We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cart Path Only” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Golf Courses of Palmetto Dunes

The Golf Courses of Palmetto Dunes
4 Queens Folly, Hilton Head, SC 29928
877-567-6510
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Palmetto Dunes is a thriving resort community with three popular and award-winning golf courses as well as condos, villas and vacation rentals. This oceanfront Hilton Head golf resort provides three championship golf courses to choose from: The Robert Trent Oceanfront Course, The George Fazio Course and the Arthur Hills Course!
Albany, Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cart Path Only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Courses seem to always not be customer friendly To often cart path only and half way house at Robert Trent Jones closed more than open

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoDunes, Manager at The Golf Courses of Palmetto Dunes, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about the courses at Palmetto Dunes. We strive to be as customer friendly as possible by keeping our "Cart Path Only" days to a minimum during need periods which include aerification and overseeding. We are implementing new ways to get this message out in advance before you make your tee time. We also apologize that the half way house was closed when you played the Jones course. We hope you visit our courses in the future and that your experience is much improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    48
    13
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, SC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Palmetto Dunes has everything you are looking for in a golf vacation. Whether you are a beginner or more advanced there is something for you here. The courses are impecably groomed and the staff are superior to other surrounding courses. First of all you have to play the Robert Trent Jones! This is signature course and most scenic and the 10th hole has a great view of the atlantic ocean. It was my favorite to play and is really great for beginners (which I am) Also it has It is one of only two ocean front courses on Hilton Head. If you have time play them all! Each has a different level of difficulty and challenges you in different ways. It also has an arthur hills that's very scenic because its built around Palmetto Dunes 10 mile lagoon system. For someone looking for a little more difficult try the George Fazio the only Par 70 course on the island! However be aware of plentiful sand traps!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Play the Jones!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We played Arthur Hills and Robert Trent Jones - enjoyed them both. Also played at Sea Pines - Pete Dye - Heron Point. By far, the Robert Trent Jones course at Palmetto Dunes was our favorite! The course changes as you move through it. It is flat, of course, but the water, layout, and trees are always there! The 10th goes out to the ocean, but not really, still hundreds of yards from water. Nevertheless, when i go back, this will be number one on my list to play again! I played the tips (7,000 yds, and my wife played the women's - 5,000 yds). She beat me - ouch. I wish they had another set of tees , 5,500 yds to 5,800 yds. Overall though - great!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Played the impeccable Arthur Hills course in October. When I returned home I discovered that I had left my wedge on the course. Not only had it been handed in but Samm Wolfe, the manager, forwarded it to me and would not accept payment! Awesome course, awesome staff.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fazio Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great challenging play. Greens are in wonderful shape in Oct. Paired us with man from Canada and another single. Great fun with both. Lots of sand traps so beware.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golf Courses of Palmetto Dunes also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Golf Courses of Palmetto Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Golf Courses of Palmetto Dunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.