We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner with kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Marlin Bayside Grill

Black Marlin Bayside Grill
86 Helmsman Way, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3206
843-785-4950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 316 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great dinner with kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was our third time visiting the Black Marlin (though it has been a few years since our last trip to HHI). We'd planned on having dinner with our young kids on their waterfront patio, but just as we arrived a downpour opened up so we were disappointed to have to ask for indoor seating. However, we shouldn't have been - we were seated in a little alcove all to ourselves and once again enjoyed a delicious meal. Compared to some other island restaurants, the kids meals here are reasonably priced and have several options. The sourdough bread basket was generous, warm and delicious. We got the sushi nachos, as we always have, and they are great. My husband enjoyed some raw oysters as well. I had a nice piece of grilled fish with mango salsa and my husband had a seafood special which he enjoyed. Service was great, though we did have to wait a bit inbetween visits given we were there in high season. But overall, a great dinner!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    210
    87
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We loved it! Sushi nacho app was amazing. The seafood roll was the best I've encountered outside of Maine. $125 for family of 4, including cocktails. I highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
“Great food and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Amy did a great job serving our large party of 11 with reservations at 7:15. Even though this was one of the busiest times for a restaurant our food was fantastic and our waitress did a great job! We will definitely be going back next time we are in Hilton Head.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were hoping this waterside restaurant would be scenic, but it was disappointing. The food and service were okay, but with so many choices in Hilton Head I doubt if we will return.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
narvon, pa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“4th of July Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our 1st time eating here on our last night of vacation. Got there early and got seating inside right away. We shared the seafood chowder which was excellent, the rest of our meal was ok nothing that really stood out, I had the seafood combo and my wife had tilapia. Our waitress wasn't overly friendly or attentive to our table. Overall nothing was bad but nothing really impressed us either.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Marlin Bayside Grill also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Black Marlin Bayside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Marlin Bayside Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.