We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids Loved this Comfortable Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #5 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alrington, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Kids Loved this Comfortable Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent 4 nights at the Westin Hilton Head (and only paid for 3 thanks to a 4th night free promotion which helped provide "value"). The resort is large with a very nice pool area -- that frankly we almost never left my kids liked it so much. They have 3 main pools including a "covered pool" which is outside and exposed on all sides except under cover -- very good for shady lounging and getting out of the sun while swimming in summer weather. The hotel is right on the beach and, although we are not beach people, it was very convenient to spend time on the beach here and then retreat to the pools or rooms if preferred. The resort had kids activities (kite making, lawn bowling, hula-hoop contests, night time "dive-in" movies, smores evening at a fire pit) that the kids really enjoyed. The resort is in the Port Royal section of Hilton Head -- western part of the island, which is a little far from Sea Pines and the main public beaches in the middle of the Island-- but nothing in Hilton Head is really that far from anything else. We actually never ate at the resort, going out for all our meals as there was so many other places of all types within easy driving distance. Room was comfortable but not terribly spacious. The service at the resort was pretty good -- although our maid service was a little off. (Knocked at 8 am one morning while we were still getting ready. We left by 8:15 and then room was not made up at 4pm when we returned?). Internet worked fine in the hotel-- although a little slow -- but cellular service was extremely spotty within the room. Beds are very comfortable and good pillows. All in all, a good but not 5 star experience-- but again, our kids (13 and 11) really did enjoy it.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room overlooking the pool and it was not too loud. Higher floors probably have some...
See more room tips
Green Features: If you choose green option, you waive maid service for $5/night off your room. Seems like a big scam from the hotel's point of view. Not our thing.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for sharing that your family had an enjoyable experience at The Westin. Delighted that you really enjoyed our fantastic pools, beachfront location, and numerous activities for children. I was also glad to know you enjoyed our signature Heavenly Beds which are comfortable and renewing. Our housekeeping staff works from approximately 8:30 a.m. until 6:30 p.m. cleaning guest rooms, however, we do accept guest requests for a specific timeframe. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced. We do hope you will return in the future for another memorable and renewing family vacation.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    329
    124
    37
    8
    10
See reviews for
176
143
8
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have stayed at the Marriott, Omni and other Hilton Head properties and there is no comparison to the Westin hotel. Truly luxurious, attentive staff that go out of their way to accommodate SPG Gold and Platinum members but most importantly - little toddlers that may be accompanying you. This is a excellent hotel to stay with family and you will not be disappointed - from the multiple pools, table tennis, surfing lessons etc. - this hotel will please everyone. We were upgraded to a gorgeous oceanfront view room from which you can see the Atlantic Ocean in its fury and tranquility. Two Queen Heavenly Beds were a delight to come back to after a full day's worth of activity and included breakfast buffet at Carolina truly delighted the kids. Really enjoyable stay !!

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the North Building side for great views
See more room tips
Green Features: You can choose not to have housekeeping services daily and the hotel rewards you with 500 points per night of stay to your SPG account
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for sharing, as one of our valued SPG Members, that The Westin is a luxurious hotel in a gorgeous location. I was glad that we were able to provide upgraded accommodations so you had an awesome view of the Atlantic ocean and our beautiful beach. I was also delighted to know that you enjoyed our signature Heavenly Beds as well as breakfast at the Carolina Cafe. We really appreciate your noting that our staff ensured you were well cared for, and that your family had a great vacation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I recently went to this hotel on vacation and below is my perspective:

Good: Bed, Pools, Front Desk and Management Staff

Bad: Cockroaches (aka: palmetto bugs) infested property - because of door design in my rooms facing beach, cockroaches were enter my room at will by using small cracks at the base of sliding glass doors!

I think it's unacceptable to pay for services hotel which is infested with cockroaches...I disagree that
it's acceptable to live with bugs in your room. Hotel staff offered options but none resolved issues.

Room Tip: Have engineering put towels in sliding glass door seals so cockroaches (palmetto bugs) can't ent...
See more room tips
Green Features: No comments on following: Green Key Certified Energy-efficient lightbulbs Local plants in garden Towel reuse program ENERGY STAR laundry machines Energy-saving lighting controls
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
I was glad to know that our General Manager was able to meet with you personally while you were on property.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel on several trips now and we absolutely love it here. The location is spectacular and they appear to have undergone some renovations that were noticeable improvements. I always look forward to my next visit, however, the resort fee I find to be exorbitant and unnecessary. Still a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing, as a valued repeat customer, that you love The Westin and our spectacular location. We are glad that you enjoyed our recently upgraded and renewed resort. Our resort fee encompasses numerous amenities such as shuttle service to resort golf, tennis, and local shopping/marina, local and 800 toll free phone calls, access to the resort fitness cener, resort self parking, as well as wireless internet. Most guests have shared that they prefer a one-time fee instead of paying separately for these amenities. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We travelled from Maryland, a family of six, including four children - ages 9, 7, and 4 year old twins. It was our first time in Hilton Head and for me and my wife, first at a Westin in over a decade. The staff was great, particularly the front desk and especially all associated with the kids club. We attended many activities there - Natasha, Jocelyn and Luke were simply amazing. Also, the proximity from the pools to the beach is awesome. Thanks for a great trip.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing feedback on your family vacation at The Westin. We were delighted that your family enjoyed our beachfront location and the kids club activities. We especially appreciate your comment that our staff was great; especially Natasha, Jocelyn, and Luke as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another rejuvenating escape.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I gave this a average rating due to our check in experience. Upon reservation (which I went through the hotel directly= 340.00/night) I requested a room with a view of ocean - not the building, not the trees, not the roof of another building and guess what "they" tried to put our family on the 3rd floor over looking the restaurant roof. The front desk fixed the problem by placing us over looking a patio on the 3rd floor (party room) which was LOUD at night-- and we could see the ocean through trees (this was better) . When you check in the front desk has a picture of the view you will have ask to see it-- I guess the moral is you will not always get what you are expecting. The room took 3 hours to be cleaned after being told it was 20 min.?? They were to call me when ready - never happened. After all that the rooms are very clean, the beach is awesome, the work out area is clean, the deck is fun and the food is good. Oh yea NO high def TV amazing for 2014!

Room Tip: high level rooms (floors 4 &5) on the left side of hotel. Get out of the trees.
See more room tips
Green Features: 3rd floor in middle of hotel has an outside patio that people party -- until after 12 midnight
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your perspective on your stay at The Westin. We appreciated your comments that you enjoyed our awesome beach and courtyard areas as well as the Westin Workout and the good food you experienced. Due to the configuration of our building, we do have several types of room views that include the ocean such as ocean/pool view, ocean view, and ocean front. Some of these room types do overlook our courtyard and operational areas while still providing a view of the ocean, and I am sorry you were not pleased with your initial guest room view. We are sorry if there was any misunderstanding with the room type reserved. If we had been aware of any noise issues at night, we would have promptly responded to ensure the comfort of all our guests. We are working with local providers related to the HDTV issue, and hope to have this resolved shortly. We do hope that you will return in the future so that we may meet and exceed all your expectations at that time.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I stayed August 2-4. We had a most pleasant experience. With 4 pools, everyone from the youngest to the oldest in our party had a good time. Poolside service was carried out with a smile, the food at the on-site restaurants was top-notch and maid service was accommodating and thorough. My husband did the checking-in and out process with ease. We loved the location and look forward to vacationing at The Westin again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing that The Westin is a great place to stay and that your family had a very pleasant experience. We are delighted you enjoyed our pool environment and top notch food at the restaurants. We appreciate your comment that housekeeping services were accommodating and thorough. We look forward to welcoming your family back soon for another renewing escape.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our delightfuly renewed 416 room oceanfront resort revitalized in a "coastal chic" style. Guests can relax on our sandy white beaches, unwind in the Heavenly Spa, and enjoy our championship golf and tennis. Seven dining venues offer creative cuisine inspired by our local seafood and sustainable ingredients. Every inch of our beach resort has been refreshed. Our newly designed resort lobby welcomes our guests with a botanical conservatory and our two-story "living wall" vertical garden. Our guest rooms offer the latest Westin comfort elements including the Heavenly Bed in soothing coastal palettes. Our baths feature the new Heavenly Shower with dual vanities and backlit mirror. All new outdoor plush furniture and firepits have been placed throughout the nooks nd crannies of our expanded beachfront and poolside decking. We offer incomparable ways for our guests to retreat, connect, or entertain amidst naturally beautiful surroundings. The natural beauty of the South Carolina Coast, the myriad of land and sea activities available, and the sheer variety of golf and recreation options on our island, allows us to offer truly memorable experiences to our guests - now at an all new luxury resort property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.