We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bread!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stu's Surf Side South

Stu's Surf Side South
1 N. Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
(843) 686-7873
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 322 restaurants in Hilton Head
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Bread!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Smelled the fresh bread as we were getting close. We ordered 2 subs for the four of us and it was enough. The bread was incredible! The subs themselves were good, but not great. I would definately go back and try other subs. Good value for what you get.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    70
    19
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best chicken salad sandwich on the island.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Service is great food is great. Fresh bread with the best chicken salad on the island. They treat locals and visitors great!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stu - named for the fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Best sub on the island. Fresh bread made daily, generous portions and quality meats,etc.. I love the Beach Club with avocado spread and turkey. The restaurant itself is so fun- small, surf shop with cool music playing. You can even play Pac Man while you wait. I love to sit at the counter or outside. Fast, excellent food!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, SC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Subs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Fresh bread...that is what a good sub starts with and Stu's makes the grade! They pile on the meat, unlike big named chains (Subway's yuck) and they are consistantly excellent. Perfect for taking to the beach and enjoying a picnic lunch or they have a very small dining area inside and larger space outside, the dining area isn't much to look at but the food is phenomenal. Frendly staff as well. IF ITS' A SUNNY...BEACHY DAY...save yourself some time and CALL AHEAD...the secret is out and people, local's (which I am) and tourists know about this place. If you are a SUB connoisseur you must try this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stopped by Stu's right before closing on our last night on the island. We wanted to just get something quick to enjoy on the beach. I read on Tripadvisor this was a great place so we decided to try it out. Wow! I'm so glad we did. The bread was phenomenal. We didn't have to wait that long even though it was busy, maybe just 15 minutes. They even gave us extra bacon to take with us since it was near closing time. This is the perfect place to go when you are in the mood for something easy and the staff were all very friendly too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stu's Surf Side South also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Stu's Surf Side South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stu's Surf Side South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.