We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sounds like an Italian restaurant but the German food is fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alfred's Restaurant

Alfred's Restaurant
807 William Hilton Pkwy, Ste 1200, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3488
843-341-3117
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 320 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: American, Continental
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Sounds like an Italian restaurant but the German food is fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a quaint little restaurant tucked away amongst two other good places to eat. We made reservations since the place is small and intimate. The service was very good, the food was delicious and served HOT. I had the best breaded pork chop of my life with fresh perfectly cooked veggies. My family had veal schnitzel served with homemade spaetzels and red cabbage. There were no leftovers and the portions were plentiful. Nice selection of wine and other entrees.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    29
    7
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“the locals love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

everything was good. the atmosphere was all about locals having a good time at their "private" restaurant. it's a hidden gem near palmetto dunes that is worth finding. get a reservation or get there early because it does get crowded. for a special treat sit at the bar..it's sort of like sitting at the chef's table, if you like that sort of thing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E.Tenn
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Alfred's Rest., Hilton Head”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Alfred's is a small intimate restaurant hidden away in a small shopping center on Wm. Hilton Drive. It is owned and operated by Alfred, who is a great chef and has worked for many of the large restaurants in the area. Great food, service and wine. Quiet little place. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent German Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The restaurant itself is very cozy and warm with an approachable and knowledgeable staff. I started with their homemade French Onion Soup. It was excellent! My son tried the German Platter, which was a taste of everything and sooooo delicious! I had the Sea Bass and our friend, who is a regular patron here, had the Sauerbrauten. Every bite was wonderful! I will certainly make a point to go the next time I am in Hilton Head, again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

After finding this restaurant, it has been one of our favorites. The sauerbraten is fabulous and the wienerschnitzel is hard to beat. What a wonderful, but small gem. Remember your reservation, it can be hard to get in.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfred's Restaurant also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Alfred's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfred's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.