We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oyster Reef Golf Club

Oyster Reef Golf Club
155 High Bluff Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29926
843 681 7717
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A challenging, but not threatening, golf course that features a collection of interesting holes including one with a beautiful coastal marsh as a backdrop.Carved out of 190 acres of breathtaking low country terrain, Oyster Reef Golf Club's spectacular 18-hole championship course is surrounded by winding lagoons, lush vegetation, and scenic views of the Island.Golf course architect Rees Jones used the natural landscape to create an inspiring course that combines challenge with a sense of fair play. Ranging from 7,014 yards from the championship tees, to 5,288 yards from the forward tees, the course rewards and tests golfers of all skill levels.Oyster Reef Golf Club is home to one of the most spectacular golf holes on the entire island, the Par 3 #6, which plays 192 yards from the championship tees to a green that is set against the backdrop of the beautiful Port Royal Sound.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Nearly perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Played Oyster Reef several years ago and had a far less than perfect experience. Played twice mid August 2013. Experience markedly improved. Course and greens in great shape. Staff very accommodating. Good challenge. Played from Blue tees. Rewards good shots. Only reason it wasn't perfect was because of 2nd round this morning - arrived and told range closed until 7:30-8:00. Not much good for a 7:16 tee time. Rate the course as one of the most enjoyable on Hilton Head. Have to try hard to get a ball out of play.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom K, General Manager at Oyster Reef Golf Club, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to Oyster Reef Golf Club. We’re pleased that you enjoyed playing the course and that you played the tees that best suited your game. We are sorry for the inconvenience of the range being closed for a short time that morning. We hope that you come back and play again the next time your in Hilton Head. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    39
    12
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great shape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The golf course was in great shape when I played it on 1 Aug 2013. I highly recommended this course.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom K, General Manager at Oyster Reef Golf Club, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We’re pleased that you decided to try our course and that your first-hand experience was a positive one. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback; its valuable information for those who haven’t had the opportunity to visit us personally. We hope you will join us again soon for another round.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A Bit Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I played this course as part of a corporate golf outing at a conference. Having played Oyster Reef, twice before, I was expecting a great experience. Unfortunately, present course conditions didn't live up to my recollection.

The greens were somewhat disappointing. There were numerous dead/bad places on greens. Overall, the pace of the greens was a bit slow, too. And green side bunkers were in need of raking. Since we went off at 8:30, I blame that one on the course.

While the one par three on the front nine near the ocean is dramatic, the rest of the course is pretty unspectacular (the RTJ course at Palmetto Dunes offers a much more imaginative layout and an incredible par 5 ocean hole). Many of Oyster Reef's holes end up looking the same. Within Hilton Head Plantation, I by far prefer Hilton Head CC.

The comments on other reviews about the cart paths are accurate. The pine tree roots have made many of the cart paths painful to drive on. Where possible, we elected to drive in the fairway to avoid the severe bumps. Common areas such as flower beds on the course were poorly maintained and the clubhouse, particularly the bathrooms, were pretty shabby.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom K, General Manager at Oyster Reef Golf Club, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to Oyster Reef Golf Club.
We are sorry that our course did not meet your expectations for your round of golf. Please know that we are taking your comments into consideration, and have taken several steps this year to improve overall course conditions. Some of the issues that you brought up are areas that we are trying to improve presently. We hope you come back and play again the next time you are in Hilton Head and see the changes were are making. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointed with this usually great courrse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I play Oyster Reef every year on vacation. I was very disappointed in the condition of the course this year. Many greens were in terrible shape, and the cart path was disgraceful. It needs to be repaved and the tree roots need to be shaved. This was not an inexpensive round of golf and I expect much more from this course.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom K, General Manager at Oyster Reef Golf Club, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to Oyster Reef Golf Club.
We are sorry that our course did not meet your expectations for your round of golf. We are constantly trying to improve the course and facility to meet the expectations of all of our guests.
Some of the issues that you brought up are areas that we are trying to improve presently.
We hope you come back and play again the next time your in Hilton Head and see the changes were are making. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyable golf course for wide range of abilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a group of 9 playing and truly enjoyed the course. It's open fairways and reasonable length made it fun and not overly intimidating for a wide range of abilities. Lots of bunkers to cause trouble but easy to keep in play off the tee. Our tee times started around 1pm on a Monday and we had the course to ourselves and played in four hours. We will be back

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom K, General Manager at Oyster Reef Golf Club, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to Oyster Reef Golf Club.
We’re please that you enjoyed playing the course and that it met all of your expectations. The course designer, Rees Jones is known for tight fairways and numerous bunkers. We hope you come back and play again the next time your in Hilton Head. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster Reef Golf Club also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Oyster Reef Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oyster Reef Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.