We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilton Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation
Save
You added Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation to your Saves list
66 Pope Ave., Hilton Head, SC   |  
Hotel amenities
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in #909, check in was simple, our unit was ready early. The unit was very clean. This is a corner unit with 2 large bedrooms with king beds, 2 washrooms, 2 pullout sofas. The master has a very large jacuzzi bath, the other bedroom had a smaller jacuzzi tub. The kitchen was complete had everything we needed. We faced the tennis courts, there were a couple of tournaments while there and you can hear the noise from the courts with the balcony door open. A less than 5 minute walk to the beach. Lots of parking. Unit faced a large heated pool, it got busy at times, also had a hot tub which was really hot and loud. There was staff who set up games & activities for the kids. If you do not have a car, you will have a long walk to reach coligny or the bi lo plaza across pope. You have acess to the coral resort on pope. the fitness and business centres are there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    25
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio USA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We are owners of Unit 702 in peak beach season and have stayed in it for many years. The "deck" is indeed very small but literally steps from a very nice pool so this is a great location. A previous review indicated that people at the pool can see right into the master BR if the curtains are left open, but that is not the case during daylight hours. At night, close the curtains and it's not an issue. A wonderful beach is a 6 or 7 minute walk along a paved path. This unit is comfortably large and recently updated. Shipyard is mid-island and close to Coligny (less than a one mile walk on the paved path or an easy drive) and many other amenities on HHI. Try Port O Call and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I used my mother-in-law's timeshare for our honeymoon and was very pleased. The condo was updated with nice furnishings and very clean. Our location has a view of the tennis courts, so you may hear lessons being conducted in the morning, but we didn't mind... trying to get better at tennis. :-) During our stay, there was some maintenance done outside, so between the machine noise and the construction workers talking, it did get a little loud at times (minor complaint)... but understood this would not be an ongoing nuisance.
The weather was beautiful, so we took advantage of the bike paths in Hilton Head (brought our own bikes), beautiful paths of nature or opportunities to stop for a meal or shopping. The hot tub and heated pool were close to our building, not crowded and a nice facility. The short walk to the beach was easy... a keypad access was very close to our building so we avoided having to go to the front entrance... just a 5 minute walk away. Had fun at the tennis courts... nice courts... no wait. And, one day we went to the fitness center (located at the main office). The facility was nice, but I wish they did not have awnings covering up the windows, so you can look outside while on the treadmill.
Check in was easy, but sales person was pushy... nice, but pushy.
It was a special time for us, but none the less, I am still very picky when it comes to my expectations of the places I choose for a get-a-way. We were very happy with the facilities and amenities.
Hope this helps.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We enjoyed our stay on Hilton Head. The unit # 308 was on the second floor with 4 steps to a level with an elevator. The unit was very large. The master bedroom had a comfortable king bed and a sliding door to a private deck. The bathroom had a separate shower and a jetted tub for two. The second bedroom was also very large and had 2 twins and a private bathroom. The kitchen was fully equipped. There was a table for 6 (we served 8 with the aid of 2 chairs off the deck) and the sitting area included 2 sofas and 2 chairs. It was just a few steps to the heated pool, hot tub and grills. The beach is near by and it was great for a walk (we went in Dec, too cold for anything else) Overall, very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had Unit 22 - cottage, 3 BR (2 with K, 1 with Tw, beds) were really comfortable, 2 br downstairs & one up. Bathrooms also were large, K's had double sinks, one downstairs had kind of a small shower, but the upstairs one was large. Both had whirlpool tubs.
This particular unit did not have a screened in porch, but the dining area had surround around windows & overlooked a small water area. Kitchen is the largest I've ever had in a unit, could have used a couple more pots, but I like to cook on vacation - just fine for a Normal person on vacation :)
They have a nice 'Welcome' Breakfast & explain what to do in the area, very nice - along with drawings for prizes. Staff at Hilton Head were very helpful & pleasant.
Rent bikes before you get there & they have them all ready to use when you get there. Hilton Head is just awesome to ride in, love it. You won't go wrong at Port O'Call.

Room Tip: Cottages are really nice, see review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Our third stay in Hilton Head and this was the best. We have stayed in Royal Dunes, Port Royal and now Shipyard and the quality of our unit 29 was perfect for our needs. We played golf at Crescent Point, Oyster Reef and Shipyard and they were all good value in different respects. We shall return again I am sure.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosedale, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

If ambiance is important to you, this is not the place for you. I timeshare exchanged to Port O' Call Resort in August. This was the first time in about 15 exchanges to different locations that I was disappointed with a "Gold Crown" resort. I stayed in Unit "19", a 3 bedroom 3 bath cottage, about 75 yards from the pool. The cottage has keypad access. I found the unit itself badly in need of an update. My husband called it "a dump". However, I wouldn't go that far. It almost felt as though they ran out of furnishings, as they are old,sparse or non-existent. The master bedroom contains a king size bed and a small dresser. There is a wall lamp on either side of the bed at about eye level with exposed wires going down the wall to the electrical outlets; no end tables. There are 3 bathrooms with counter tops so small that there is little room for toilet articles. Although there is storage in a small cabinet under the sink. There is a TV in each bedroom and 1 flat screen in the living room. The units, as well as the pool are wifi accessible. The unit has a screened porch. The rooms appear to have been arranged without much thought to design. I did appreciate the convenience of the full sized washer and dryer, as well as the dishwasher in the full sized kitchen.
We twice called the maintenance department for 2 non working items. They were prompt, professional and exceeded my expectations both times.

There is also private access to the beach road via a keypad access code.This was another bonus as the beach was a mere 5-10 minute walk via this route. Bicycle rental is available for a nominal fee. Although. there is no fitness center there is access to a center at one of their sister properties. There are also tennis courts on-site. The bicycle paths provide ample space for power walking.
Hilton Head Island is a lovely place and a great vacation spot. The activities are too numerous to mention. I do concede that I was probably in one of the older units. Therefore, my experience may not be the same as others. Nevertheless, although, I cannot recommend this property, I would not hesitate to return to the island in the future but, not to Port O' Call.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation

Address: 66 Pope Ave., Hilton Head, SC
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Port o`Call Shipyard Plantation Hotel Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.