We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holidays at the westin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
westchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Holidays at the westin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the westin for Christmas and New Years. First the hotel was decorated in a very subtle but beautiful manor. The beach Christmas decorations gave a unique holiday feel that let you know it was Christmas on an island. They were just beautiful, small touches every where you looked. The staff of the hotel goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome. The food at the Carolina cafe was delicious and service was excellent. Thank you Patrick, Duke and Pattie for meals with a smile. The front desk staff are always smiling and professional. Can not wait to return!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your holiday visit at The Westin. Delghted to know that you enjoyed our "coastal chic" holiday decor. We especially appreciate knowing that Patrick, Duke, and Pattie ensured you were well cared for in the Carolina Cafe and that our staff went above and beyond in providing personal and instinctive service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    175
    55
    11
    18
See reviews for
230
225
11
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed for a conference and was cold the entire stay. Especially in the conference rooms. Furthermore, the catering for the conference was woefully lacking. Not enough coffee, hot water for tea or continental breakfast. Half the expected attendees did not arrive due to bad weather and still there was not enough food and beverages!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at The Westin. Please accept our sincere apology for any areas of the facility that were not warm due to the unusual cold snap and inclement weather that we experienced in Hilton Head Island last week. I can assure you that our engineering department was diligently working and addressing any cold locations to ensure guest comfort. With regards to food and beverage for your event, our team was given strict instructions to not exceed limits due to a tremendous drop in government funding, and we were advised that attendees were aware of new restrictions. I hope that you will return in the future so we can meet and exceed all your expectations at that time; including optimum weather conditions for the season.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel the past few years for Memorial Day weekend, and I'll continue to come back whenever I can. It's been great watching this property go through the renovation process the last two years, and it has made all the difference. The hotel is located in a great central location, and is right on the water with a very nice beach. Deluxe Ocean view rooms make you feel like you're at the edge of the world, looking straight out onto the water and beach. The only downside from the recent renovation is a lot of the pool chairs were replaced with firepits and more social lounging, as well as a completely empty deck (at the time we were there 5/13). The hotel has always been short on pool chairs, and it'd be nice if the quantity were increased as the current setup requires you to "poach" chairs as soon as you wake up.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are just that. "Island view" is on the outersides of the "V" an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing that The Westin is one of your favorite resorts as one of our valued repeat guests. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our recently renovated resort and coastal chic ambiance. Regarding your comment on pool chairs, while we have the same number of new chairs/lounges as in the past, we have added numerous firepits and poolside/oceanfront cabanas which also have seating/lounge capacity as many guests requested these upgraded amenities. We do have functions that might require chair removal such as an oceanfront wedding on the deck, etc., and we are sorry if you were inconvenienced due to an event. Our staff also monitors empty chairs to ensure that every guest has the opportunity to avail themselves of the chairs and lounges in the busy spring and summer seasons. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future so that we may meet and exceed all your expectations at that time.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Please beware, the hotel indicates they are pet friendly - i dont think $150 (2night stay) extra charge is too friendly. In addition, just noticed another $20 nighlt resort fee, thought i had a great rate til I checked out! The $95 extra nightly charges were more than my nightly room rate! The hotel ambiance is very nice, beach is superb! Room service slow, but the chocolate torte is worth waiting for! This is off season, spa closes early, was not able to get an appt :-(

Room Tip: $150 for your pet to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your perspective on your stay at The Westin. Delighted that you enjoyed our coastal chic hotel ambiance and superb beachfront location. Westin is a pet friendly brand, and we do welcome dogs and even have special amenities available for them such as the Heavenly Dog Bed, 2 bowls and a mat. The pet fee is fully disclosed during the reservation process and on our website and again at our front desk. The fee relates to the extensive cleaning protocol we have in place to ensure the room is comfortable and pristine for the next arriving guest. The resort fee of $20/daily is also fully disclosed during the reservation process and includes shuttle service to resort golf, tennis and local shopping, local and 800 toll free phone calls, access to the resort fitness center, resort self parking, as well as wireless internet. Most of our guests do prefer the one time fee instead of paying for each amenity separately. We do hope that you will return in the future and have the opportunity to experience our award-winning Heavenly Spa, and so we may meet and exceed all your expectations at that time.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Just finishing up 3 nights here at the Westin. We were here about 6 years ago and can really tell the difference after the renovations. Everything is clean, modern, and this is still one of my favorites on Hilton Head.

Most of what the other reviewers said is spot on. Great location, views superb, good food, and friendly staff. Long walks to the rooms from the lobby but worth it for the great views.

Our only challenge was a very scaled back service due to the season, but that's to be expected across the island. Shorter hours and not as many options. But we wanted a relaxing getaway at an upscale resort and that's exactly what we got.

Will definitely be back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing that you had an excellent getaway at The Westin. Delighted to know that our recently renovated resort is one of your favorites. We appreciate your noting our location is great, the views are superb, and that you experienced good food and our friendly staff who strives to provide personal and instinctive service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another rejuvenating and renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for the AAFP Urgent Care/Emergency Medicine conference. Our room was an ocean view on the third floor. Let's review the cons of this place first:
1. Prices are high, but we expected that based on the location. Glad it is tax deductible for us:)
2. The carpeting as you entered our floor smelled of urine the entire time we were here. I think someone let their dog pee on it. We let the front desk know, and they sprayed some stuff that masked the smell for a day, but then it was back. Either that or the same dog kept peeing on the carpet. Anyway, we made it a game to run to the room without breathing until we got out of the stinky zone.
3. The food at the hotel was way overpriced and only average quality; we ate it for breakfast and lunch for our conference. I cannot believe they did not have grits one single day for breakfast. What the heck. They also gave me white bread for my lunch on a gluten free request. I think someone just looked at the label of the Wonder Bread and it didn't say gluten on the ingredient list, so they figured it was safe. Really???? There are great places to eat outside of the resort, so no need to eat here unless someone else is paying or it is free.
4. They give you vouchers for on site purchases if you choose the green cleaning option, which means no one comes in your room the entire time you are there, not even to take out your trash. What they don't tell you is you can hardly use them for anything, not a beer, not the gift shop, so they are essentially worthless and you have been smelling your leftovers trash all week. Well, not really, we took our leftovers down to the poolside trash.

Now let's review the pros:
1. The room itself was great, large comfy beds, nice bathroom with a hose to wash the sand off your feet. We slept great. As noted by other reviewers, things have been recently renovated and we were pleased with the results. No musty smells in our room. There was a problem with a leaking hose, but it was fixed the same day we called about it. Tiny balcony with a sliver of ocean view, and the opportunity to eavesdrop on all conversations taking place below. (note, we tried to get ocean front, but could not)
2. The staff was very friendly and helped us find good places to eat and things to do during out visit.
3. pool area is beautiful, many pools, hot tub, many many nice places to sit and enjoy the beauty. Every day we had breakfast outside and watched the sunrise and the shrimp boats cruise by. The grounds are very well kept and the landscaping and flowers are beautiful.
4. the BEACH! This is on the toe of Hilton Head Island, and the beach to the north goes by private homes, which were pretty much deserted while we were there, so it was like having our own private beach. The water is warm and clean, the beach is immaculate except for a random helmet crab shell here and there. You can rent beach chairs with umbrellas. When our children were younger, this is the kind of conference site my husband and I dreamed of.

Room Tip: ask for ocean front not ocean view.
See more room tips
Green Features: we were unimpressed by the green option, in this hotel it means nothing is done to your room the entire time you are there. Do like that they use locally grown and organic food if possible, plant local plants, and avoid chemicals and pesticides in cleaning products and grounds care.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback during your visit to The Westin for the AAFP Urgent Care/Emergency Medicine Conference. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you noted which were not up to our usual standards. We have shared your comments with our management team for further review and action, and very much value the feedback. When our guests select the Make a Green Choice option, trash removal, towels, etc. are available to the guest upon request through Service Express. I was glad to know that you were able to enjoy a great guest room and comfortable Heavenly Bed so that you slept well, and also that you enjoyed our pool area and fantastic beach. Delighted that you found our staff very friendly and helpful as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service. We hope that you will return in the near future so we may meet and exceed all your expectations at that time.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is a very nice hotel right on the ocean and the view from the oceanfront was spectacular! My room was very nice and the king size bed was great to relax after our being in meetings from 8-5. I particularly loved the overhead rainfall shower and large tub although I wasn't able to "recline" as much as would have liked to in the tub.. Although I didn't spend as much time on the balcony as i would have liked to I appreciated the 2 chairs and table out there. I utilized the fitness center and used the Lifecycle running machine. I particularly liked the ability to watch television directly on the life cycle machine. The front desk folks were very helpful and always had a smile on their faces and even helped me to reactivate my starwood rewards program. The computers on the main floor were a good thought and allowed me to print out my airline boarding passes for free. The only negative was I was looing forward to using their sauna but learned that there was a $25 dollar charge as the sauna was part of their "Heavenly Spa" package and I didn't want to spend $25 dollars for only a sauna and didn't want a full massage. Everything else was clearly superior and I will stay at this Hotel in the future when I return to Hilton Head.

Room Tip: if you like to work out you may want to ask for a room that is close to the fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at The Westin to attend a meeting. Delighted that our staff reactivated your Starwood Preferred Guest account so you will reap the benefits of this outstanding rewards program. We were glad to know that you enjoyed the ocean front guest room view and relaxing Heavenly Bed, as well as the Westin Workout facility. Thanks for noting the front desk staff was helpful and pleasant as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our delightfuly renewed 416 room oceanfront resort revitalized in a "coastal chic" style. Guests can relax on our sandy white beaches, unwind in the Heavenly Spa, and enjoy our championship golf and tennis. Seven dining venues offer creative cuisine inspired by our local seafood and sustainable ingredients. Every inch of our beach resort has been refreshed. Our newly designed resort lobby welcomes our guests with a botanical conservatory and our two-story "living wall" vertical garden. Our guest rooms offer the latest Westin comfort elements including the Heavenly Bed in soothing coastal palettes. Our baths feature the new Heavenly Shower with dual vanities and backlit mirror. All new outdoor plush furniture and firepits have been placed throughout the nooks nd crannies of our expanded beachfront and poolside decking. We offer incomparable ways for our guests to retreat, connect, or entertain amidst naturally beautiful surroundings. The natural beauty of the South Carolina Coast, the myriad of land and sea activities available, and the sheer variety of golf and recreation options on our island, allows us to offer truly memorable experiences to our guests - now at an all new luxury resort property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.