We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts to your Saves list
Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   45 Waterside Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed a week at Waterside. The unit was very clean with a very roomy 2 bedroom, 2 bath, kitchen, dining and living area. The unit also had a washer and dryer. We had a balcony that overlooked the Lagoon. There were 4 of us and we were all very comfortable with the size of the unit. We fixed some meals in and went out for some. We were within walking distance to shops and restaurants at Coligny Square. The beach was walkable to or you could drive if wanted. We would certainly recommend Waterside to our family and friends and if back in this area in the future we would love to stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    70
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
81
43
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Searsport, Maine
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

The unit we stayed in was clean, but outdated. The kitchen was tiny as was the so-called dining area. The bedroom and bath were a nice size. I have a pet-peeve about staying in timeshares where management thinks 1 roll of toilet paper should suffice for 2 people for a week...the Marriotts (truly "premier") always provide 3. Doubt we'll stay in another Spinnaker resort if this is what's considered a good one.



Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights in a 1 bedroom condo last week. We golfed and had some dinners out. The resort was good and had a very comfortable king bed! The kitchen was VERY tiny but seemed to have all items you would need. Since it was during the winter months, I did not use the outdoor pool at the resort, but the pool looked great! The resort was clean and the staff pleasant. It was easy to' register' and to 'check out' and the 'salespeople' for the timeshare was fine and the presentation was easy and interesting. We did not buy.
I would highly recommend going to dinner at the 'Black Marlin' and ask the manager for their 2 for 1 booklet. We had WONDERFUL fish dinners and obviously many others felt the same.....great spot! You will have to ask someone at the resort for directions since its not easy to find.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The unit is very clean, and have not seen any cockroaches. That's important down here where it's quite common to find bugs even in the winter. The location is excellent as it's close to Coligny Plaza where there are shops, a supermarket, and several restaurants. It's also close to the beach, but if you have a lot of stuff to carry then you might want to drive. Alternatively, you could ride a bike to the beach. Many of the rental bikes here have baskets. The main reason we come to Hilton Head is for the biking as you can bike for miles along the beach and even more miles throughout the trails. There are organized activities offered here at the resort, so, even if the weather isn't good there is still something to do. One annoying thing is trying to connect to the internet. You have to keep signing on each time, and many times the connection is slow. We've already booked up to return in a couple of weeks!

Room Tip: Corner units are great because you have extra windows.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We went to Hilton Head for Christmas, our unit was good, clean and overall nice but really dated, most of the appiances are from the early '90 probably, we rented a 2 bedroom unit, the master bedroom was good sized but had only a really small TV, which is bad if you are planning to stay indoors for long time, they had a 32 flat screen in the living room which was the only modern appliance in the unit, spend most of the time there watching movies, outside was freezing, the pool was closed, the location is excellent, near Coligny plaza and next to many of the good restaurants, do not expect world class dinning here. Probably very good summer time, otherwise is boring.

Room Tip: I dont recommend that you go during winter time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed there 3 nights! And it has been a good stay! The flat was big and confortable! The building was very quiet, and closed to everything! You can walk to the beach in 10min and you have plenty of restaurants around!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

we stayed the week before Christmas ... it was a family trip so we used all the rooms and even the pull-out sofa bed ... it was extremely nice, very comfortable and had everything you need, a fully equipped kitchen and even laundry ... we were only a couple of blocks from the beach and Coligny plaza had places to eat including a Greek restaurant (It's Greek to Me), excellent food! would recommend ... the hotel pool was cold but the jacuzzi was hot and had a waterfall overhead which my son loved ... nice quiet location, grocery store across the street ... considering a return trip next year ... we also used the toll, just $1.25 each way, straight drive onto the island rather than going the long way ... beach was within walking distance but also parking nearby if you didn't want to drive ... off the island there are numerous places to eat, outlet mall, world market ... what more could you want ...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts

Address: 45 Waterside Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fulfill your leisure desires and access all island activities from the preserved setting of this vacation resort just two blocks from the beach. Waterside timeshare resort features one of the largest aquatic facilities on Hilton Head Island and is also 2 blocks from the Atlantic Ocean. Walk to the beach or hop on the shuttle. Dry off long enough to enjo golf, tennis and proximity to beach restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside By Spinnaker Hotel Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.