We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and Enjoy.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pay Now and Save
Ranked #1 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relax and Enjoy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed for a weekend at the Sonesta Resort on Hilton Head Island. Neither of us had ever been to Hilton Head so we had to base our choice on all of the really positive reviews they already had. Sonesta is basically brand new after an extensive renovation within the last few years. Their pool is a superbly relaxing area with a bar and grill as well. We probably spent an entire day just reading, soaking, and counting our tan lines.

There are also plenty of extras you can partake in at the resort. Rental bikes, excursions, and lots of family friendly activities for kids. Plus a great spa and massage area upstairs which we both recommend.

Their food is also very well done at both of their main restaurants off the lobby.

Overall, we came back from our trip refreshed and ready for the rest of the year. They provided a much needed vacation.

Room Tip: The pool area can be loud at night so do not stay off the pool courtyard if you want to sleep early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    505
    131
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
211
272
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canfield, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The renovations that have been made to this hotel are fantastic! The lobby and pool are beautiful. Not exactly on the beach, but just a very short walk. Lunch by the pool was very good and reasonably priced. Rented bikes are available next to the pool. They had live music by the pool, very enjoyable. Brought 2 teenagers with us and they cannot wait to go back. Front desk was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We appreciate your kind words about our recent renovation. We are also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at the pool area. The front desk appreciates your comments as well, and we are glad that we left a positive impression with you. Thank you again for sharing your excitement about the resort, and we hope that you come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Enjoyed our stay very much. Easy access to beach is real nice. The pool is family friendly. On Friday night they showed a movie on a big screen for the kids while they enjoyed the pool. I understand they just had a $30 million renovation. Others that had stayed there before were amazed at the great changes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at this resort one year ago and wanted to circle back with an update. At that time I found this to be a functional but relatively modest property but I was aware Sonesta has planned a multi-million dollar renovation project last winter. Two words: Mission Accomplished! The color scheme is terrific, in the rooms, in the pool area, lobby, throughout the entire property. Cabanas being available on a first-come, first-served basis is a nice amenity. Loved the 46-inch HDTV in the room, and it's the first time I've seen motion sensor floor nightlights, an excellent convenience. This is a total makover and is now the equal of the other three resorts on the island. Excellent location in the heart of Hilton Head. I liked what they did with the bar, moving it to the open space of the lobby so even when it's not crowded you don't get a sense it is necessarily "empty" like the perception you'd receive in its previous stand-alone location. The owenership group conducted its due diligence and the results speak for themselves. The only reasons I am not giving this 5 stars is because there is only one bak of elevators and if guests are assigned rooms on the outer periphery (as we were) it can be quite a walk. Also, the exterion stairwells and stairwell signage could use refreshing. Otherwise, congrats to Sonesta, we'll stay there again. Great staff too.

Room Tip: Ask to be nearthe lone bank of elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Was overall pleased with resort and decor. Nice modern decor. Our TV in our room kept not working but we finally got it to work. The pool is nice and beach was beautiful. Wish you didn't have to pay for seats on the beach kinda dumb. Also should of had more places to get towels maybe on the beach too. The outside patio areas were very comfy and nice to sit on outside in the evening. We ate at the restaurant in hotel first evening not impressed. Loved the snow cone and hot dog stand very convenient if you didn't wanna come all the way back in from the resort. Would go back good quality for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and your very helpful feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Sonesta Resort. There are still a few improvements to be made, as we are a new resort. Your comments are greatly appreciated, as they help us maintain our Four-Diamond standards. We hope to see you again for your next visit to Hilton Head!
Thank you again, The Sonesta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a beautiful resort with both sun and shade pools and less then a blocks walk to the beach. Room was large and well appointed. Staff was very friendly. Gift shop had a nice assortment of items. Food seemed a little expensive. We only had a flatbread at the hotel. it was okay but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Sonesta Resort! We are delighted to hear that James and Monica were able to leave you with a positive impression. We strive to go above and beyond for our guests here at the resort. We appreciate your feedback regarding the bathroom hangers, as we are always looking for ways to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The renovations are very nice. The rooms have 2 queen beds which is very nice when traveling with children. I know people have said that the chair in the room opens to a single bed. I found out the hard way that is not the case in every room so we had to request a roll away at 10PM. They gladly brought it and did not charge for it but they came without any blankets. The woman who brought it seemed surprised that "Yes" I do want you to go all the way back down and bring me a blanket for my teenager. The pool was nice and seemed clean and the staff was very pleasant. All of the restaurants have very slow service. We ate the the pool bar and Heywards- the food is good, just don't wait until you're starving to order.

Room Tip: We were FAR from the elevator so we mostly used the stairs from the third floor which put us right b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and helpful comments. We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Sonesta Resort. There are still some improvements to be made, as we are a new resort, and will definitely take your feedback and tips into consideration. We hope you stay with us again and we ensure you that your stay will be excellent.
Thank you again, The Sonesta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the Verizon Heritage Golf Tournament. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head hotels to island shopping, restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Fridays and Saturdays, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Beach Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.