We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the Pina Coladas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Marlin Bayside Grill

Black Marlin Bayside Grill
86 Helmsman Way, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3206
+1 843-785-4950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 301 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Come for the Pina Coladas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We went for lunch and had shrimp burger and Baja fish tacos and pina colada- both were very good but the Pina colada was the best on the island. Great service. View is nice but obstructed by cross island expressway. We will be back for the drinks again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    660
    310
    130
    45
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service, Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We sat outside and had the pleasure of having Natalie as our server. She was very friendly and helpful. The Sushi Nachos and Mussels were fantastic. We were thankful that Natalie recommended them. Try a Hurricane on the rocks as well!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great dinner with kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was our third time visiting the Black Marlin (though it has been a few years since our last trip to HHI). We'd planned on having dinner with our young kids on their waterfront patio, but just as we arrived a downpour opened up so we were disappointed to have to ask for indoor seating. However, we shouldn't have been - we were seated in a little alcove all to ourselves and once again enjoyed a delicious meal. Compared to some other island restaurants, the kids meals here are reasonably priced and have several options. The sourdough bread basket was generous, warm and delicious. We got the sushi nachos, as we always have, and they are great. My husband enjoyed some raw oysters as well. I had a nice piece of grilled fish with mango salsa and my husband had a seafood special which he enjoyed. Service was great, though we did have to wait a bit inbetween visits given we were there in high season. But overall, a great dinner!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We loved it! Sushi nacho app was amazing. The seafood roll was the best I've encountered outside of Maine. $125 for family of 4, including cocktails. I highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
“Great food and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Amy did a great job serving our large party of 11 with reservations at 7:15. Even though this was one of the busiest times for a restaurant our food was fantastic and our waitress did a great job! We will definitely be going back next time we are in Hilton Head.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Marlin Bayside Grill also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Black Marlin Bayside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Marlin Bayside Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.