We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeshare owners for 15+ years!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Dunes Resort

Save Saved
You added Royal Dunes Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Dunes Resort
8 Wimbledon Court, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Timeshare owners for 15+ years!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

My parents own a tiemshare here and we have been coming for years...This place and it's staff are wonderful. Fantastic location mid-island with three golf courses within the grounds. The units are all three bedroom/three bath (i believe) with a huge kitchen/dining area and fantastic deck, depending on which side you stay one there is either a view overlooking the pool or the golf course. Debbie at the front desk can help with any type of rental or tour you want...and give some great recommendations too! And of course if they is anything needed throughout you stay Audrey, Margaret, and Will are always floating around and are more than super friendly and willing to help out. They do have an owners breakfast (on Sundays I think) and then BBQ (on Wed i think) where you can meet everyone...Overall love this resort and it location. Walking distance to the beach or just relax by one their private pools...

Room Tip: All have large decks with patio furniture, but depending on your sun level Bldg 1 get AM sun versus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    18
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sarasota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and found the accomodations wonderful. The unit we occupied had 2 master bedrooms with a bath and a third bedroom with a shared bath. The kitchen had all you needed, the bath had a garden tub and one master bath has a jetted tub. Parking was adequate. The hot tub could have been a bit hotter and the pool was heated. Ample chairs and lounges and complementarty USA paper available. Hilton Head has lots of great resturants and bike paths to get just about anywhere. The ocean was a 5 minute walk. Would definately recommend Royal Dunes and Hilton Head in general.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

two master suites and another bedroom. a huge kitchen that several people could work in together. a nice quiet deck overlooking the golf course. parking underneath building.
the staff put on a wonderful wine tasting with plenty of food. everyone was friendly and helpful. they will hook you up on great deals for bikes and kayaks.
a short walk to the beach. it felt great to be laying on the beach in march in 80 degree weather. a very peaceful and relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: if you have kids, get a room overlooking the pool. if you want it quiet, get one overlooking the go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We recently spent a week at the Royal Dunes Resort(our first visit) and we really liked the three bedroom, three bath units. The kitchen had stainless appliances and granite countertops. The furniture, carpet and tile has been updated. The covered balcony is nice-our unit overlooked the pool. The weather was nice while we were there and we didn't use the AC, but the unit is on the balcony so I can see how this would be a problem during the warmer months. The only negative in the unit was the dryer which took over two hours to dry a load of clothes.

They had a very nice wine and cheese party one afternoon with lots of tasty food and wine.

We stayed on the top floor of building 3 so we didn't hear much noise from our neighbors. I suggest asking to stay on top floor. It was nice to have an elevator and covered parking.

We enjoyed our stay and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We have stayed in many timeshares on Hilton Head Island and consider this at the top of the list for Place to enjoy the beach, biking, golf and access to on and off Island destinations.

Considering these units are usually filled to capacity every week of the year, I think the staff does a great job of keeping them in excellent shape while managing finances allow the best
Maintenance fee for the island's timeshares.

Three bedrooms, three baths, covered parking, responsive staff, with beach, biking, golf, movie theaters, plays and concerts, Starbucks, Barnes and Noble plus great seafood minutes away, who needs the expense of an indoor pool, much less a gym. Those can be readily found in Wisconsin, Minnesota, North Dakota, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms are basically identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed here for a week. Wonderful condo, 3 bed 3 bath all units, elevator, very comfortable and plenty of room. They have an onsite office, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. I would have given 5 stars if there had been an indoor pool. Close to beach and golf is almost at your door! I would definetly recommend this resort. Great for golfers or those that just looking for a place to relax and enjoy the area. We are Global Discovery Vacation members and took advantage of our membership.

Room Tip: All units are the same, updated every 4 years so there are no bad units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I find most of the other reviews to be accurate. It is only a short walk to a very nice beach area and found the staff friendly and accommodating with good recommendations for dining and activities. We thought the kitchen was small and in need of updating. The carpet is very clean but showing signs of wear. The bedrooms are good sized and bed reasonably comfortable. The living area with TV was small and the furniture not especially comfortable.

This is a relatively quiet small resort without many extra activities (if that is what you are looking for). There is covered parking and outside grills. I'd stay there again but don't expect to be blown away like some other Diamond Resorts.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Dunes Resort

Address: 8 Wimbledon Court, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Specialty lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Royal Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Dunes Hotel Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Dunes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.