We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Difference a Crowd Makes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
GreenLeadersBronze level
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a Difference a Crowd Makes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Go to Hilton Head several times a year, and the difference in the hotel between peak and off-peak is astonishing.

Off-peak you can enjoy what makes Hilton Head so popular: golf, nice weather, broad beaches. Peak season brings just too many (in my opinion) people to everything. The Westin suffers the same way.

Off-peak, the pool and hotel are manageable. During peak weeks, the pool is packed to the gills mostly with children and families. The bar above the pool is great, but they stop serving at 10. (It's in a courtyard of sorts and would be potentially disruptive to guests with rooms around.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing feedback on your enjoyable visit to The Westin last October. Delighted to know you experienced very nice fall weather as well as our beautiful golf courses and awesome beach. It is always our intent to provide guests with a renewing escape throughout the year, and our resort destination is also very popular during the peak spring and summer seasons by guests who enjoy the incredible weather and amenities during that time. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing getaway in the near future.
- Tim Freisen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    156
    49
    11
    12
See reviews for
206
203
8
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My fiancé and I celebrated my birthday at the Westin Hilton Head Resort & Spa this weekend, and we had the most wonderful time there! With free and easy parking, a convenient ocean front property and standout guest services, we truly enjoyed our stay! The hotel was so refreshing, smelled cool and citrusy, was extremely clean. There was a museum on the 2nd level of the hotel (which was good because we wanted to know more about the island without having the task of finding tour guides and putting much fuss into it). We visited the restaurant for lunch and was very pleased! We also indulged in spa treatments that left us SOOO relaxed and pampered. Westin Hilton Head is going to be our "spot" from here on out!

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing you had a wonderful birthday celebration weekend at The Westin. Delighted that you enjoyed many resort amenities, including a pleasant lunch at the Carolina Room restaurant and a relaxing Heavenly Spa visit. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon for another romantic and renewing getaway.
- Tim Freisen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent four wonderful days at this Westin Oceanfront resort. The grounds are lovely as is the beach and there is valet parking if you wish on your arrival. The parking lot is right in front of the resort which makes transport very easy. There is a charming uncluttered lobby & friendly staff at your service everywhere in this hotel. Every staff member we encountered greeted us warmly & with a smile.
There are 3 elevators & they are fast: excellent.
The rooms are spacious; we had one overlooking the garden, which was perfect—lots of greenery, a fountain & trees right outside our window. There was also a very private balcony with 2 chairs & small table. Our room had a king bed, a sofa, fridge, coffeemaker, TV & internet service. It was very comfortable.
The Marriott offers a Green Option, in which guests may choose not to have daily maid service & instead receive a $5 coupon to be used at one of their restaurants . We tried that option & it worked very well for us. The Housekeeping staff was easily found when I needed fresh towels, more tea bags or instructions as to how to use the corkscrew.
There were 2 options open for us for dining: the Carolina Café, we ate a delightful breakfast & lunch there. The café is open for dinner too. As well, adjacent to the lobby, there is a small ‘on the go’ restaurant called Ingredients. Guests can sit at the small tables there to enjoy their foods/ beverages or take the items to go. Some items (sandwiches, chopped fruit, cold drinks) are already packaged for purchase—sort of like a convenience store—but fresher. Sandwiches & paninis can also be made to order at the counter.
The Ballroom is beautiful, spacious & has an excellent dance floor. The hotel provided complimentary ice water & coffee/tea to the guests in the Ballroom.
Although the days were cool & we were there off season, 2 of the pools were heated very warmly & we used them! Deck chairs & fresh towels were numerous. We also borrowed bikes from the hotel & had a great ride around the Hilton Head area using the bike/walking paths. This entire property is handicapped accessible; ramps are in the parking lot and the pool areas. As well there is a special chair lift to get disabled guests into the heated covered pool.
I was so pleased to meet International Students working at the Resort: a very helpful young man from North London at the Front Desk & lovely Irish girl in the restaurants. Lauren was her name & she was a delight. Well done Westin in getting this charming gal in your Exchange program.
Available at the hotel there was a convenience store, a Kid’s Club & a gym, none of which we used.
This Resort is high quality, wonderful & I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your complimentary feedback regarding your perfect four day stay at The Westin. I was delighted to know that you enjoyed an array of resort amenities as well as our wonderful restaurants. We certainly appreciate knowing our staff was friendly and helpful as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service; especially glad to know Lauren ensured you were well cared for. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another rejuvenating escape.
- Tim Freisen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice beachfront location and many services. Is very nice in the winter off-season and hectic in summer. Have stayed maybe 5 time over 15 years and if you are SPG member or have status all the negatives folks gripe about are non issues. I really like this hotel, but it is large enough that during summer, you'll probably have a complaint or two as with all massive resorts. One fine Westin.

Room Tip: Pay up for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing feedback, as one of our valued repeat SPG guests, that The Westin is a very nice beachfront resort. It is great to know you especially enjoy visiting in the winter season. Our resort is a very popular destination in the peak summer season with guests enjoying numerous activities, restaurants/bars, 3 beautiful pools, and our awesome beach. At any time of the year, it is always our intent for guests to have a rejuvenating and renewing experience enjoying our numerous resort amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing and relaxing stay.
- Tim Freisen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Been going here for 5 years. Everything has changed for the worst. Paid for an ocean view room and was only able to see a small slither of the ocean. Only 2 wait staff by the pool to serve at least 100 people. Had to keep going to the bar to request food and drinks. No chairs available near the pool. Tons of people there that weren't guests but were able to sneak in because they no longer have a security guard. Housekeeping began knocking on our door every hour from 8am-12am on the day we were to switch rooms. Our new room wasn't even available until the early afternoon. Front desk checked us out of our room at 8am without our knowledge. Husband couldn't use the wifi for an important work related call because his wifi code didn't work on the day they checked us out of our room at 8am. Waited on hold to talk to someone about the wifi problems for over 10 minutes. Kids goggles were stolen at the pool. Mold on the bathroom ceiling. Broken phone in first room No outside door handle to the sliding glass door because it had been broken off. Husband and daughter were stung by jellyfish in the ocean directly behind the hotel. Guest (primarily young children) were getting stung by jellyfish every evening after we had realized what was going on. Staff refused to post anything to warn guests that the jellyfish were extremely active behind the hotel. We felt horrible for all of the screaming and crying children. This used to be a very nice hotel. Mostly professionals, their families and often their nannies. It was awful. We will never return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for sharing your perspective on your stay last summer at The Westin. It is always our intent for our guests to have a renewing and relaxing stay, and most guests last July relayed they had an outstanding stay based on guest satisfaction surveys. I was glad to know our Front Desk Manager personally assisted you and provided a complimentary upgrade while honoring your request for connecting guest rooms. However, when you extended your stay, a room move was necessary due to our availability which was conveyed, but I apologize that our options were limited and not ideal. The Town of Hilton Head Island contracts with Shore Beach Services to handle all beach services such as lifeguards, beach chair, umbrella, and equipment rentals. They are also responsible for sharing information on ocean conditions as all beaches on Hilton Head Island are public property, and they have local jurisdiction. We are seeking consultation to implement your suggestion to pass along communication provided to us by the head lifeguards. Our beautiful waters have a very healthy eco-system teaming with sea life, but many people enjoy swimming, surfing, and numerous beach activities in our warm and inviting surf. We also have 3 swimming pools and outdoor Jacuzzi available for those who prefer a pool environment. I hope you will reconsider returning in the future as we truly value our repeat guests and would welcome the opportunity to provide an exemplary experience for your family as we have done in the past.
- Tim Freisen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester,NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just finished a 2 week stay. It was perfect in every aspect. I have been staying at this hotel for 20 + years and have always enjoyed returning. I also always enjoy eating in the Carolina room. The breakfast is excellent. Dolores the chef who makes the omelets does a fantastic job. The servers at breakfast always make you feel like you are at home. Fred the director of restaurants also makes sure everything runs smoothly. The front office is always warm and welcoming. Katie the front desk manager is extremely helpful and caring. The housekeepers keep the rooms spotless. The amenities this resort offers is superior to any other resort on the island. I recommend this resort to anyone looking for a perfect trip to Hilton Head.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
It is always appreciated when one of our valued repeat guests shares that they have a perfect stay at The Westin. Thank you for sharing that our staff ensured you were well cared for; especially Delores, Freddy, and Katie. We appreciate your recommendation of our destination resort as well as your loyal patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon for another rejuvenating stay.
- Tim Freisen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huixquilucan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are headed for Hilton Head Island and are looking for a hotel with a splendid view and superior service, look no further...
Westin has it all...
My son and I visited the area for a quick trip and we were both pleasantly surprised by the great service attitude we found when we checked it very late on a Thursday night (or should I say Friday morning?)...

Room Tip: if you can, get a room towards the end of either corridor... long walk but what a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing that The Westin has a great beachfront location with splendid views. I was very glad to know that our staff provided superior service and ensured you and your son were well cared for. We look forward to welcoming both of you back soon for another rejuvenating stay.
- Tim Freisen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our delightfuly renewed 416 room oceanfront resort revitalized in a "coastal chic" style. Guests can relax on our sandy white beaches, unwind in the Heavenly Spa, and enjoy our championship golf and tennis. Seven dining venues offer creative cuisine inspired by our local seafood and sustainable ingredients. Every inch of our beach resort has been refreshed. Our newly designed resort lobby welcomes our guests with a botanical conservatory and our two-story "living wall" vertical garden. Our guest rooms offer the latest Westin comfort elements including the Heavenly Bed in soothing coastal palettes. Our baths feature the new Heavenly Shower with dual vanities and backlit mirror. All new outdoor plush furniture and firepits have been placed throughout the nooks nd crannies of our expanded beachfront and poolside decking. We offer incomparable ways for our guests to retreat, connect, or entertain amidst naturally beautiful surroundings. The natural beauty of the South Carolina Coast, the myriad of land and sea activities available, and the sheer variety of golf and recreation options on our island, allows us to offer truly memorable experiences to our guests - now at an all new luxury resort property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.