We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort for family.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
GreenLeadersBronze level
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice resort for family.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here with our two children to bring in 2014. The rooms are newly renovated and pretty clean. The bathroom had a urine smell, but appeared to be clean. Other than that, the hotel's renovations seem to have paid off. The pools, pool area seating, and cabanas with televisions and refrigerators are inviting. We can't wait to go back in the warm months to enjoy them along with the outside bar. The heated pool was a great addition in the cold month. The food in the restaurant was very good. The she-crab soup was excellent. Will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing that the Westin is a nice resort for a family getaway. Delighted to know you were pleased with our recent resort renovations and that the food you experienced in the restaurant was very good. We apologize for the smell you mentioned which has been shared with our Director of Housekeeping for further review as it is always our intent for our guests to arrive to a fresh, clean, and inviting guest room where they can comfortably relax. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable family visit.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    152
    48
    11
    11
See reviews for
200
196
8
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

With off season rates, this classic upscale resort is worth the half hour drive off interstate 95 even for just one quiet perfect night. The views from the ocean side rooms are spectacular, the rooms are spacious and well appointed, each with a private balcony, and the service is exceptionally gracious. Everywhere you look, it's beautiful. The beach is perfect for a walk or jog even if it's too cold to be a beach day. Wonderful food at the restaurant, too. Would love to go back in season.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade to an oceanside room, if they don't offer it.
See more room tips
Green Features: No plastic or styrofoam anywhere. Cloth napkins, not paper.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing that The Westin is a gorgeous and perfect ocean front resort. We are delighted you enjoyed our spectacular guest rooms with private balconies, our fantastic beach, and wonderful food at the restaurant. Delighted to know that you received exceptionally gracious service as our staff strives to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The hotel and rooms are really nice but I was disappointed in the hotel desk staff during our check-in and check out. The 2 ladies at the front desk were looking at their monitor when we walked up and they didn't even acknowledge us, until my wife made the comment to them that they needed to stop with their online shopping. The bellman however was great. I was also disappointed in all of the hidden fees (daily $20 resort fee and $4 beach preservation fee) .... I was told that this was for parking, fitness center and complimentary wifi. How can you call complimentary wifi when the customer is paying $20 a day? So we ended up paying an extra $96 during our stay for parking, fitness and Wifi. The Spa wasn't that much to talk about either. We arrived at the Spa at 8:45 am for a 9:00 am couples massage on New Year’s Day and there was no attendant at the front desk and the lights were still off. There were 3 other guest also waiting for the attendant .... not a great 1st impression. The pool area was nice but all of the chairs, sidewalks and patio area had leaves all over them, the gas heaters were empty and would not light. Overall impression of this Westin did not meet our expectations. The Sonesta Resort and Spa in Hilton Head is better maintained, friendlier staff and a much better value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your perspective on your recent stay at The Westin. We are delighted to know that the bellman was great and, as we have previously correponded, apologize that the welcome from our staff was not prompt and inviting which is our usual standard. We are also sorry for the short delay in check-in at the Heavenly Spa due to the spa key requiring re-coding for the lights to be completely turned on, which was unexpected, that was being handled by our spa supervisor on your arrival, and also the check-in process of another guest. It is always our intent for our guests to feel welcomed and special at every location in the resort, and we are sorry you did not have a positive first impression. Our resort fee is fully disclosed in the reservation process, whether by phone or on-line, with detailed information. The fee includes shuttle service to resort golf, tennis, and local shopping/marina, local and 800# toll free calls, access to the resort fitness center, resort self parking, as well as wireless internet. The beach preservation fee is a local tax which is included with all other mandatory taxes, and is not optional. The outside firepits and space heaters were working during your visit, but do require our staff to assist with the lighting process which we are happy to accommodate. The entire resort grounds are maintained daily to eliminate leaves and debris, as necessary, with as little guest inconvenience as possible. We hope that you will return in the future so we may re-gain your confidence in our resort as I know we can meet and exceed all your expectations for a renewing and relaxing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked online with significant savings, so were able to upgrade to one of new Carolina Suites. Ours was spacious and lovely, with plenty of room to stretch out: a small kitchenette, a living room/tv area, and two balconies, in addition to the bedroom space.

We were on the third floor and in retrospect I would have requested a higher floor for a better ocean view, and perhaps less pool activity, although noise was never a problem.

The Carolina suites are not close to the lobby and there aren't many elevators, so know in advance that it is a hike to your room. Once there, you won't want to leave.

The ocean is just steps away, behind the pool area.

The staff could not have been more accomodating.

Room Tip: Higher level Carolina suites are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback that you enjoyed one of our spacious Carolina Suites on your recent stay. We appreciate your comment on our staff being so accommodating as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

This is our second trip to Hilton head both in the off season and our first time at the Westin. Last year we stayed at the omni while it was under renovations and while nice seemed dated. The Westin finnished their Renovation and I want to complement the team as it is now a wonderful property and well appointed in many details. I do have a concern during high season the fitness room will not have enough equipment as it seemed small for a hotel this large. The rooms are a touch small but very well put together and comfortable. The balcony is large and private. A place you can relax and be away

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing that The Westin is a great hotel for relaxation. We appreciate your complimentary remarks on our recent renovation, comfortable guest rooms, and nice balcony area. We have found that the Westin Workout space does nicely accommodate guest needs as the facility is available to guests on a 24 hour a day basis with the latest in fitness equipment. Delighted that you chose The Westin on your return trip to Hilton Head Island, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I decided to seek a warmer climate on the 26th of december,, 2 suit cases a set of golf clubs and a cooler w/ soft drinks and munchies. Lets drive south. Our destination was Savannah, we ended up on Hilton Head SC. We called for reservations for Westin in Savannah around the time we hit the middle of N. Carolina,, BOOKED,, the operator set us up at Westin in Hilton Head, Around 12 hours after leaving home,, we arrived in Hilton Head and drove in to the Westin Resort,, exhausted we where greeted by a very nice young man ( Matt ) who confirmed our reservations and took care of my car. The room was a welcomed site,, it was Clean,, top to bottom as well as the bathroom. As a habbit I have always pulled the sheets down to ,,yes inspect them ( would you dive into a pool you couldnt see the bottom ) clean and crisp. I asked for an ocean view,,and got,,an ocean view ( 4th floor ) The bathroom was perfectly laid out double sinks w/ elbow room glass accent tiles and well lit. The shower had 2 choices rain head and a hand held almost pressure washer ( lol )The tub was ideal for soaking it's trimmed with about 4' of slab stock marble whoever desiged it,, had a brain. Good closet space and drawers standard chair & ottoman large flat screen standard channels and of course a coffe maker. Great ocean view w/ pool and courtyard below.The elevators where responsive always. There is a morning coffe bar and a all purpose store an ATM machine by the concierge desk. Everyone we saw either a guest or employee said hello. Pet friendly place I saw a few little dogs here and there, never heard them other than that. I was very happy w/ The Westin and the staff and everything else. Definately a return trip in the future.

Room Tip: Ocean side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing that you enjoyed your December visit to The Westin. We appreciate knowing that you found the ocean view guest room exceptionally clean and that you were quite satisfied with our resort amenities. It was great to know that Matt made a favorable impression at check-in and that our staff was very friendly. We look forward to your return in the near future for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH CHARLESTON
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Had my first massage at the Westin Spa. The environment of the spa was very relaxing, clean and had a warm modern feel. The employees went over and beyond to make you feel comfortable and relaxed. Highly recommend everyone to get a facial or body massage. Complementary mimosas and champagne are offered.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback on your Heavenly Spa experience at The Westin. Delighted to know that you enjoyed our relaxing spa environment and that our associates provided personal and instinctive service to ensure a renewing, wellness experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable and rejuvenating spa day.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our delightfuly renewed 416 room oceanfront resort revitalized in a "coastal chic" style. Guests can relax on our sandy white beaches, unwind in the Heavenly Spa, and enjoy our championship golf and tennis. Seven dining venues offer creative cuisine inspired by our local seafood and sustainable ingredients. Every inch of our beach resort has been refreshed. Our newly designed resort lobby welcomes our guests with a botanical conservatory and our two-story "living wall" vertical garden. Our guest rooms offer the latest Westin comfort elements including the Heavenly Bed in soothing coastal palettes. Our baths feature the new Heavenly Shower with dual vanities and backlit mirror. All new outdoor plush furniture and firepits have been placed throughout the nooks nd crannies of our expanded beachfront and poolside decking. We offer incomparable ways for our guests to retreat, connect, or entertain amidst naturally beautiful surroundings. The natural beauty of the South Carolina Coast, the myriad of land and sea activities available, and the sheer variety of golf and recreation options on our island, allows us to offer truly memorable experiences to our guests - now at an all new luxury resort property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.