We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, minor annoyances.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts to your Saves list
Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   45 Waterside Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Lewistown, il
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, minor annoyances.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was our second stay at Waterside. Our 3Br unit was on the end in building 5700 and was better than the one we had last year. The unit was well-laid out and spacious. Some maintenance issues and wear-and-tear show the unit's age. The resort activities were good, but our favorite one from last year -- Sandtastic Memories craft projects-- was no longer offered. Golf privileges at Shipyard and Port Royal are an excellent benefit. The location is excellent. The bridge and gazebo connecting building 5700 and the activity center is scenic and useful.

Room Tip: End unit is better than center ones near elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    78
    25
    7
    9
See reviews for
93
47
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Spinnaker Resorts are very nice and clean. Great friendly service. We stayed for 5 nights and had a fantastic time. It is very close to great restaurants and stores. Bring or rent a bicycle, they have excellent bike trails.

Room Tip: Bring your camera. Great location, close to golf courses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have been owners for 7 years....staying at water side for the last 7 years. Furniture is beginning to look worn out...needs to be replaced. While we were there they decided to re-build the whole area housing the outdoor grills located at the main pool. Why they decided to do this during the busy summer month of June was not a good decision. People were waiting in line every night to use the grills to cook their dinner!!! The good news is we traded our unit for a newer more updated place Blue Water Resort. I would highly recommend folks taking a hard look at Blue Water

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Excellent location - short walk to beach, shopping & restaurants. Great pool area for kids. Units are nice and roomy but need updating. Reject any offer for their sales pitch - $40 gift cert isn't worth the aggravation of salespeople who don't take NO as an answer.

I had a 1 BR unit - No shelf for shampoo in shower? Good grief, go to DollarTree and buy a rack to go over the shower head! Take the old clunky TV in BR & the armoire it's in and mount a flatscreen on the wall with a decent dresser below.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauldin, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful resort to relax and enjoy life. Everything nearby-restaurants, ocean, shopping and golf course 5 minutes away. Very friendly and efficient staff. Definitely 5 star! A vacation to look forward to.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

While the beach was wonderful and I adore the area, the room I checked into was completely vile. There was hair EVERYWHERE. It was all over the shower, the floors, the beds, even. Very nasty, I could not enjoy a bit of that room.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Recently spent a week with close friends at this resort and found it to be the typical cookie cutter time share resort. However, Hilton Head Island was quite the place, good food, nice scenery and pleasant people. What did the resort need? It needed to be updated as far as colors, artwork and linens go. The furniture looked like a combination from other resorts and was quite dated. We would go back and would recommend the place but do not do so with a glowing report. It was clean and relaxing. The view was pretty good, lagoon on one side, pool on the other. Watching the alligator was fun.

Room Tip: We requested a room on the top floor so we could enjoy a better view. I think I would request a cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts

Address: 45 Waterside Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fulfill your leisure desires and access all island activities from the preserved setting of this vacation resort just two blocks from the beach. Waterside timeshare resort features one of the largest aquatic facilities on Hilton Head Island and is also 2 blocks from the Atlantic Ocean. Walk to the beach or hop on the shuttle. Dry off long enough to enjo golf, tennis and proximity to beach restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside By Spinnaker Hotel Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.