We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Athens, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I had visited this location a few years ago and it was a nice place then. I was pleasantly surprised at the remodel they have completed. The staff was excellent, from the desk clerk to the cleaning staff. They were friendly and eager to answer any questions or offer help. I hope we have the opportunity to stay there in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing that you were pleasantly surprised by our brand new renovation at The Westin. We appreciate your comments that the staff were excellent, friendly, and eager to offer assistance as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another rejuvenating stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    175
    55
    11
    19
See reviews for
230
225
11
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our first time in Hilton Head and our stay at Hilton head was fabulous. Everyone was pleasant and friendly. The resort was awesome. I am looking forward to going again soon. The spa was beautiful but my therapist was just ok. I wasn't WOW at all.I thought the job was half done, considering I've had many massages before. But overall my experience at the Hilton was a beautiful stay.
Thank you for the champagne, wine and chocolate strawberries, I enjoyed them all.
I will be back again!

Room Tip: Our suite was fab on 5th floor overlooking the pools with a great ocean view! Wonderful Stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Westin on your first visit to Hilton Head Island for your 20th anniversary - congratulations on this milestone! Delighted to know you thought the resort was awesome, and that your overall stay was beautiful. We are glad you enjoyed the special amenities sent to celebrate your special occasion. Thank you for noting the Heavenly Spa was beautiful, and I am very sorry that your therapist did not meet all your expectations as we usually receive overhwelmingly positive comments on the massage therapists. We hope you will return soon so that we may meet and exceed all your expectations for a reneweing stay at that time.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was my first time visiting Hilton Head
The island is a very beautiful and peaceful retreat
The Westin Resort is why I'll return<3
This resort had a staff that was extremely friendly and willing to accommodate any request
I can't wait till next year!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing that you chose to stay at The Westin during your first visit to Hilton Head Island. We appreciate your noting that you had a beautiful and peaceful retreat. Delighted to know that our staff was extremely friendly and ensured you were well cared for as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We look forward to welcoming you back next year for another renewing experience.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Westin Resort has been there for a while and was due for the renovations which it has received in the past 3 years. The outdoor decks have all been upgraded to synthetic decking so no more splinters. The lobby area has been given a nice upfit and is very comfortable. The quality of the food in the restaurants has also improved. My 17 yo daughter and her friend also got mani-pedi's at the spa and the quality of the gel nail finishes was excellent.
The only criticisms are having to pay $20 for 24 hours of high-speed internet in your room ( on top of $300/night after taxes and resort fees) , the beds were much firmer than I remembered and they need to figure out a sun shade for the pool deck where many events are held.

Room Tip: You can save on $$, heat and noise by asking for a resort view room on the north side of the proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at The Westin. We are glad you had the opportunity to experience all the upgrades of our renovated resort, and that you enjoyed the quality of food in our restaurants, as well as our brand new signature Heavenly Beds. We appreciate your noting that your daughter and her friend enjoyed the Heavenly Spa as well. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne,fl
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was me and my husbands second trip to the Hilton Head Westin. We came to spend the night to break up our trip from North Carolina back to Florida. We thought the place was beautiful before the recent renovations, so couldn't wait to return and see what all had been done.

Check in was a little slow, as the place was absolutely packed. Upon reaching the counter, the front desk attendant checking us in said that we were given an upgrade to a suite(we are SPG gold members), but that our room was not ready. I certainly wasn't going to complain with the room not ready if we were given an upgrade, so we went out to the pool bar and got a couple of drinks while we waited. Great Mojito's by the way! We have been given upgrades to junior suites, etc. on a couple of occasions before that were not all that exciting, so really had no idea what we were really upgraded to until we got to the double doors of our room. HOLY COW!!! One of the best suites in the hotel, nothing like we have seen before...three balcony's, full dining room, living room, king bedroom, spa bathroom. We don't know how it happened, but unpacked quickly so they couldn't throw us out...LOL!!

We had a nice meal at Oceans grill that evening and walked on the beach. As we had been granted a late check-out the following day, we got to enjoy the fabulous poolside area this resort has. We especially enjoy all the beautiful trees around the pools. I treated myself to a wonderful pedicure at the Westin spa and then, unfortunately, it was time to head home.

The Westin Hilton Head is an absolutely beautiful resort. We are so fortunate to have experienced it in such grand style! We know we will probably never experience another upgrade such as the one we had this time, so thank you all sooo much for making this a very special night to remember! We look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at The Westin. We certainly appreciate our valued SPG members and were delighted to be able to upgrade your accommodations to one of our newly renovated suites. We are delighted your stay turned out to be a memorable and renewing experience. Thank you for noting that you experienced a nice meal in Oceans, and that you enjoyed our fabulous poolside environment and a Heavenly Spa pedicure. We hope that you will return in the near future for another rejuvenating visit.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was my first vacation in a long time and it happened to have been a girls getaway. All of us were very happy with the overall experience. The staff truly goes above and beyond to make their guests happy. We will be back for sure!!! Thank you Westin.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing The Westin for your girls getaway escape. Delighted to know that you were all very happy with your overall experience. We especially appreciate your comment that the staff goes above and beyod to make guests happy as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another memorable stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Most places on the water are shop worn, in need of renovations and we have basically given up trying to stay in a nice hotel on any ocean. OMG - we had dinner at the Westin on Hilton Head and totally fell in love with the place. The staff could not be any nicer, the food was fabulous and based on the beauty it offered we made a three night reservation and the rates were right in line with the dumps. They had just completed a $37 million renovation and the rooms are a solid ten - it doesn't get any better than this place. I would highly recommend anyone staying there - you will not be disappointed. The beach is fabulous and the pools are like waking up in heaven! Best hotel on the water for sure. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We had to walk a mile from the elevator to get to our room. Would ask for something closer to the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at The Westin. We appreciate your comments on our renovated oceanfront resort and noting that our resort is the best hotel on the water. Delighted that you enjoyed the fabulous beach and heavenly pools. We appreciate your sharing that the dining experience was fabulous and that the staff were very nice. We look forward to your return visit in the near future for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our delightfuly renewed 416 room oceanfront resort revitalized in a "coastal chic" style. Guests can relax on our sandy white beaches, unwind in the Heavenly Spa, and enjoy our championship golf and tennis. Seven dining venues offer creative cuisine inspired by our local seafood and sustainable ingredients. Every inch of our beach resort has been refreshed. Our newly designed resort lobby welcomes our guests with a botanical conservatory and our two-story "living wall" vertical garden. Our guest rooms offer the latest Westin comfort elements including the Heavenly Bed in soothing coastal palettes. Our baths feature the new Heavenly Shower with dual vanities and backlit mirror. All new outdoor plush furniture and firepits have been placed throughout the nooks nd crannies of our expanded beachfront and poolside decking. We offer incomparable ways for our guests to retreat, connect, or entertain amidst naturally beautiful surroundings. The natural beauty of the South Carolina Coast, the myriad of land and sea activities available, and the sheer variety of golf and recreation options on our island, allows us to offer truly memorable experiences to our guests - now at an all new luxury resort property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.