We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #5 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This Westin is located right on the beach. The rooms have ocean facing balconies. If the beach isn't for you there are multiple pools. The service was great. The employees were very helpful. The beds are really "Heavenly".

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing that you had a great stay at The Westin. Delighted that you enjoyed the beachfront location, swimming pools, and our signature Heavenly Beds. We appreciate your comments on our staff providing great service as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service for each guest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    333
    131
    38
    8
    10
See reviews for
180
145
8
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

As platinum members we regularly stay at Westin resorts. This one is one of the best around!

The front desk staff were helpful at check in, though the folks ahead seemed to linger quite a bit causing a longer than average Starwood preferred wait. It probably seemed longer with two tired, hungry kids!

We were upgraded to a resort view king suite, which actually had a small ocean view and pool views with two balconies. The waterfall outside was great to help the kiddos fall asleep. Service express sent several items to our room upon request in such a timely manner.

The rooms are well appointed, though (minor) more powerful hair dryers would be nice to fight the humidity. Our suite had plenty of room with a dining table and seating for four, even with the pull out couch open and a crib. The tub is a bit slippery for little ones, to be expected but just be aware.

The housekeeping and maintenance staff could not be more friendly, going out of their way to say good morning and evening in the halls. The valets are a great first impression of the hotel. The women in the gift shop went above and beyond to help. I had my hands full with my toddler and all of our beach gear. A wonderful woman helped me try new flip flops on my older son to make sure they fit, then cut the tags off for him. All with a smile!

One area for improvement would be the restaurant selections and service. We found the prices to be high in all three of the restaurants with extremely limited food selections. The service was a bit slow at the poolside restaurant, but to be expected at 1pm on a beautiful Saturday at a busy hotel. The server was super friendly and apologized multiple times about the delay. The kids menus offer healthy features with the regulars (chicken fingers, etc) available upon request. My kids were fans of the naan/humus and grilled chicken with pasta marinara. To have healthy choices for the kids is such a plus!

Another hotel highlight is Donna, concierge. I called a few weeks before we arrived to get suggestions for activities that might need advanced reservations. Donna was very helpful and thorough. She emailed me several times with detailed information based on my requests. Her help was so very appreciated so when we arrived our wish list activities weren't sold out! My husband played a great round thanks to her suggestions. Thank you, Donna! It would be great if all Starwood hotels had such a gem!

The pool areas are well maintained and the beach is easily accessible. Plenty of fresh pool towels are available at all times. Plenty of pool side chairs are available with very comfortable cushions. Beach umbrellas and chairs are available for rent and for our family well worth the $30/day. There is an outdoor covered pool that seemed warmer than the others and nice to swim outdoors and have a break from the sun!

We plan to be back next year, and make this an annual family vacation. Well done Westin Hilton Head staff!

Room Tip: The hotel has long hallways. If you intend to use the pool/beach request a room close to the "p...
See more room tips
Green Features: If you don't need your room serviced daily, request the $5 on site gift card or 500 points.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing that you had a relaxing vacation at The Westin. We certainly appreciate the feedback of our SPG Platinum guests and the numerous positive comments about our resort being wonderful as well as the constructive remarks. Delighted to know our staff ensured you were well cared for as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We look forward to welcoming your family back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The resort is very beautiful! The room was comfortable and the bathroom was gorgeous. We had a room with no view, just a few trees and neighboring property. The hotel is huge, it was a long walk from the lobby to the room, a bit inconvenient. I don't want to spend my vacation walking down long hallways!

The location on Hilton Head Island is a bit secluded. The beach is gorgeous and uncrowded, and restaurants are a short drive away.

The heated covered pool was great. Pool area chairs were covered in something from the trees and no effort was made to brush them off or clean up. The hot tub was also full of the same stuff. The pool bar was not open when we were there in mid April.

Overall it was a beautiful resort and food was good, but pricey!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at The Westin. We appreciate your comments that the resort is beautiful, and that you enjoyed a comfortable guest room and gorgeous bathroom. We were also delighted to know you experienced our fantastic beach and heated pool. Our resort configuration has many different room views with the spectacular views of the ocean and beachfront being the furthest from our lobby area. It is always our intent for the resort to be pristine, and with all the natural foilage throughout the resort grounds, we are constantly focused on maintaining all areas. We hope that you will return in the future for a renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The Westin Hilton Head is a great resort! The facilities are excellent and the employees are very helpful! I was a little disappointed that the room I was in faced an adjoining property and I was not able to see the beach from my patio. For the price I paid, I would have expected a better view.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about the view from your room when booking. I was disappointed not to be able to see...
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer a $5 per day credit towards purchases at the hotel if you forego room service.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing that The Westin is a grat resort with excellent facilities. We were delighted to know our employees were very helpful as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service. Due to the resort's configuration, our resort has many different room types and views which range in price according to these specifics and time of the year. We hope you will return in the future to experience one of our ocean view or ocean front guest rooms that do have fantastic views of our beachfront and the ocean.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My wife and I booked the Westin the first weekend in May between Spring Break and School Graduations to avoid the summer crowds. It appeared that many of the guests were there for weddings and business meetings. The hotel appears to excel catering to both areas as well as vacation guests. It was obvious that the building and landscaping underwent considerable renovations and was first class in most every detail.
Valet parking is available as well as self-parking located in front and under the building. We had requested a Premium Ocean Front on the fifth floor in a quiet area and assigned the same. The check-in line was a little slow, although I would contribute it to the guest lingering more than to the hotel staff. Once at the counter, my check-in time was rather quick and pleasant.
Our room was very modern, well-appointed, very clean and had a great view. Closet space was more than adequate. The balcony had two chairs and table made of a black woven vinyl that was comfortable and nice looking. The king bed and mattress were great and had multiple lighting options. The bathroom had dual sinks and the shower / tub had dual shower heads. One concern I had was that the bathtub floor was slippery and even with a safety bar on the wall you needed to be careful not to slip. The TV had a nice size flat panel with an “analog” signal. With most people use to HDTV that is not a great combination but it was watchable for the Kentucky Derby. Also, there is “techno” clock radio (iHome) that accommodates Bluetooth, USB and docking but I could never figure it out and did not ask.
The in-room furniture included a refrigerator that kept the temperature consistent and cold but no microwave in the room to warm up coffee. (A small coffee maker is provided in the room). The Wi-Fi in the room was adequate for both of our iPhones. I really liked the room floor on the entrance area and bathroom. It was a faux wood that cleans well and nice to walk on. However, I was disappointed in the HVAC noise. The fan motor made an annoying rattle, especially on cooling. Since the weather was unseasonably cool, and we are light sleepers, we ended up leaving the AC on off the entire time and opening the patio door for sleeping. To be fair, I did not call the desk for maintenance based on past experience of either multiple interruptions or changing rooms (neither of which we wanted). My suggestion would be to turn on the HVAC when arriving (before unpacking to evaluate the noise). Most likely your room will be fine or some people won’t care and can sleep through it. Overall the room was great and clean. The housekeeping service was terrific.
The outdoor pool area was magnificent with Trex like decking and cool looking and comfortable lounge furniture. The food and drink service staff was efficient but not overbearing for a relaxed atmosphere. The landscaping was lush and evidence why multiple wedding were booked at the Westin.
In summary, this is a great place and the staff could not have been more accommodating. I would recommend this Westin and plan to return.

Room Tip: If you don't mind walking to the main elevators (long hallway), get a quiet room near the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at The Westin. We were delighted to read your comments that our recently upgraded resort is first-class and that you enjoyed the enhancements and amenities. We appreciate your noting that our staff was efficient and accommodating and that they provided a relaxed atmosphere. We are very sorry the HVAC unit was loud in your guest room, and we would have responded immediately to rectify it had we known of the issue as it is always our goal for our guests to be comfortable and well cared for. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing escape.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We visited this Westin to attend a wedding. The setting couldn't have been more perfect. It was a great place for a destination event. We gathered at the pool, enjoyed great meals at the pool bar, and had a nice brunch there too. The beach is lovely. The staff is friendly and very accommodating, especially helpful modifying meals a bit. (Think lean cuisine). Room size was generous and had wonderful amenities. Clean. Housekeeping was excellent and attentive. Only thing they need are more elevators!

Room Tip: Get a low floor so you can avoid the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback on your stay at The Westin to attend a destination wedding. Delighted to know that you enjoyed the pool area, beach, and well equipped guest room, as well as your dining experiences that we were able to personalize for you. We appreciate yiour comments that the staff is friendly and very accommodating as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campton Hills, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The Westin Hilton Head was a dream come true. My husband and I, spur of the moment, decided on Hilton Head and what a fantastic choice. The staff, room, pool, cabana, beach and spa were way beyond my expectations. It was so relaxing and every staff member (Olivia, Jeff, Jamel, Chris, Joslynn, Gabriel) treated us as if we were the only ones there. I read other feedback to get a sense of what we were in for and the Westin delivered and then some. No doubt we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean view.....ours was just steps from the pool, cababa and beach. AMAZING!!
See more room tips
Green Features: Really neat idea and I think most resorts are doing this.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Westin as your fantastic vacation destination. Delighted to know our team assisted in making your dreams come true for a renewing and rejuvenating stay. We appreciate your noting so many of our staff who provided personal and instinctive service to ensure you were well cared for. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our delightfuly renewed 416 room oceanfront resort revitalized in a "coastal chic" style. Guests can relax on our sandy white beaches, unwind in the Heavenly Spa, and enjoy our championship golf and tennis. Seven dining venues offer creative cuisine inspired by our local seafood and sustainable ingredients. Every inch of our beach resort has been refreshed. Our newly designed resort lobby welcomes our guests with a botanical conservatory and our two-story "living wall" vertical garden. Our guest rooms offer the latest Westin comfort elements including the Heavenly Bed in soothing coastal palettes. Our baths feature the new Heavenly Shower with dual vanities and backlit mirror. All new outdoor plush furniture and firepits have been placed throughout the nooks nd crannies of our expanded beachfront and poolside decking. We offer incomparable ways for our guests to retreat, connect, or entertain amidst naturally beautiful surroundings. The natural beauty of the South Carolina Coast, the myriad of land and sea activities available, and the sheer variety of golf and recreation options on our island, allows us to offer truly memorable experiences to our guests - now at an all new luxury resort property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.