We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pay Now and Save
Ranked #1 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Snellville, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We came to the hotel for a conference - Staff, food, accomodations, pool and beach were great! The only issue were long walks to and from our room to the elevators. Renovations had just been completed
on the hotel and our phone was not working, but the 2nd day that we were there, someone was sent to
program the phone. Room was very quiet, motion detected night lights, which were great when you got up in the middle of the night and nice size TV.

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to the elevator - our room was located a good distance from the elevator and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback about our all new hotel. We are happy you enjoyed every element of your stay, from the friendly and helpful staff, beautiful accommodations and pool area as well as the nearby beach. Our property is designed with the intent to offer as many rooms as possibly with pristine ocean views, therefore some of the hallways to the outside rooms may be longer than expected. Next time you visit, please feel free to request a room closer to the elevators and our front desk staff will be happy to assist you. Thank you for your understanding with the re-programing of your phone. We are glad you appreciated the motion activated floor lights and our Samsung Smart TVs. We can’t wait to have you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    508
    131
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
212
272
13
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Sonesta is an amazing resort with top notch service and amenities to match. We were able to check in early and added a 4th night because we did not want to leave. The zero entry pool was perfect for our 2 year old. Everything including the rooms were spotless. The food at the pool bar for lunch and Heywards for dinner was delicious and so fresh. We would go off the resort for dinner and regret not staying at the resort. Omar gave us great service at the restaurant and brought out a fruit plate for our daughter for dessert. The bartenders were always friendly along with the front desk. Prices were in line with being in a hotel and considering the top quality of the food and drinks. The grounds were gorgeous with bridges leading to the beach. The live music at the pool was great. I can't express enough how clean this resort is which was so important to us when traveling with a 2 year old. We plan to return in July. We found our new go to resort in Hilton Head, the Westin doesn't stand a chance!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of our resort. Omar is one of our fantastic team members in our food and beverage department, and we will let him know of your kind praise. We are glad you enjoyed our delicious food and beverage delights at Heywards and Sweet Cane. Our live music selections definitely enhance the outdoor spaces of the hotel. We are glad to hear such positive feedback about our zero entry pool. We love being your new go to resort on Hilton Head Island, and can’t wait to have you back in July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We first booked a room for 4 nights for me, my husband and our 2 granddaughters. My husband had a business meeting at this resort. We thought we would go earlier and spend 2 nights in Savannah before going to HHI. After thinking about having to unpack and repack we decided to just add the 2 nights to our Sonesta reservations to avoid the hassle. I called a few days before leaving and made reservations for our 2 extra nights and made it perfectly clear that we wanted to be sure and stay in the same room for the entire 6 nights. The gentleman that took my reservations said that would not be a problem...same room entire stay! Once we checked in, Frank checked and said he wasn't sure he could put us in a room for the entire stay and he called Kelli over to take a look. She worked it out and said we would keep the same room for the 6 nights. Once we got to the room, the manager called and said we could only stay in that room for 2 nights and then we would be moved to another room for the other 4 nights. Not happy! We lived out of our suitcases for 2 nights to avoid all of the unpacking and repacking to move which is what I was trying to avoid to start with. The best part of the trip was meeting Charlie. He was so nice and gave great recommendations for great places to eat and places to take the grand kids!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for offering your feedback about the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are delighted you decided to spend some extra time with us outside of your business meeting dates. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience with your room change. We strive to make all of our guests as comfortable as possible during their stay. We are in the process of ensuring all of our reservation and front office communication streams are perfectly functioning and that the proper training is being administered. Thank you for your kind comments about Charlie, we will definitely forward him your praise. Before your next visit, please contact our hotel directly so that we may ensure that your visit is perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Came here for a convention, one of two held at the resort the same week. The pros: AMAZING customer service, great pool, great rooms, beautiful beach. The cons: New resort still working HARD to get it right. We had to wait an hour after check in time for our room. It was not cleaned; refrigerator with left overs and dirty, counter tops not wiped with sticky rings on them, HOWEVER when we reported this to the manager they not only cleaned this up, they left us a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries with a cheese and cracker tray, they then called to make sure our room was satisfactory. The room was spotlessly cleaned every day of the four days we were there. Wonderful resort for conventions with great children's programs, beautiful gardens and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding our customer service and renovations. We are always appreciative of positive comments about the beautiful structural adaptations, but more importantly we wish to hear of how well we are taking care of our guests. This review will be given to our Director of Housekeeping, to ensure that the proper training has been administered where necessary to make sure every element of each room is pristine. We are happy you were pleased with such a delightful recovery of delectable treats preceded by a personal follow up. Thank you for complementing our overall resort complete with lush tropical grounds, Just Us Kids, and a myriad of delicious restaurants. Before your next visit, do let us know ahead of time so that we may perfectly prepare for your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I went for a long weekend to hilton head and the Sonesta was a features deal on a website! When we arrived they had our room ready ahead of schedule and were very accommodating! The concierge service and front desk staff were great, recommending restaurants/activities and even helping out with reservations! Good beach access and pool area! I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would go back myself!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your esteemed review of our property. We love hosting last minute guests that have the opportunity to be truly wowed by our resort and staff. Our concierge and front desk teams are always happy and ready to help with any type of need or inquiry. Our outdoor oasis and pool areas feature family friendly elements with Sweet Cane offering delectable food and beverage choices. The proximity to the beach is perfectly nearby. Thank you for recommending us to others. We can’t wait to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Sonesta on Hilton Head for four nights. The resort has undergone a complete renovation and the common areas and the rooms are absolutely gorgeous! Every staff member we encountered was accommodating and genuinely pleasant! I had multiple treatments at the spa and would highly recommend their signature massage! I also loved the fact that one resort fee was charged and that included the Wi-fi, the beach towels, the pool towels, parking , etc. Being from Boston, I was familiar with the Sonesta brand and they certainly did not disappoint with this new property in SC!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic feedback regarding your recent stay. We love that you enjoyed and appreciated the renovated common areas and guest room spaces. We are extremely proud of how pleasantly and happily you were treated by our entire staff. Arum Spa offers incredible services, and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your massage and would like to recommend the spa to others. Our resort offers you excellent amenities daily. We are always excited about hearing of our guests becoming acquainted with the Sonesta brand and our individual properties, each with their own unique look and feel. We can’t wait to have you back to visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My huband and I chose this resort for our 5 anniversary vacation. We enjoyed ourselves from the moment we got there and did not want to leave. When we arrived we immediately got a delicious drink at the pool bar and walked around admiring the scenery. We then went to our room and went to our balcony that offered a beautiful view of the beach. We took the short walk past the pool to the beach and swam in the ocean. This became our daily routine fast. We ended up borrowing bikes from our friends that lived close by and loved the easy access to the bike paths that offered views of the pretty golf
course. We didn't have a bike lock and the hotel
offered a complimentary lock to use during our stay. The
staff was always friendly and helpful. We ate at the
pool bar Sweetcane more than
once and enjoyed the tasty food. Each night we enjoyed the hot tub, which was never crowded. We also hung out on the hammock and looked at the stars. Our last day there we were able to extend our checkout and ate at Heywards for a breakfast buffet that was delicious. We are already discussing our return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your glowing 5 star review of our hotel. We are pleased you were able to appreciate every element of our resort, from dining on delicious food in Sweet Cane and Heyward’s, to lounging and relaxing in the hot tub, nearby ocean, and hammocks. Shipyard is a perfect bike friendly area to go for a ride, and we are pleased you were accommodated so perfectly with a complimentary lock to use during your anniversary celebration. Thank you for your positive feedback, we look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the Verizon Heritage Golf Tournament. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head hotels to island shopping, restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Fridays and Saturdays, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Beach Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.