta Resort for your visit to Hilton Head! We are also glad to hear that you have enjoyed the pool area, as well as our food and drinks. Our entire staff strives to give our guests the best customer service possible. We are excited to hear we have become your go to place on Hilton Head!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

First time stay at this resort.. although have stayed in Hilton Head many times...Very friendly staff from check in to check out..Very clean and updated rooms, be aware of the auto night light that goes on when you get out of bed in middle of night nice feature..great friday night seafood buffet

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Sonesta Resort. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed our recent renovations. We are committed to providing our guests with great customer service, and we are glad to hear that they have made a positive impression on you. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We cannot wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Sonesta did it right with the renovation. From the motion activated night lights to the alarm clocks with the ipod charger. This place is fantastic. Anyone who has any negative comments about this resort is a miserable person. You're on vacation. Relax. Leave the negativity at home! No place for that stuff on HHI.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments about our resort! We are so glad you have enjoyed our recent renovations. Our staff appreciates your kind words and will continue to strive to please our guests. We are also very pleased that you were able to relax at the spa during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a great 4 days at the Sonesta Resort. While we typically stay away from full service resorts, this was a perfect balance....all of the amenities, without being over the top. Beautiful beach (with rental chairs/umbrella provided by the lifeguards), pool area that was not overly crowded, and a newly remodeled, clean, and modern room. Check-In was a breeze, and Eric was extremely helpful to recommend a few things on HHI. Our only complaint was the service at the restaurants. Both experiences were poor, although the food was fine for the very reasonable prices. Quick drive to other commercial areas on the island made this a wonderful place to stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We are excited to hear you enjoyed your stay at our full service resort! We are excited about our newly renovated property and appreciate your feedback regarding the cleanliness of our resort. We are proud to hear Eric, our Guest Services Representative was able to greet you with excellent service. Our staff strives to provide exceptional service at all times, therefore frequent service training is performed. Your word of praise will go a long way in recognizing their efforts. We apologize for our shortcomings in our restaurants and will be sure to make immediate improvements. Thank you again for your excellent review and we can not wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We just came back from a great stay at Sonesta Resort. The place is immaculate, so clean and beautiful. It was a great vacation. The staff was super, very attentive and nice. "My pleasure" was what I heard after almost every interaction especially with the front desk. I highly recommend it. I do have two somewhat negatives: 1) the water pressure in the bathroom was not very strong. It is just ok. The other was that my room was advertised as "Ocean Horizon View" however I could not see the ocean as trees were in the way. The view from the balcony overlooked the beautiful pool and grounds so it was not bad at all however I thought I had paid more to view the ocean. When I asked the staff offered to move us to the 4th floor for a better view but we had just settled down with all our stuff and did not feel like moving. So if you are interested in Ocean view, make sure you get a room higher than 3rd floor.
The place was so clean which for me is top priority. Unfortunately the weather did not cooperate as it rained the second day and was calling for rain today so we left a day early. I would stay there again if we decide to visit Hilton Head again.

Room Tip: Pick a room on 4th flour or higher to see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you very much for you wonderful review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to consistently create a memorable vacation experience and we appreciate your acknowledgement regarding the service provided throughout your stay. For future reservations please feel free to contact us directly for the best room location. There are several view types to choose from and our Guest Services Representatives will be happy to assist you for the best selection. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel used to be another brand, but I applaud the company that has taken it over. The inside lobby has been updated and the grounds are well taken care of. The bar at the pool offers cold drinks and good food. We enjoyed eating at the pool bar almost as much as other restaurants. The staff is always friendly at the bar and they are attentive. The guest services group is well trained and treat you like you are important. The hotel itself sits right at the beach and it is convenient. Just a note, in the summer there is a mixture of children, families and a few business conferences so it can be a mish-mash at times. Also there are probably more bicycles parked at this hotel than there are cars. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay, especially the acknowledgment towards our guest services staff for their attentiveness. We are fortunate to be located in a gated community with direct beach access to keep away from the busy public beach access area. We are glad to hear you were able to enjoy time. We look forward to welcoming you back and we would appreciate you sharing your comments with your friends and family! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the Verizon Heritage Golf Tournament. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head hotels to island shopping, restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Fridays and Saturdays, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Beach Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.