We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place To Stay in Hilton Head” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Dunes Resort to your Saves list
Royal Dunes Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   8 Wimbledon Court, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Place To Stay in Hilton Head”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This our second year as owners and the experience keeps getting better. Royal Dunes offers the largest rooms, great accommodations, and the staff always go out of their way to ensure everyone is taken care of. Everything was really clean and the renovated units were nicely furnished. You will not find a better place to stay when visiting HH.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royaldunesmanagement, General Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
DUKECMV we are so glad you had another great vacation at Royal Dunes. We thank you for being an owner and we look forward to seeing you and your family for many more years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    20
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MASS
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Royal Dunes what can we say we bought our first unit here in 1996 and have been going there very year since. April weather is always sketchy but here on HH you can always find things to do. Royal Dunes is a small complex yet big on service . Will and the staff are just wonderful ! Dee, Debbi, Audrey , Margaret, Maurice and David are instantly there to help and provide what ever you might need. The upkeep and maintenance of the property is wonderful constantly working to keep things looking great. The HOA Board is diligent in making OUR place the best on HH.

Room Tip: Poolside is nice; but can be noisy The Lagoon & Golf views are quiet and relaxing All have somet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royaldunesmanagement, General Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
RevRob1 we really appreciate your kind words and so glad you had another great stay at Royal Dunes. We have shared your comments with the entire team and you made their day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by this renovated vacation rental. We are Diamond Resort members and used points to purchase our week rental. We did not know what to expect. There really is a lot of room in this rental and some nice perks.

All three bedrooms had televisions, as well as the living room. Two of the bedrooms were master suites, so two couples could both have great rooms. The 3rd bedroom has 2 twins. Each bedroom has a bath, the twin room having a hall access bath with walk in shower. The other baths are shower/tub combos, so the walk in shower is nice ffor people who can't step easily into a tub. The kitchen and dining areas had adequate space. The living room had a sleeper sofa and two easy chairs. The porch also had a small table with four chairs.

The resort is close to Islander Beach, at most a 5 minute walk. The beach is beautiful. The resort will even drive you down there in a cart if you can't walk. They had a Monday morning continental breakfast and a Tuesday wine and cheese event. It was a nice way to meet other couples. The staff are not pushy about selling you a time share. Some resorts are horrible, but I didn't get that impression here.

The pools are not large, but they are adequate. Honestly, if the weather is nice, I'd be at the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool or golf course view. Ours didn't really face anything interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royaldunesmanagement, General Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you Carla222 for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our condos. It looks like the building you were in is one that is scheduled for renovations in 2015 so it is great to see that you felt it was recently renovated when it was actually renovated in 2010. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

It was our week away at HHI that we chose to spend here end of January. We were on 2nd floor bldg. 4. It was 3 bedroom end unit. Nicely furnished short walk to beach although it was snow sleet cold we only went once. Close to upper end of island and we could have biked but weather was a factor the whole time. We did use outside cooking grills one night and the view of pool was very nice. Bedrooms good size and very comfortable. Looked like they were redoing one building as well. Would recommend this as a nice place to stay

Room Tip: We were on 2nd floor bldg 3. End unit is bigger. We had 3 bedrooms. There were 2 couples and 1 sing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royaldunesmanagement, General Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you VAfoodfan for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are renovating one of our buildings as all of our condos get updated every five years. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Read other reviews for more detail. In particular, read TSUAGD's review, which I find to be pretty close to our experience except that we never saw crowding in the pools at either the Bldg 1/2/3 complex or at Bldg 4 (maybe the difference between December and August). We had loads of room for the two of us, our adult daughter (and for part of the time, her friend from Charleston), and her boyfriend. Three full baths and two of the three bedrooms were nicely sized. We were on the top floor, so no noise issues up there. Yes, the parking is underneath the building, but there's an elevator. (I used the stairs most of the time.) We used the pool a couple of times - if you are an adult lap swimmer, you will be disappointed because the pool is less than 4 feet deep and no more than 50 ft long. Maybe a 500 ft walk to the sand at Islander's Park beach.

Our only piddling complaints: 1) we arrived late on Sunday night and the lockbox where our information and key were supposed to be was empty - we had to make enough noise that Marion (sp?) the night security guy would let us in - he had the latecomers' info and keys in the office. 2) The tiles on the edge of one of the bathtubs were loose due to years of water being dripped on them - an easily fixable issue.

Here is the ultimate compliment for a timeshare exchange resort: We just got home and we already traded for the same week at Royal Dunes next December.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royaldunesmanagement, Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Royal Dunes. We made note of the small issues you experienced and we will make sure they are addressed. We cannot wait to see you again next December!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This resort is smaller, and has parking underneath the units that are three stories up. Lots of noise from other units, likely not insulated well. These are three bedroom units that would be great for a larger family. Small pool area and closer to the beach. Interior is clean, but a bit dated. Seriously great for a family, but we preferred Island Links for quiet and bigger living area and a bit more upscale.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royaldunesmanagement, General Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your review Travelingwriter. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. We hope that you had a great time while visiting with us at Royal Dunes. The interiors of our condos are updated every five years and you may have been in a building that is scheduled to begin next year. We hope that you would visit again or recommend us to your friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

WE could not have been more pleased with EVERYTHING at this resort. THE
unit was beautiful, convenient, spotless and the staff was all extremely helpful
with every question and need!! I would recommend your resort to friends and
family anytime. We plan to return as soon as we can swing it. LOVED the
accessability to trails, the beach and places to eat... KEEP UP the GREAT WORK
Great hot tub and sauna too.

Room Tip: You can choose beauty overlooking lagoon (see lots of egrets, alligators, herons) and the golf cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royaldunesmanagement, General Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Royal Dunes. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Dunes Resort

Address: 8 Wimbledon Court, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Dunes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Dunes Hotel Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Dunes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.