We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Know What We Like, and We Loved the Westin HH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
GreenLeadersBronze level
Miami Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We Know What We Like, and We Loved the Westin HH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Asking for a review from your average adult visiting a restaurant or staying at a hotel -- "sharing your experiences," as we are asked to do -- is somewhat akin to playing Russian roulette. Our ability (or desire) to quantify the quality of food or services; to appreciate the subtle differences in preparation and presentation; to examine details dealing with cleanliness, for instance, or proper maintenance, etc., are quite subjective, unless we are there expressly to judge, rate and review the establishment. In other words, we, the general public, are not trained, objective evaluators, much less paid critics, or style gurus.

We know what we like and what we enjoy -- all very subjective -- even though that is sometimes influenced by critics and trendsetters, the aforementioned manipulators of popular tastes. Furthermore, our experiences can also be swayed by a multitude of irrelevant factors -- whether we found parking nearby, or how accessible the spot was, or what mood we're in, or personal biases and preferences (I favored a hotel by the beach, the wife wanted near shopping, we stayed in a cabin by the woods...). Spin the barrel...

So, in my humble subjective opinion, this place was paradise! A nonpareil family destination that was fun, full of descovery and reasonably affordable.

Check-in was a breeze, and we were in our room in a flash. The room itself was neat, airy, and well appointed, and we had a great view (thanks to Starwood status, I suppose). We had the AAA package, which included a terrific buffet breakfast for two, so we paid only for the kids' buffet. The service was exceptionally warm and friendly.

The beach was nothing less than exquisite, endless sand and surf and warm Atlantic water. The weather was mostly great, so we walked for a while, saw several people fishing by the shore, even met a wonderful man from Ohio who let our nine y/o reel in a 2.5' black tip shark. (He also taught him that if you weren't going to eat the fish, you put it back in the water.) There were, however, a few thunderstorms during our stay, and, much to our dismay, the front desk couldn't do anything to arrange picture-perfect days.

The pools, too, were terrific, and bar service was prompt and, again, exceptionally warm and friendly. There is also a covered pool, which we used during one of the late afternoon showers.

The concierge had encouraged us to go out and explore the island. We enjoyed the beach and pool so much, however, that we were usually late stepping out for dinner, and that was a serious drawback since restaurants close early on the island. Lesson learned: if you're going out for dinner, book a reservation and make it before 9pm, as the concierge had warned us.

We requested and got a late check-out, and had one last fling with the ocean before heading out. Short of some nasty weather, there is not one thing which could have been bettered (of course, there is always room for improvement, but...). Kudos to the manegement and staff of the Westin HH for having made part of our summer vacation so memorable.

Green Features: Definitely a green property, and they make you well aware with appropriate signage.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for sharing your perspective on your family's recent stay at The Westin which was paradise in your opinion. Delighted that you enjoyed a great view from your well-appointed guest room, as well as our fantastic beach and renewing pool areas. We appreciate your noting that our staff was exceptionally warm and friendly as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service for each guest. I was glad we were able to provide a late check-out so you could enjoy our amenities a while longer. We look forward to welcoming your family back in the future for another memorable experience.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    139
    44
    11
    11
See reviews for
189
176
8
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
158 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed here on points and can't say enough nice things about the property. The entire hotel was recently renovated so everything was nice and clean. The beach was great - lots of sand dollars in the water. The pool was well maintained but very crowded all the time. Hilton Head is a really nice place for a family to visit.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing that The Westin is a great place for families to visit, and that you enjoyed our recently renovated resort, as well as our fantastic beach. Our 3 resort pools and beautiful beach are very popular destinations during the summer season, and we appreciate your comment that the pool areas were well maintained and that the beach was great. We look forward to welcoming your family back soon for another rejuvenating stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This was our first time in Hilton Head and we stayed at the Westin for a week. It's a beautiful resort with a lot to keep kids occupied. The covered pool is a great option if you prefer the shade (we did) and we really enjoyed the Dive-in Movie nights. The staff is excellent - Jason Bees at the front desk made sure we had a very comfortable stay and was very considerate. Pool staff are really helpful - I dropped my iPhone in the pool and Karl got me a bag of rice to dry it in! Dining options are also plentiful, and poolside dining during the day is a great option to have. Great experience overall - highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing that your family enjoyed their first visit at The Westin. Delighted that your family enjoyed the kids activities, dive-in movie night, and numerous dining options. We appreciate your comments on our staff providing personal and instinctive service; especially Jason and Karl ensuring you were well cared for. We look forward to welcoming your famlly back to our excellent destination in the future for another memorable stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockett, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The resort was very pretty and the food was very good, We enjoyed the Carolina restaurant very much! The staff was so friendly! HOWEVER, that was the only positive service we received. The bartenders at the outside round bar were as rude as we have seen. The concierge was totally unhelpful as was the front desk staff. A course in hospitality would be good for this Westin's staff.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing that The Westin is in a very pretty oceanfront spot. Delighted that you enjoyed good food and our friendly staff at our Carolina Cafe. Please accept my sincere apology that your encounters with the bartender, concierge, and front desk staff were not exceptional as we are known for our staff providing personal and instinctive service. Please be assured your comments will be shared with the appropriate managers for further review to ensure we are always meeting the expectations of all our guests. I do hope you will return in the future so we may meet and exceed all your expectations at that time.

- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

My first time at Hilton Head and loved it! The Westin was a delight from the moment I entered the impressive driveway and all staff I encountered were incredibly welcoming.
The main resort pool is stunning, the landscaping is just beautiful and there's plenty of room to relax around the 3 resort pools (1 covered pool, kids pool and main pool).
I'm gold SPG and had booked the cheapest rate and on arrival was upgraded to an ocean view room as had my sister and brother in law (I was treating them to a stay).
The rooms are super spacious, tastefully decorated in keeping the Westin theme and I loved my balcony overlooking the pool and ocean.
The bed of course was super comfortable as you expect from a Westin property and bathroom had double sinks (rare these days in any hotel).
Poolside cocktails were excellent as was the food, the staff again were so friendly and really went out of their way to accommodate every request.
It was a very relaxing first visit here and I can't recommend highly enough! I'll be back.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing, as one of our valued SPG Gold members, that your first stay at The Westin was very impressive. We are delighted that you enjoyed our courtyard pool area, excellent cocktails, and upgraded ocean view guest room with our comfortable signature Heavenly Beds. I was also glad to know that our staff provided personal and instinctive service to ensure you were well cared for. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another renewing and relaxing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alrington, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Westin Hilton Head (and only paid for 3 thanks to a 4th night free promotion which helped provide "value"). The resort is large with a very nice pool area -- that frankly we almost never left my kids liked it so much. They have 3 main pools including a "covered pool" which is outside and exposed on all sides except under cover -- very good for shady lounging and getting out of the sun while swimming in summer weather. The hotel is right on the beach and, although we are not beach people, it was very convenient to spend time on the beach here and then retreat to the pools or rooms if preferred. The resort had kids activities (kite making, lawn bowling, hula-hoop contests, night time "dive-in" movies, smores evening at a fire pit) that the kids really enjoyed. The resort is in the Port Royal section of Hilton Head -- western part of the island, which is a little far from Sea Pines and the main public beaches in the middle of the Island-- but nothing in Hilton Head is really that far from anything else. We actually never ate at the resort, going out for all our meals as there was so many other places of all types within easy driving distance. Room was comfortable but not terribly spacious. The service at the resort was pretty good -- although our maid service was a little off. (Knocked at 8 am one morning while we were still getting ready. We left by 8:15 and then room was not made up at 4pm when we returned?). Internet worked fine in the hotel-- although a little slow -- but cellular service was extremely spotty within the room. Beds are very comfortable and good pillows. All in all, a good but not 5 star experience-- but again, our kids (13 and 11) really did enjoy it.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room overlooking the pool and it was not too loud. Higher floors probably have some...
See more room tips
Green Features: If you choose green option, you waive maid service for $5/night off your room. Seems like a big scam from the hotel's point of view. Not our thing.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for sharing that your family had an enjoyable experience at The Westin. Delighted that you really enjoyed our fantastic pools, beachfront location, and numerous activities for children. I was also glad to know you enjoyed our signature Heavenly Beds which are comfortable and renewing. Our housekeeping staff works from approximately 8:30 a.m. until 6:30 p.m. cleaning guest rooms, however, we do accept guest requests for a specific timeframe. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced. We do hope you will return in the future for another memorable and renewing family vacation.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I have stayed at the Marriott, Omni and other Hilton Head properties and there is no comparison to the Westin hotel. Truly luxurious, attentive staff that go out of their way to accommodate SPG Gold and Platinum members but most importantly - little toddlers that may be accompanying you. This is a excellent hotel to stay with family and you will not be disappointed - from the multiple pools, table tennis, surfing lessons etc. - this hotel will please everyone. We were upgraded to a gorgeous oceanfront view room from which you can see the Atlantic Ocean in its fury and tranquility. Two Queen Heavenly Beds were a delight to come back to after a full day's worth of activity and included breakfast buffet at Carolina truly delighted the kids. Really enjoyable stay !!

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the North Building side for great views
See more room tips
Green Features: You can choose not to have housekeeping services daily and the hotel rewards you with 500 points per night of stay to your SPG account
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing, as one of our valued SPG Members, that The Westin is a luxurious hotel in a gorgeous location. I was glad that we were able to provide upgraded accommodations so you had an awesome view of the Atlantic ocean and our beautiful beach. I was also delighted to know that you enjoyed our signature Heavenly Beds as well as breakfast at the Carolina Cafe. We really appreciate your noting that our staff ensured you were well cared for, and that your family had a great vacation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our delightfuly renewed 416 room oceanfront resort revitalized in a "coastal chic" style. Guests can relax on our sandy white beaches, unwind in the Heavenly Spa, and enjoy our championship golf and tennis. Seven dining venues offer creative cuisine inspired by our local seafood and sustainable ingredients. Every inch of our beach resort has been refreshed. Our newly designed resort lobby welcomes our guests with a botanical conservatory and our two-story "living wall" vertical garden. Our guest rooms offer the latest Westin comfort elements including the Heavenly Bed in soothing coastal palettes. Our baths feature the new Heavenly Shower with dual vanities and backlit mirror. All new outdoor plush furniture and firepits have been placed throughout the nooks nd crannies of our expanded beachfront and poolside decking. We offer incomparable ways for our guests to retreat, connect, or entertain amidst naturally beautiful surroundings. The natural beauty of the South Carolina Coast, the myriad of land and sea activities available, and the sheer variety of golf and recreation options on our island, allows us to offer truly memorable experiences to our guests - now at an all new luxury resort property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.