We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin Continues to Excel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rockaway, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Westin Continues to Excel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Went to hotel for a business meeting and finished with my adult son for a golf outing. Both the business and leisure portions were enjoyable. While did not have ocean front room, had a balcony to relax on. The room was big and comfortable. Especially liked the shower head in the bathroom. Almost did not want to get out of the shower each morning. Room had a mini refrigerator so we could keep berages cold. Staff was polite and friendly and great to work with from the banquest staff to housekeeping. Especially liked front desk, who made check in and check out pleasent. One in particular, Krystin, was extremely charming and made wonderful dinner recommendations that were right on. She even made the effort to check the nightly specials at one establishment. Overall a great experience for a week.

Room Tip: If beach front view matters, want South Tower. Obviously those rooms carry a higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay for both business and a golf outing. We were delighted to know that your stay was enjoyable and comfortable. We appreciate your complimentary remarks on our guest room and the staff being polite, friendly and great to work with; especially the comments on Krystin being extremely charming while assisting with wonderful dinner recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you back for another rejuvenating experience in the near future.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    175
    55
    11
    18
See reviews for
228
223
11
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
midwest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We've been coming to the Westin Hilton Head frequently since the early 1990's. On our first stay, we were upgraded to ocean front on concierge level (Royal Beach Club) which offered a bountiful breakfast buffet with hors d'oeuvres and drinks in the evening. Needless to say, we were hooked. With the resort recently beginning to show it's age we were anxiously awaiting the results of the renovation. We found the rooms to be lovely with upgraded shower, double vanities and beautiful décor. The pool area is great--new comfortable padded pool chairs, fire pits and the new pool bar is a great addition. The breakfast buffet in the Carolina Café is plentiful, and the pool bar serves a great lunch, however we found the dinner menus in the two restaurants to be lacking and very pricey. The staff was attentive and polite. The one area where we feel they really missed the mark is the lobby. The entrance is dark, sparse and urban. It may work in Chicago or Boston, but definitely lacking southern coastal charm. It is divided into 3 sections. The section on the left which is painted in a pale blue works great for the locale, but the center is a gaudy bright yellow with gold pillars and very dark with minimal seating. Nothing invites one to "Come and sit a spell" We were also happy to see that they kept most of the charming pelican sculptures, but unfortunately the "Rhett and Scarlet" one has been removed. And oh how we miss the Royal Beach Club! Overall this resort is probably the nicest beachfront hotel with a great beach, pool and amenities, however if you are looking for luxurious accommodations with southern charm, the Inn at Harbour Town would also be a good choice.

Room Tip: Fifth floor pool-side has best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for sharing that our renovation is beautiful and for being a repeat and loyal customer through the years. We appreciate your comments on our upgraded enhancements.

Most guests are responding very favorably on the new color schemes, decor, and "coastal chic" environment, and I am sorry the lobby area did not make a delightful impression. Our new and innovative spaces preseve wellness in travel and provide a full sensory expeirence designed to uplift and energize. Our whimsical Rhett & Scarlett sculpture will be placed in a new location in the near future for our guests to enjoy.

We are glad that you enjoyed a great lunch, and your comments on our dinner menu have been shared with the chef for further review. Please know that the pricing is very comparable to other Hilton Head Island restaurants and east coast resorts.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another rejuvenating escape.

- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I took my mother here for Mother's Day and I hope to return soon. The hotel has just completed a major renovation and it shows. The landscape of the hotel is amongst the best I've seen for any US hotel outside of Hawaii.
The rooms were very comfortable, I especially enjoyed the "Water flow shower head" and the sunken tub along with Westin's Heavenly Bed. The only complaint is that the walls could be a little thicker. This is an ideal hotel for romantics, and at one point I was overly aware of the morning romance in the next room.
The service from all staff was impeccable. I want to particularly want recognize Bonbae at the front desk and Linda at the Carolina Cafe. They both made sure my mother had a wonderful experience. This resort is a hidden gem.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main wing. You're guaranteed to get a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We are thrilled with the completion of our 30 million dollar renovation, and are glad you chose to bring your mother to The Westin for a Mother's Day escape and to experience the upgrades and "coastal chic" environment.

We appreciate your noting that the guest rooms were very comfortable, and that you enjoyed the signature Heavenly Bed and Heavenly Shower experiences. Thank you for sharing that the service was impeccable, and that Bobae and Linda ensured your mother had a wonderful experience as our staff always strives to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We look forward to welcoming you back for another rejuvenating stay in the near future.

- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield County, SC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

It was a delight to step into the newly refurbished Weston Hotel in Hilton Head recently. I have been staying at this hotel every year since the 80's and found the new decor very nice. This trip I was staying there for a conference for several days. We had 2 nights of meals at the hotel and found the food to be delicious prepared for such a large group. I also found the hotel staff to be very helpful and friendly when I met them in the lobby and on the floor where I was staying. This was a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We are thrilled with the completion of our 30 million dollar renovation and appreciate your comment that it was a delight to arrive at The Westin recently. We truly value our repeat guests, and your feedback is inspiring.

We appreciate your noting the food was delicious for your conference and that our staff was very helpful and friendly as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another rejuvenating visit in the near future.

- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veenendaal, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here (family of four) for a short stay. This hotel is situated on a stunning location, surrounded by trees and with direct beach access. We loved the garden with choice of three pools and a jacuzzi. The whole resort is recently renovated and the decor is beautiful. We had an ocean view room with very comfortable heavenly beds. Every member of the staff we encountered was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back! The coffee corner is great too if you want to have a quick breakfast or snack!

Room Tip: Our rooms was quite a long walk away from the lobby/restaurants. Elderly might find this too far ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing that your family enjoyed our recently renovated Westin resort and that you found the decor beautiful. Our new and innovative spaces preserve wellness in travel and provide a full sensory experience that is designed to uplift and energize.

We were delighted ot know that you enjoyed our stunning beachfront location, garden area, and pools, as well as our signature Heavenly Bed and Ingredients grab and go venue. We especially appreciate knowing that every staff member you encountered was very friendly and helpful as the staff strives to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest.

We are glad that you and your family will definitely be back in the future as we look forward to welcoming you back for another rejuvenating escape.

- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River NJ
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We love Port Royal it is the best plantation, the best beach, the most beautiful hotel, and yes wonderful for families, and has the only covered heated pool on the island, should i say more?
Do you know what is like when the sprinkle of a shower is coming on, and you can still lounge in the pool, that is correct, you can. I love riding my bike here as well as it is the hardest sand especially in the morning, you can go and see the edge of the island by bike,
The golf is great, they have three lovely courses, and yes there is tennis available as well.
The seafood buffet is gone, but there is talk they will reinstate it, weddings are still held here on the beach, they know how to accommodate families as well. The spa is top notch and a massage is great especially when you have driven a long distance.

Room Tip: HIgher location is betterview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing that The Westin is absolutely the best property on Hilton Head Island. We are thrilled that our 30 million dollar renovation is completed, and appreciate your comments that this is the msot beautiful hotel on the best beach and that is a wonderful vacation escape for families. We are glad that you had such a renewing visit and look forward to welcoming you back for another rejuvenating stay in the near future.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The newly renovated Westin is very nice. It is clean, green, sleek and modern. The decor is calming and serene.
The service was friendly, and attentive. I would recommend this place to a friend and I will come back.

Room Tip: I especially liked being on the first floor overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at our newly renovated Westin resort. We appreciate your comments that this is a peaceful place to stay with calming and serene decor. Our new and innovative spaces prserve wellness in tavel and provide a full sensory experience that uplifts and energizes.

Delighted to know that you experienced friendly and attentive service as the staff strives to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. Thank you for your recommendation, and we look forward to welcoming you for another rejuvenating visit in the near future.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our delightfuly renewed 416 room oceanfront resort revitalized in a "coastal chic" style. Guests can relax on our sandy white beaches, unwind in the Heavenly Spa, and enjoy our championship golf and tennis. Seven dining venues offer creative cuisine inspired by our local seafood and sustainable ingredients. Every inch of our beach resort has been refreshed. Our newly designed resort lobby welcomes our guests with a botanical conservatory and our two-story "living wall" vertical garden. Our guest rooms offer the latest Westin comfort elements including the Heavenly Bed in soothing coastal palettes. Our baths feature the new Heavenly Shower with dual vanities and backlit mirror. All new outdoor plush furniture and firepits have been placed throughout the nooks nd crannies of our expanded beachfront and poolside decking. We offer incomparable ways for our guests to retreat, connect, or entertain amidst naturally beautiful surroundings. The natural beauty of the South Carolina Coast, the myriad of land and sea activities available, and the sheer variety of golf and recreation options on our island, allows us to offer truly memorable experiences to our guests - now at an all new luxury resort property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.