We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Marlin Bayside Grill

Black Marlin Bayside Grill
86 Helmsman Way, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3206
+1 843-785-4950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 294 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
“Great food and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Amy did a great job serving our large party of 11 with reservations at 7:15. Even though this was one of the busiest times for a restaurant our food was fantastic and our waitress did a great job! We will definitely be going back next time we are in Hilton Head.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    629
    289
    114
    39
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were hoping this waterside restaurant would be scenic, but it was disappointing. The food and service were okay, but with so many choices in Hilton Head I doubt if we will return.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
narvon, pa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“4th of July Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our 1st time eating here on our last night of vacation. Got there early and got seating inside right away. We shared the seafood chowder which was excellent, the rest of our meal was ok nothing that really stood out, I had the seafood combo and my wife had tilapia. Our waitress wasn't overly friendly or attentive to our table. Overall nothing was bad but nothing really impressed us either.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Black Marlin is a beautiful restaurant on the water with great views. On the night we went it was quite warm so we decided to eat inside and we were lucky enough to have a table with a view. The restaurant is very attractive inside and the food was delicious. My husband had the salmon with a butter pecan topping and I had the shrimp, both were excellent. Another restaurant to add to our list when we return to Hilton Head.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Me and my fiancé ate at the Black Marlin while we were on vacation in Hilton Head. The food was amazing and the staff was very friendly. Our server Natalie was super helpful and made our experience here a memorable one. Very friendly and the service was excellent. We will definitely be back the next time we visit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Marlin Bayside Grill also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Black Marlin Bayside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Marlin Bayside Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.