We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts to your Saves list
Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   45 Waterside Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our first visit to Hilton Head Island. We selected this resort via a timeshare special with Interval International. The location is great! You are just off the main road (Pope Avenue) and a short walk or bike ride to Coligny Beach. The staff were very nice, and I appreciated that they weren't too aggressive in trying to set-up the requisite time share presentation. The pool area is very nice. We enjoyed using the hot tub during this mid-February weather. As indicated in some other reviews, the villa feels a little out-dated and we had some minor complaints. The TV sets in our unit were small by today's standards, and the layout of the bathroom lacked a towel rack near the sink. However, all-in-all we were very pleased with our accommodations, and we love traveling to these places the week BEFORE gold season begins. There are plenty of wonderful restaurants nearby for dinner. Check out the specials on the web as you plan your week. We hit two half-price wine nights and a 2 for 1 night. Combine that with a few early dining times and you can eat well for not too much money. My only real disappointment with the week was the cancellation of the scheduled Thursday golf scramble since only 9 players had signed up. I've played scrambles before with just two or three groups, so I don't understand why that happened.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    67
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
79
39
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Komoka, null, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

large, spacious, 3 bedroom condo, close to everything, grocery, liquor, beer,restaurants (Wild Wings), excellent timeshare, golf courses are within 1/2 hour drive, excellent golf package, pool, bq is available if needed

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Located just 3 blocks from the beach, this is a pleasant resort. Lots of pools, reasonably furnished (just updated in some units) pleasantly landscaped and comfortable, with a GREAT golf package for two local courses: Port Royal and Shipyard. The staff is pleasant and eager to please guests. Units are clean and any problem that arises is promptly resolved (some of the Marriotts should take lessons!) Coligny shops are an easy walk or bike ride from your unit, so it's more than convenient to anything on the island. You will not be disappointed with a lagoon view unit. We've stayed here a number of times and never had a bad experience.

Room Tip: Ask for Unit with lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This has been my first trip to Hilton Head Island and I'm very pleased that I was able to arrange a stay at this timeshare resort. (And yes, being a timeshare you will be invited to a sales-related tour.) I stayed in a 2-bedroom unit complete with 2 large, full bathrooms, a great, fully furnished kitchen and TVs in the living room and each bedroom (no need to fight over the remote control!)

Everything was super clean, no noise from the neighbor's rooms and the staff was very helpful. The location was just a short walk to restaurants, grocery stores, shops and the beach. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and plan to return again ... and again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was a timeshare exchange and definitely was more than I expected. Very nicely furnished and bedrooms were large and tastefully done. Had never had to do my own towels & linens but if
more little packages of soap were furnished it would have been perfect. Kitchen was very nicely done and had all dishes, wineglasses and furnishings that anyone would need. It was very clean and had a beautiful view out the living room window.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Waterside by Spinnaker on a recent business trip. The location is great with a very close proximity to the beach and the condo was good. The rooms were very clean -- which is always the most important factor for us -- and the decor was pretty good. My main complaint would be that the furniture -- including the beds -- are not very comfortable and I really didn't get a good night's rest the entire stay. Others in my group expressed the same so this may be one area the resort should address. I find this to be the same at many timeshares, so I don't want to complain about it too much.

We interacted with the staff on a very limited basis, but they were very friendly at check-in and the maintenance gentleman who was prepping our room when we arrived was also very nice. My family is planning a trip here next year and I will consider this resort along with others.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond,virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We came here to use our Hilton Head Grand Vacation points, and this was one of the Gold Crown RCI choices. I had read some negative reviews AFTER we had booked, so was a little tentative about coming here. Also, I had called earlier in the month to ask about our room, and the woman on the phone was almost " cold", so even more apprehensive about the upcoming stay. We were put in building 5800, and our room had been recently updated, I believe, as it had amore recent style decor than the pictures on their website. The pictures showed blue and plaid, almost 1980's style, but our unit was decorated in maroon, green,tans and browns, so more nature colors, more recent styles. The furnishings and carpeting were really very clean and not worn at all, so it led me to believe it had been fairly newly updated and also recently painted. Quite comfortable, very small but well stocked full kitchen for a time share, ( we only booked a one bedroom unit so were on side B of the units, so probably why the kitchen floor space so small) . The bedroom's king bed/ mattress and pillows were quite comfortable. Usually I have a hard time sleeping at hotels/resorts as the mattress is too firm, not firm enough, etc, but this one was just right. The time of year made alot of the "activities" that are normally going on at the resort stopped, so that was a little disappointing, but since it was our first time to Hilton Head, we really wanted to get out and see the island, anyway. One more armchair for the living room would have also been nice, as I ended up bringing in a chair from the patio to use, as I didn't want to lay on the couch, and sitting on it to watch the TV at night had my neck turned too much with a neck disc problem. The one arm chair there was really quite comfortable, but my husband usually used that one while he searched the computer for places to eat/see. Still, all in all, a comfortable unit, clean, well maintained, near several great restaurants (RedFish, A Lowcountry Backyard were both great), near Coligny Crossing for some fun shopping and bakery, very near the Harris Teeters grocery store and Walgreens, as well as the ocean withing walking distance and so we had pretty much everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The on-site staff at the check-in desk were pleasant and able to answer any of our questions about the area.

Room Tip: There is a lagoon with a "resident" alligator, and alot of turtles you can see as you use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts

Address: 45 Waterside Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fulfill your leisure desires and access all island activities from the preserved setting of this vacation resort just two blocks from the beach. Waterside timeshare resort features one of the largest aquatic facilities on Hilton Head Island and is also 2 blocks from the Atlantic Ocean. Walk to the beach or hop on the shuttle. Dry off long enough to enjo golf, tennis and proximity to beach restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside By Spinnaker Hotel Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.