We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fully Renovated, but very pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pay Now and Save
Ranked #1 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fully Renovated, but very pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed here in the past. This year it had been totally renovated and updated, that's the good news. The bad news is last year, I paid $130 a night, this year $269 plus a$16 per day resort fee.
I love the location, just a 5 minute walk to the beach. However, if you travel by plane, you can't bring beach chairs. Day 1 on the beach was $20 to rent 2 beach chairs plus 1 umbrella, the following days leading up to the 4th was $32. The staff was very nice and helpful. The on-site restaurant was very good. Overall, this is a really nice hotel but I feel it is priced to high for what you get. Also, my room had a tiny balcony with a view of the parking lot.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden or ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are happy to hear you felt the staff was nice and your dining experience was enjoyable in our restaurant. With a $30million dollar renovation, our rates are set higher than previous years, however we are confident our product and services support our decision. We see that you were able to take advantage of the beach chair rentals provided by the life guards. They have worked with the resorts on the island to enable charge back to hotel rooms for your convenience. We are glad you found the resort accessible from the beach and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    519
    133
    30
    8
    1
See reviews for
219
275
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel. All staff was very nice. Sweet Cane's is by the pool with delicious food and drinks. Our four year old daughter loved the pool. The short walk to the beach was nice with a little one. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your excellent rating on our resort!! We are excited to hear your stay was complimented by the staff, delicious food and drinks! We look forward to expanding our menu and hope you have a chance to come back and visit again! Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jekyll Island, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife, son and I stayed at this lovely property while in Hilton Head for the Georgia Bar meeting on June 21 and 22, 2013.

The hotel has recently undergone a $30 million renovation according to the friendly desk clerk who checked us in. This was our very first visit to this hotel so we cannot compare the before and after. But, the after is splendid. Our room was very nicely appointed and the beds were super comfy. The sparkling bath was nicely designed and appointed.

We ate dinner on Friday night and breakfast on Sunday morning at the hotel restaurant. The food served at both meals was a bit slow in arriving but was well worth the wait. We had a chance to speak with the chef and complimented him on a great menu, fabulous preparation and very nice presentation. We were happy to see him because we really wanted to let someone know just how pleased we were with the restaurant.

The grounds, swimming pool, exercise room, etc., etc., were very nice. The lobby was most inviting with beautifully designed and comfortable furniture throughout. Same holds true with regard to furniture appointments inside and outside the building. Being on the water and an easy walk to the ocean truly completes the atmosphere of this upscale feeling property. One of us had an 80 minute massage in the spa! It was fab!,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Sonesta’s goal is to deliver Food is Art to our guests. Thank you for taking the time to personally tell our Chef regarding the excellent presentation and preparation. We are also glad to hear you enjoyed our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back for some more relaxing and pampering stay in the near future! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Loved it!! We were impressed with the modern accommodations and the friendly staff. Beautiful Resort. Would definitely go back. Beds reminded me of the Ritz ; so comfy!! Pool area was amazing. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We are very excited to hear you enjoyed our new décor and the beds in our room. The bedding is available for purchase if you are interested so please contact us if you wish. We place great emphasis on creating a memorable experience for our guests and we are happy to hear you had an amazing stay. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The evening Front office staff was quite hospitable especially Frank who worked the evening when I checked in. The doormen made us feel very welcomed. What a beautiful resort! Thank you for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you very much for recognizing our Front Office staff, especially Frank. Your positive comments go a long way in recognizing our staff for a job well done. We are also glad to hear our doormen were able to greet you with a warm welcome and to be a part of your vacation experience! We are glad to hear you had a wonderful vacation and look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We just stayed at the Sonesta Resort. The hotel was recently remodeled and they did a fantastic job. The hotel has a perfectly fine beach area but the real attraction is that the hotel is directly on a beautiful section of the beach. Service is what really stands out at the Sonesta. All the staff was great. However our highlight was the Executive Chef Nelly. He is an expert on all types of South American foods. He made our family an awesome authentic mexican dinner. We basically told him what types of food we liked (e.g., seafood, chicken) and he created an amazing spread of different appetizers, entrees and a desert. One of the best dining experiences I have ever had - especially at a hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review regarding your recent experience at the Sonesta Resort. The beach is certainly gorgeous on Hilton Head and we are fortunate to be located in such a beautiful area. We are glad to hear Chef Nelly was able to create a memorable dining experience customized to your stay. We truly believe in making a difference in each guests’ stay and your comments will be shared with our team as one of our success stories. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Amazing doesn't describe the New Sonesta Resort. We were shocked when we saw all of the Great changes. The new look is awesome, comfortable, shiek, and very reasonable. We love the friendliness of the staff, the housekeeping department is AWESOME, and the amenities complete the picture. We will be back. Adored it as Crowne Plaza, but this is beyond our expectations and we LOVE this hotel. See you next year!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback regarding our staff! Since our grand opening, it has been our mission to ensure all guests receive nothing but excellent service. We have received many positive feedbacks about our new décor and we are so excited to hear you loved it as well! Thank you for your loyalty to our property and we look forward to welcoming you back every year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the Verizon Heritage Golf Tournament. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head hotels to island shopping, restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Fridays and Saturdays, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Beach Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.