We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Mixed Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here in November during HHI slow time which was good and bad. It was nice not being too crowded, however the hotel really had a skeleton crew. Food are Bar service took forever due to the fact they didn't have enough folks working. The rooms were wonderful and had awesome view of the ocean and beach right there. You can walk or ride your bike for miles. We had some issues with housekeeping and some gross stuff we found, but they took care of it right away and were very accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay last year at The Westin. Delighted that you enjoyed your wonderful guest room and the awesome ocean and beach views. Please accept our apology for the slow service you received in the bar and for the housekeeping issue which you noted was handled immediately. Your comments have been shared with our team for further review to ensure this does not occur in the future. It is always our intent for our guests to feel well cared for and special, and our standard is to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future so we may meet and exceed all your expectations at that time.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    152
    47
    11
    11
See reviews for
200
195
8
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was the perfect place for our mini girls get away. We stayed for about 3 nights. Upon arrival the staff was very friendly and our room was available immediately. We had a 2 bed/1 bath suite, with 2 balconies overlooking the pools and ocean. You can walk straight out to the ocean front from the pool, which was convenient. We did enjoy a tandem bike ride, which the grounds were absolutely beautiful and we felt safe the entire time. You have the option to set up several activities from the resort itself. Pool was perfect... food was delicious and it wasn't a terrible taxi ride to get to the bars or nice seafood restaurants. The pool did get a little crowded because the resort shares the pools with the condos next door, so finding a lounge chair if you weren't there early in the morning was a little difficult. All-in-all it was absolutely beautiful! Ready to go back next year!

Room Tip: We did the suite, which is not 2 different rooms but separated by a media stand...which was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing that your Girls Getaway was perfect at The Westin. Delighted that our staff provided friendly service as they strive to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We are glad you enjoyed bike riding, the beautiful grounds, and our 3 swimming pools. It seems you received some misinformation as our resort does not share the pools with the condos next door. In the summer season, we do have have many guests who enjoy the pool environment, and we ensure that chairs are monitored for usage so all guests can enjoy the location. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another rejuvenating stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This recently "remodeled" gem is very excellent!!! Better termed as a "total re-do" the property looks BRAND NEW. From the modern and functional lobby and reception area to the very nice restaurant and lounge the public areas are great. The guest room was fully up to date and most comfortable. Staff meets the "fineness" of the facilities - great "new" property

Room Tip: Had a high room facing pool and ocean - in warm weather this would be a desirable location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing that you enjoyed our recently renovated and coastal chic Westin. We were delighted that you enjoyed all areas; especially the comfortable guest room. We were pleased to know that our staff met your expectations as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back for another renewing experience.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here with our two children to bring in 2014. The rooms are newly renovated and pretty clean. The bathroom had a urine smell, but appeared to be clean. Other than that, the hotel's renovations seem to have paid off. The pools, pool area seating, and cabanas with televisions and refrigerators are inviting. We can't wait to go back in the warm months to enjoy them along with the outside bar. The heated pool was a great addition in the cold month. The food in the restaurant was very good. The she-crab soup was excellent. Will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing that the Westin is a nice resort for a family getaway. Delighted to know you were pleased with our recent resort renovations and that the food you experienced in the restaurant was very good. We apologize for the smell you mentioned which has been shared with our Director of Housekeeping for further review as it is always our intent for our guests to arrive to a fresh, clean, and inviting guest room where they can comfortably relax. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable family visit.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

With off season rates, this classic upscale resort is worth the half hour drive off interstate 95 even for just one quiet perfect night. The views from the ocean side rooms are spectacular, the rooms are spacious and well appointed, each with a private balcony, and the service is exceptionally gracious. Everywhere you look, it's beautiful. The beach is perfect for a walk or jog even if it's too cold to be a beach day. Wonderful food at the restaurant, too. Would love to go back in season.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade to an oceanside room, if they don't offer it.
See more room tips
Green Features: No plastic or styrofoam anywhere. Cloth napkins, not paper.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing that The Westin is a gorgeous and perfect ocean front resort. We are delighted you enjoyed our spectacular guest rooms with private balconies, our fantastic beach, and wonderful food at the restaurant. Delighted to know that you received exceptionally gracious service as our staff strives to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The hotel and rooms are really nice but I was disappointed in the hotel desk staff during our check-in and check out. The 2 ladies at the front desk were looking at their monitor when we walked up and they didn't even acknowledge us, until my wife made the comment to them that they needed to stop with their online shopping. The bellman however was great. I was also disappointed in all of the hidden fees (daily $20 resort fee and $4 beach preservation fee) .... I was told that this was for parking, fitness center and complimentary wifi. How can you call complimentary wifi when the customer is paying $20 a day? So we ended up paying an extra $96 during our stay for parking, fitness and Wifi. The Spa wasn't that much to talk about either. We arrived at the Spa at 8:45 am for a 9:00 am couples massage on New Year’s Day and there was no attendant at the front desk and the lights were still off. There were 3 other guest also waiting for the attendant .... not a great 1st impression. The pool area was nice but all of the chairs, sidewalks and patio area had leaves all over them, the gas heaters were empty and would not light. Overall impression of this Westin did not meet our expectations. The Sonesta Resort and Spa in Hilton Head is better maintained, friendlier staff and a much better value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your perspective on your recent stay at The Westin. We are delighted to know that the bellman was great and, as we have previously correponded, apologize that the welcome from our staff was not prompt and inviting which is our usual standard. We are also sorry for the short delay in check-in at the Heavenly Spa due to the spa key requiring re-coding for the lights to be completely turned on, which was unexpected, that was being handled by our spa supervisor on your arrival, and also the check-in process of another guest. It is always our intent for our guests to feel welcomed and special at every location in the resort, and we are sorry you did not have a positive first impression. Our resort fee is fully disclosed in the reservation process, whether by phone or on-line, with detailed information. The fee includes shuttle service to resort golf, tennis, and local shopping/marina, local and 800# toll free calls, access to the resort fitness center, resort self parking, as well as wireless internet. The beach preservation fee is a local tax which is included with all other mandatory taxes, and is not optional. The outside firepits and space heaters were working during your visit, but do require our staff to assist with the lighting process which we are happy to accommodate. The entire resort grounds are maintained daily to eliminate leaves and debris, as necessary, with as little guest inconvenience as possible. We hope that you will return in the future so we may re-gain your confidence in our resort as I know we can meet and exceed all your expectations for a renewing and relaxing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked online with significant savings, so were able to upgrade to one of new Carolina Suites. Ours was spacious and lovely, with plenty of room to stretch out: a small kitchenette, a living room/tv area, and two balconies, in addition to the bedroom space.

We were on the third floor and in retrospect I would have requested a higher floor for a better ocean view, and perhaps less pool activity, although noise was never a problem.

The Carolina suites are not close to the lobby and there aren't many elevators, so know in advance that it is a hike to your room. Once there, you won't want to leave.

The ocean is just steps away, behind the pool area.

The staff could not have been more accomodating.

Room Tip: Higher level Carolina suites are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback that you enjoyed one of our spacious Carolina Suites on your recent stay. We appreciate your comment on our staff being so accommodating as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our delightfuly renewed 416 room oceanfront resort revitalized in a "coastal chic" style. Guests can relax on our sandy white beaches, unwind in the Heavenly Spa, and enjoy our championship golf and tennis. Seven dining venues offer creative cuisine inspired by our local seafood and sustainable ingredients. Every inch of our beach resort has been refreshed. Our newly designed resort lobby welcomes our guests with a botanical conservatory and our two-story "living wall" vertical garden. Our guest rooms offer the latest Westin comfort elements including the Heavenly Bed in soothing coastal palettes. Our baths feature the new Heavenly Shower with dual vanities and backlit mirror. All new outdoor plush furniture and firepits have been placed throughout the nooks nd crannies of our expanded beachfront and poolside decking. We offer incomparable ways for our guests to retreat, connect, or entertain amidst naturally beautiful surroundings. The natural beauty of the South Carolina Coast, the myriad of land and sea activities available, and the sheer variety of golf and recreation options on our island, allows us to offer truly memorable experiences to our guests - now at an all new luxury resort property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.