We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super customer service and comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #4 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Super customer service and comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We enjoyed a 5 night stay over spring break! We had an ocean view room with a king bed and pull out sofa. Our bed was incredibly comfortable and my sons said the sofa bed was surprisingly comfortable, however they probably could have used an extra blanket. The staff at the outdoor bar was great! We were a little disappointed when they changed the UMD lax game for the Masters, so they comped all of our drinks which I thought was above and beyond! Thank you AlexK, Shawn, Justin, Sara and Cara! One think that was severly lacking was a bar inside the resort. Ocean was not open yet and during the cold, raining days there was no where to get a beverage or hang out. The pools were great for the kids. The beach is lovely. Overall, we would definitely come back here, especially using Starwood points!

Room Tip: Outside rooms with ocean view are much better than inside. Our friends complained off leaf blowing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    84
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
106
111
6
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cassatt, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here last weekend and it was an awesome weekend trip. The resort was beautiful, staff helpful and courteous. We did not even have to leave the resort to have a good time. We also ate at the Carolina Cafe that was on resort and the food was great. Will definitely stay here again. Westin is known for comfortable beds and we were not disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the grand deluxe with the king size bed. We had an ocean view on the North side and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a company function , the hotel is beautiful.. A little hard to find as it sits way back off the street. Easy location to shopping and restaurants.. rooms are beautiful, and the heated pool was great..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband, teenage daughter, and I traveled to this resort in March 2014 for our spring break. The staff at this resort made our trip fantastic! Although the resort was finishing up their preparations for their busy season, the front desk agent was upfront about the outdoor restaurants as well as one of the pools being closed during this prep. We were not surprised by anything. The front desk agent answered any question we had in a kind and caring way. If she didn't have the answer, she immediately connected us to someone who could answer our questions.

The wait staff in the restaurant were so kind. They took genuine interest in making our experience as homely as it could be. They even recommended some places on the island to go and visit! Whenever we saw them, even if they weren't our waiter, they remembered our names and always said hello! They even remembered how I like my omelets and grits!

We rented bikes with ease. There was a conference at the hotel during out stay as well as a wedding, however, the hotel staff organized everything in such a way that our vacation was not disturbed or crowded at all. The weather was cooler and the resort was in winter season mode but we still had an excellent stay and will definitely come back! We would like to thank our wait staff, Noel, James, Gavin, Delores, Linda & Bonnie. We also want to thank Tabatha and Krisztina for making our stay absolutely wonderful!

Room Tip: Go for an Ocean front room. You have a beautiful room of the ocean. Just remember that the further t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for sharing that you had an excellent stay at The Westin recently with your family for a spring break getaway. We appreciate your comments that our staff ensured you had a fantastic trip as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service, and we will commend those staff members you specifically mention for ensuring you were well cared for. We look forward to welcoming your family back in the near future for another memorable and renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed 4 nights with a large convention at this property. The grounds are beautiful and the hotel itself is truly fabulous. Had an ocean view room which was quite large and comfortable with a nice, clean bathroom. There are several pools on the property and the beach is just a short walk away from the end of the complex. The staff was extremely efficient and accommodating. It's hard to ask for much more than this in resort hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for sharing that you had a fabulous stay at The Westin recently. Delighted that you enjoyed a comfortable ocean view guest room as well as our renewing pools and beach. We appreciate your comments that the staff was extremely efficient and accommodating as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another rejuvenating stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a one day conference at the Hotel, we needed at least three days to take advantage of what they offer. This property is another top notch Starwood facility. We flew in to Hilton Head to a conference and then departed for FL the late the next day.

After seeing the pool facilities, and the other facilities offered by the Hotel we regretted the fact that we only had plans to spend one night there. I've been to Hilton Head several times, this hotel was a great choice because it was just 3 - 5 minutes from the airport. Our group consisted of about 45 people and it seemed that most everyone had great things to say about the experience. Others spent several days at the hotel, our plans only enabled us to spend one night.

We dined out side of the hotel at Sea Pines, for the group dinner. Everything in the hotel from Check in to Check out went well. Room was quite and comfortable, modern and fresh. Bell desk staff and front desk reception people were good and efficient.

Valet Parking was a bit steep, guest parking lot was a good walk away. Our room was quite a hike from the elevator, halls were clean and well cared for, carpet fresh and walls unmarred.
The group made the decision to stay at the Westin, I would make it my choice for my next visit to Hilton Head.

Room Tip: If your a Starwood Member let them know if the computer hasn't already noted the fact. Request...
See more room tips
Green Features: I did notice they offered green friendly information. We were there just one night so it didn't mattet.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for sharing that you had an enjoyable visit to The Westin to attend a conference. Delighted to know that your group had great comments about their experience. We are glad you enjoyed your comfortable guest room and appreciate your complimentary remarks on our facility and our staff being good and efficient. We hope that you will return in the near future to fully experience all the resort's renewing amenities.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My fiance and I drove up from Orlando to get away for our anniversary and we chose the Westin in Hilton Head based on the reviews since we'd never been to HHI before. We had an amazing time. We hung out at the pool, grabbed a few drinks, and experienced everything the island had to offer.

We had an oceanfront room over the reception shelter. It was great. Super clean with modern amenities and great decor. Plus the Heavenly Bed.

We've stayed at Westins in Tampa and Savannah and you just can't go wrong. These guys have it together and we will be back.

Room Tip: Grab an oceanfront room for the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for sharing that The Westin is an amazing resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed our pool environment, oceanfront guest room, and signature Heavenly Bed. We hope you will return in the future for another renewing and relaxing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel
Westin Hilton Head
Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our delightfuly renewed 416 room oceanfront resort revitalized in a "coastal chic" style. Guests can relax on our sandy white beaches, unwind in the Heavenly Spa, and enjoy our championship golf and tennis. Seven dining venues offer creative cuisine inspired by our local seafood and sustainable ingredients. Every inch of our beach resort has been refreshed. Our newly designed resort lobby welcomes our guests with a botanical conservatory and our two-story "living wall" vertical garden. Our guest rooms offer the latest Westin comfort elements including the Heavenly Bed in soothing coastal palettes. Our baths feature the new Heavenly Shower with dual vanities and backlit mirror. All new outdoor plush furniture and firepits have been placed throughout the nooks nd crannies of our expanded beachfront and poolside decking. We offer incomparable ways for our guests to retreat, connect, or entertain amidst naturally beautiful surroundings. The natural beauty of the South Carolina Coast, the myriad of land and sea activities available, and the sheer variety of golf and recreation options on our island, allows us to offer truly memorable experiences to our guests - now at an all new luxury resort property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.