We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cottages at Shipyard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilton Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottages at Shipyard
Save Saved
You added Cottages at Shipyard to your Saves list
Egret Point Way, Shipyard Plantation, Hilton Head, SC 29938   |  
Hotel amenities
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Cottages at Shipyard for Christmas this year on an RCI trade. Check in was fast and easy. We did end up having to move to different unit though since the smoking policy allows for smoking outdoors and our first neighbor was outside smoking a very smelly cigar. The smell was permeating the interior of our unit. The folks at the front desk were very nice and moved us immediately to a comparable unit. Although we did not have any kind of view, it was a lovely 2 bedroom, 1 story end unit and suited our needs. The activities coordinator was a bit persistent after check-in with asking me to sign-up for activities for free as long as I attended one of their sessions to discuss what I thought of the unit and resort, and called several times after that. I was not interested in a sales pitch. I'm also not sure if there was a pool or hot tub available for these particular units, I could never find one.

There were several maintenance issues that we noted throughout our stay: the wireless was very spotty, broken blinds in a couple of rooms, a dryer that squeaked very loudly, cracked bathroom tiles, worn and torn carpet in several areas, and there is a terrible ant problem. We noted all of this on our comment card when we checked out.

We rented bikes from the Bike Doctor and did several day trips to Beaufort and Savannah. Love the area and the resort. Will stay again when we are allowed (this exchange is only allowed once every 4 years....which does not seem fair). Hopefully, we can find another RCI exchange in the HHI area next year.

Room Tip: Travel during the winter months. Less traffic, fewer vacationers, much more enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

For Christmas we made our way to the great Hilton Head Island in South Carolina. Having been before with very favorable exchanges, our expectations were high and The Cottages at Shipyard did not disappoint. Suprisingly it seemed a fairly slow week on the island and the Cottages were sparsly populated as well which made for a quiet relaxing week.

Our cottage was situated offset from a fairway and on a very small waterway which due to drought resembles a ditch, with other mostly unoccupied units across the way. Our large cul de sac had a grilling area, pool and heated outdoor hot tub. Parking was convenient and the location was perfect for access to the course, town, and the bike paths It's easy to love the Shipyard plantation. It's large, its gated, and it is beautiful.

The unit itself was a nicely appointed, lovely three bedroom townhouse style condo with front and back poches. The furnishings were very nice and like new. The decor was tasteful and up to date. We had four adult guests and the unit easily accomodated six adults.
Even the dining table was large enough for all. The kitchen was well stocked and being the holidays we cooked several meals in and had everthing we needed and room to move. The place was clean, the beds were comfy and all you could ask for. It wasn't a huge unit and the living room dining combined offer enough seating but it was good we didn't do Movie Night or livingroom seating would have presented a challenge. With everyone on the move at all times, it was perfectly sufficient, but I wouldnt call it spacious. Again, we were six adults and a couple would have felt it to be larger feeling; maybe perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a golf view or check on the size of the lakeview you might get. We will ask better details n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed at the Cottages for a week on an RCI trade and enjoyed our time there.

The rooms are large and the location is within easy reach of pretty much anything including the beach. It is especially nice to get around via the bike paths.

The grounds are well kept and very pretty.

Our room had a poor view so we didn't spend any time on our deck. The furniture could use updating, although everything was still in very good shape. The kitchen was large and fully stocked.

WiFi was free and worked well, and everyone was helpful and friendly.

A good choice in the area. We would go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

The Cottages at the Shipyard in Hilton Head are really wonderful. We stayed at a 2 bedroom cottage that backed on to a lagoon. Our first good decision was to rent 2 bicycles from the The Bike Doctor. They were delivered to us the evening we checked in and we rode them through the great bike trails at this resort every day. The unit was spacious and well equipped....we had absolutely everything we needed including laundry facilities in the unit. The staff at the activities center were great.....we went for an hour walk in the resort with them in the mornings and thoroughly enjoyed it. They also gave us good advice on area attractions, restaurants etc. The only thing we did that we didn't really enjoy was go to Savannah for a day trip. Taking the trolley ride in historic Savannah wasn't our cup of tea and we enjoyed the resort days much more. The alligators in the ponds in the resort are really interesting! We would recommend this resort to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I stayed in a unit referred to as The Cottages on Valencia Rd.in Shipyard at HHI. They were condo style with 4 to 5 individual units all attached. It was very nice and well furnished. Had a decent size kitchen and dinninger room and was very suitable for 4 people. Check in was a breeze and the staff was cheerful. The activities coordinator was a bit persistent after check-in with asking me to sign-up for tennis, golf, fitness center, etc. She called the next day about breakfast or lunch "to discuss what I thought of the unit and resort." I'm also not sure if there was a pool or hottub available for these particular units, I could never find one. But close to the plenty of bike/walking paths and a quick drive to the beach. I recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

this was our first trip to Hilton Head. We had two cottages the week leading up to Labor Day. Check in was easy and friendly. One was a ranch style with 2 bedrooms, a large kitchen, front and back porch - it was an end unit and very private. The other was a 2 bedroom up and down, 2 baths up, and a 1/2 bath on the main level with a back porch. Both had well appointed kitchens with plenty of dishes, utensils and cookware. Towel and maid service did not come with our rentals but when we called for new towels, the staff was friendly and brought them right away. We had an issue with our dryer at first, and someone came within the hour to look at it. The furniture in the living areas seemed newer and the bedrooms were clean. The beds were a bit soft for me, but clean - which is the most important part!

The resort property was well groomed, overlooking lagoons and a golf course. It was nice to have parking outside the unit as we drove everywhere. While most people rent bikes, we have two babies and couldn't use bikes for transport, so we drove a lot. The only thing within walking distance was the pool.

The pools were just pools - no frills - but plenty of chairs, umbrellas, trees for shade and towels.

When we return to Hilton Head, I hope to stay somewhere closer to the beach or with more amenities within walking distance. Or we may wait until the kids are older.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

We just loved our week in our 2 bedroom, 2 story, full kitchen, W/D, living room area, dining room, 3 bathrooms, deck with rocking chair, perfect and absolute peace and quiet, walking distance to beach, nice pool, etc. There is nothing, nothing bad to say about the Cottages.....we LOVED everything about this timeshare exchange with Spinnaker! Highly recommended! PS: We loved the down pillows in the bedrooms! Most lodging provides hard pillows.....these are wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottages at Shipyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages at Shipyard

Address: Egret Point Way, Shipyard Plantation, Hilton Head, SC 29938
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Cottages At Shipyard Hotel Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottages at Shipyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.